Thursday 18th December 2025, kick-off 8pm

UEFA Conference League - Sparta Prague v Aberdeen

🔴⚪️ Stand Free ⚪🔴

Confectionery Of Years Gone By

BigAl

So the reference to a thing called a Red Bounty (still don't recollect it tbh) in the film thread set me thinking about sweets of my youth that to the best of my knowledge are no longer with us

Sports Mixtures

Football Chums

Fruit Salads/Black Jacks

Bar Six 

Aztec Bar

Spangles

Texan Bar

Sure there must be many others. What favourite of yours is no longer with us 🤔

I too used to love a Texan or a Nutty but my teeth would never manage them now 😩

Also loved -

Cabana 

Golden Cup

Rum n Raisin Montego (although a biscuit not a sweetie)

Sultana Bar 

Milk Tray bar (with the Lime Barrell ❤️

Old Jamaica 

Blitz (mint version)

But I’d swap a box of each for a packet of Brannigans crisps 🥲

Posted (edited)

As a bairn ma fave cheap sweeties ( as in 2, 3 for 1p) were prob Lemfizz, Bazooka Joes, Fruit Salads, Mojos. Ah liked sports mix ... especially cos they were 5 for a penny, but Ah hated the black anes. 

Many a time Ah would ask "5p o' sports .. nae blacks". .... an' aboot half the time the wifie (it wis nearly ayewis a wifie) would look at ma wi an expression which read "Are you haein a fuckin fun??" and would stick the scoop intae the sports mix indiscriminately an' coont oot the sweeties intae the bag .... blacks 'unfiltered'. Actually, Ah think there wis usually a disproportionate number o' black anes - oot o' spite, in reaction tae fit Ah thought wis a reasonable request. Still, like a bampot, Ah'd hand ower ma 5p.

Anither firm fave wis 'Crispets' ... ye can still get them, but they cost a fkn fortune ... same goes wi Chelsea Whoppers ;) 

Edited by Radiored
6 hours ago, Radiored said:

As a bairn ma fave cheap sweeties ( as in 2, 3 for 1p) were prob Lemfizz, Bazooka Joes, Fruit Salads, Mojos. Ah liked sports mix ... especially cos they were 5 for a penny, but Ah hated the black anes. 

Many a time Ah would ask "5p o' sports .. nae blacks". .... an' aboot half the time the wifie (it wis nearly ayewis a wifie) would look at ma wi an expression which read "Are you haein a fuckin fun??" and would stick the scoop intae the sports mix indiscriminately an' coont oot the sweeties intae the bag .... blacks 'unfiltered'. Actually, Ah think there wis usually a disproportionate number o' black anes - oot o' spite, in reaction tae fit Ah thought wis a reasonable request. Still, like a bampot, Ah'd hand ower ma 5p.

Anither firm fave wis 'Crispets' ... ye can still get them, but they cost a fkn fortune ... same goes wi Chelsea Whoppers ;) 

Aye, Aitkens the baker sold us out Sports Mixture, along we a bug o cuttins. Which were the ends of the custard slices, caramel shortcakes and any other cake that was cut into perfect squares, leaving the cuttings for us ravenous Torry urchins. Caramel shortcake, being the holy grail.

The outcry in this day and age if we asked for 10p of Sports mixtures and nae blacks.

My eldest Sister was weird, she liked the black ones.  One day she ate a big bag of black ones and gave herself a dose of the shits. 😂

They changed the recipe of Sports mixtures and they apparently don't taste like they used toi.

9 hours ago, tom_widdows said:

As in Maynards?

I buy a crate of them for my Dad every christmas

20251214_225315.jpg

Tom I am in your debt my friend.

Order placed 😉

Honestly didn't know they were still available 

I have a really bad sweet tooth. So bad that abstain from sugary stuff for the most part.

My latest period of abstention ends this coming Sunday and a case of lock up you sweets and chocolate bars if I'm around.

Red Bounty and Topics are my two biggest misses. 

Both sneakily discontinued by Mars UK a puckle of years back. Bastards!

2 hours ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

They changed the recipe of Sports mixtures and they apparently don't taste like they used toi.

I couldn’t stand the black ones but now they’re my favourite. I just thought it was my tastebuds maturing 

Stayin' wi' the cheapest sweeties of auld, like maist sweetie shops, the shop across the road fae Kittybrewster Primary School had an array o' big jars on a high up shelf ... the cheapest per quarter was the cinnamon balls .... which Ah loved. Even better, ye didna hae tae buy a full quarter pun ... ye could ask for 2 ounces ... which was plenty for a wee laddie ... an' cost aboot 2 an' a half pence :D 

12 hours ago, BigAl said:

Texan Bar

2 hours ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

Splicer bars

Gambit

These are three that always come up for me when the conversation of old chocolate bars and sweeties comes up. 

I haven't had Rolos for ages. Really fancy some. They're still a thing, right?

And drinking a cup of tea through a Spira.

Speaking of drinks (of the very sweet variety - although not confectionary so no real place here), is Moray Cup still a thing? And cremola foam (fucking gads min)

4 minutes ago, CurlsLikeTattie said:

These are three that always come up for me when the conversation of old chocolate bars and sweeties comes up. 

And drinking a cup of tea through a Spira.

Speaking of drinks (of the very sweet variety - although not confectionary so no real place here), is Moray Cup still a thing? And cremola foam (fucking gads min)

Creamola Foam disappeared in the late 90's

Brought back in the early 2000's by some Scottish guy under a different name but he obtained the brand name at some point and is now on the shelves again under the original name

Anyone remember the packs of Pez? I think they were called.In a cartridge thing of about 20. Appeared for about a year,then disappeared.

Recognise a lot of the stuff in here,and devoured most.Dont touch much of that stuff these days,but diverted my unhealthy eating habits towards bakery/pastry items 

5 minutes ago, Elgindon said:

Anyone remember the packs of Pez? I think they were called.In a cartridge thing of about 20. Appeared for about a year,then disappeared

You still get them at Aunt Betty's in Stonehaven.

2 hours ago, Mason89 said:

I couldn’t stand the black ones but now they’re my favourite. I just thought it was my tastebuds maturing 

I wouldn't eat them now and haven't for a lot if years, as they aren't veggie, but I do like liquorice now, so reckon you could be onto something.

Posted (edited)

1 hour ago, CurlsLikeTattie said:

You still very much get Rolos and they are still fine and sickly if you eat too many.

The year I discovered the demise of red bounties and Topics, I got my Wife to buy me a heap of bars, such as Rolos, Star Bar, Picnic, Toffee Crisps and a whole load of others, fearing their demise.

Had about 30 different bars in all.

Put them altogether on the Xmas morning and took a photo, which made a great vinyl print and is hung up in our kitchen, alongside my framed Aitkens Bakery paper bag, which also looks as smart as...

Edited by TheDonbytheDee

I obtained a couple of bottles of the Moray Cup and it just wasn't the same. Passable, but just not right. Fair play to the guys that did it though.

A bottle of Moray Cup with a bag o chipper chips, fae the Torry chipper, was the DBs back in the day.

Another favourite was Dark Iron Brew, also made by Sangs. Sadly consigned to history, along with Hays and Bon Accord, although Bon Accord is back as a sort of hipster company, making mixers for funcy cocktails and the like and costs a fortune.

2 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

I obtained a couple of bottles of the Moray Cup and it just wasn't the same. Passable, but just not right. Fair play to the guys that did it though.

A bottle of Moray Cup with a bag o chipper chips, fae the Torry chipper, was the DBs back in the day.

Another favourite was Dark Iron Brew, also made by Sangs. Sadly consigned to history, along with Hays and Bon Accord, although Bon Accord is back as a sort of hipster company, making mixers for funcy cocktails and the like and costs a fortune.

Sad to think that kids nowadays will never know the excitement that the Bon Accord lorry coming down your street brought back in the day🙄