BigAl Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago So the reference to a thing called a Red Bounty (still don't recollect it tbh) in the film thread set me thinking about sweets of my youth that to the best of my knowledge are no longer with us Sports Mixtures Football Chums Fruit Salads/Black Jacks Bar Six Aztec Bar Spangles Texan Bar Sure there must be many others. What favourite of yours is no longer with us 1 Quote
tom_widdows Posted 10 hours ago Report Posted 10 hours ago 35 minutes ago, BigAl said: Sports Mixtures As in Maynards? I buy a crate of them for my Dad every christmas 1 Quote
OneBrianIrvine. Posted 9 hours ago Report Posted 9 hours ago I too used to love a Texan or a Nutty but my teeth would never manage them now Also loved - Cabana Golden Cup Rum n Raisin Montego (although a biscuit not a sweetie) Sultana Bar Milk Tray bar (with the Lime Barrell ) Old Jamaica Blitz (mint version) But I’d swap a box of each for a packet of Brannigans crisps Quote
Radiored Posted 8 hours ago Report Posted 8 hours ago (edited) As a bairn ma fave cheap sweeties ( as in 2, 3 for 1p) were prob Lemfizz, Bazooka Joes, Fruit Salads, Mojos. Ah liked sports mix ... especially cos they were 5 for a penny, but Ah hated the black anes. Many a time Ah would ask "5p o' sports .. nae blacks". .... an' aboot half the time the wifie (it wis nearly ayewis a wifie) would look at ma wi an expression which read "Are you haein a fuckin fun??" and would stick the scoop intae the sports mix indiscriminately an' coont oot the sweeties intae the bag .... blacks 'unfiltered'. Actually, Ah think there wis usually a disproportionate number o' black anes - oot o' spite, in reaction tae fit Ah thought wis a reasonable request. Still, like a bampot, Ah'd hand ower ma 5p. Anither firm fave wis 'Crispets' ... ye can still get them, but they cost a fkn fortune ... same goes wi Chelsea Whoppers Edited 8 hours ago by Radiored 1 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago 6 hours ago, Radiored said: As a bairn ma fave cheap sweeties ( as in 2, 3 for 1p) were prob Lemfizz, Bazooka Joes, Fruit Salads, Mojos. Ah liked sports mix ... especially cos they were 5 for a penny, but Ah hated the black anes. Many a time Ah would ask "5p o' sports .. nae blacks". .... an' aboot half the time the wifie (it wis nearly ayewis a wifie) would look at ma wi an expression which read "Are you haein a fuckin fun??" and would stick the scoop intae the sports mix indiscriminately an' coont oot the sweeties intae the bag .... blacks 'unfiltered'. Actually, Ah think there wis usually a disproportionate number o' black anes - oot o' spite, in reaction tae fit Ah thought wis a reasonable request. Still, like a bampot, Ah'd hand ower ma 5p. Anither firm fave wis 'Crispets' ... ye can still get them, but they cost a fkn fortune ... same goes wi Chelsea Whoppers Aye, Aitkens the baker sold us out Sports Mixture, along we a bug o cuttins. Which were the ends of the custard slices, caramel shortcakes and any other cake that was cut into perfect squares, leaving the cuttings for us ravenous Torry urchins. Caramel shortcake, being the holy grail. The outcry in this day and age if we asked for 10p of Sports mixtures and nae blacks. My eldest Sister was weird, she liked the black ones. One day she ate a big bag of black ones and gave herself a dose of the shits. They changed the recipe of Sports mixtures and they apparently don't taste like they used toi. Quote
BigAl Posted 1 hour ago Author Report Posted 1 hour ago 9 hours ago, tom_widdows said: As in Maynards? I buy a crate of them for my Dad every christmas Tom I am in your debt my friend. Order placed Honestly didn't know they were still available Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago I have a really bad sweet tooth. So bad that abstain from sugary stuff for the most part. My latest period of abstention ends this coming Sunday and a case of lock up you sweets and chocolate bars if I'm around. Red Bounty and Topics are my two biggest misses. Both sneakily discontinued by Mars UK a puckle of years back. Bastards! Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago Cabana Bars Splicer bars Gambit Bar Six Golden Cup - you got a fancy bar, the top shelf stuff that only adults bought and was also a fingerlike bar, that came in a red and gold foil wrapper, that us kids bought. Quote