Bukta Bertie Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 5 hours ago, Jute said: Here’s hoping. It seriously took 8 weeks to come to the conclusion that the manager of the team 3rd bottom of the league who has not beaten our omnishambles of a team this season is best option. Not happy about this at all. His teams play brutal football and cannot see me paying for a season ticket to watch it. Horneland and Schwartz will have unsurprisingly stopped taking any calls with an Aberdeen dialling code after that gutless Dunfermline humiliation. I'd guess Motherwell were approached a while back about the possibility of speaking to Askou but permission was denied. As much as I wouldn't be happy with it I'd rate McGlynn as more desirable than Robinson by a fair bit so not sure what's happened there. Didn't we ask the question or did he knock us back too? When all's said and done this whole tawdry mismanaged affair has been an embarrassment and frankly a major blow to the clubs reputation. I'd suggest the words "laughing stock" aren't too hyperbolic given the circumstances. Quote
tlg1903 Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 6 minutes ago, swaddon said: God Himself has said it's a good idea to appoint Robinson. And so it shall come to pass. Amen. One thing you can say about Robinson is, much like McInnes, his teams always look packed with players that would go through a brick wall for him so clearly he's very good at getting players onside. I did read rumour somewhere that there is a bit of a split in the dressing room still lurking from the Thelin era and if true a completely fresh face coming in with that particular ability is no bad thing. Quote
Brochred Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 2 hours ago, RicoS321 said: We've been playing two forwards quite a lot under Leven. It only helps if you play a suitable midfield. I quite like Fraser as a player. Every player is taught to be a diving cheat, hence Cameron having his head in his hands against the Tims for forgetting to throw himself to the ground. Having two forwards including in the starting 11 does not mean you play with two forwards. We can have any number of forwards on the pitch but fuck me they never seem to be in the box and don't get me started on inverted wingers 1 Quote
Jupiter Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago FFS, the only good thing about this daft appointment is that he will be fired in a few months. 1 2 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 1 hour ago, Mason89 said: That stuff stays with you. I remember the mighty Sons of the Rock had to go to Crappielow in a league championship decider. The glue sniffing unwashed minging sweaty b’stards sneaked a win and their whole team were celebrating in front of their honking support. One of them took the time to come over and rip the pish out of the Dumbarton end though, and I remember thinking what a classless disgusting pestilence ridden prick It was Derek McInnes I don't like Dumbarton. Quote
manc_don Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago Sigh. Horrific news to wake to. This club has well and truly taken on the banter baton. 1 Quote
Mentorred Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago Saw a rumor (pinch of salt) on Facebook that Lutz has been sacked Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago Hearing a few rumours that Lutz is gone or will be going. IF any truth to that, something must have went wrong somewhere. Wouldn't be a good look, if true, after 5 months. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 16 minutes ago, Jupiter said: FFS, the only good thing about this daft appointment is that he will be fired in a few months. Aye, your usual encouraging self. I might not want him, but for the good of our club, I hope he does well, IF appointed. Quote
CurlsLikeTattie Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 28 minutes ago, Brochred said: I always wondered why you hated him so much on Ab Mad Yes, it answers a lot of lingering questions 1 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 3 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said: Hearing a few rumours that Lutz is gone or will be going. IF any truth to that, something must have went wrong somewhere. Wouldn't be a good look, if true, after 5 months. It's clearly not an appointment Lutz would have wanted and a big part of the role he was employed to do would entail identifying prospective managers. So if as seems obvious Cormack (at the suggestion of WFH Burrows) has gone completely over his head he'd be a mug to stay. He's been totally undermined and humiliated. Quote
wee toon red Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago I wouldn’t believe a single internet rumour about Lutz but if he is away, maybe he was given his chance to get a coach, fucked it and is paying the price? 1 Quote
RicoS321 Posted 5 hours ago Author Report Posted 5 hours ago 3 minutes ago, wee toon red said: I wouldn’t believe a single internet rumour about Lutz but if he is away, maybe he was given his chance to get a coach, fucked it and is paying the price? I wouldn't either. It also wouldn't be implausible that Robinson was on the shortlist and that after Lutz's preferred candidates didn't come to fruition, Robinson's knowledge of Scottish fitba saw him ahead of a few foreigners that maybe Lutz wasn't as keen on. In terms of overall risk, Robinson is reasonably low, a bit like signing a player from another Scottish side in that regard. Maybe he's being pragmatic. 2 Quote
Panda Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago I've nothing against Stephen Robinson personally. I think he's a decent manager, and given a good squad he absolutely can be a successful Aberdeen manager. He's also a more successful manager than everyone we've appointed since McInnes, and as of now has also won the same number of trophies as McInnes. He also led St Mirren & Motherwell to a combined three cup finals, just one fewer than McInnes at Aberdeen, which is probably a bigger achievement when you consider the budgets. My annoyance is us once again abandoning a long term strategy because we can't make up our fucking minds what to do. We also could have appointed him two months ago and potentially still salvaged the season. I don't know if the Lutz leaving rumours are true, but if they are then that's another shit show to deal with. At the moment I have little confidence in us having a squad next season that will be good enough for Robinson to get anything out of. 3 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago Has there been any indication of the planned timeframe of his appointment. Are we wanting him in post in time for this weekends game or is it a wait until summer job or what? Quote
RicoS321 Posted 5 hours ago Author Report Posted 5 hours ago 3 minutes ago, Bukta Bertie said: Has there been any indication of the planned timeframe of his appointment. Are we wanting him in post in time for this weekends game or is it a wait until summer job or what? That would be hilarious. Imagine the meltdown that would cause? 1 Quote
dons8321 Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago (edited) 7 minutes ago, Bukta Bertie said: Has there been any indication of the planned timeframe of his appointment. Are we wanting him in post in time for this weekends game or is it a wait until summer job or what? Wouldn't be surprised it St. M insisted he was on gardening leave until the season's end, if he takes the job. Edited 5 hours ago by dons8321 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago How long does the Reporting Scotland OB team have to lurk around the city centre before finding the absolute beauts they eventually decide to feature on the news. Jesus Christ. 1 Quote
Kowalski Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 52 minutes ago, dons8321 said: Wouldn't be surprised it St. M insisted he was on gardening leave until the season's end, if he takes the job. Press seem to be saying we’re trying to get him in for Saturday. 1 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago Just now, Kowalski said: Press seem to be saying we’re trying to get him in for Saturday. That would be exciting. I might even go along if that happens. 2 Quote
tlg1903 Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago Fitba tweets has outdone himself here. 1 4 Quote
irnbru1903 Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago If we weren't at the bottom of the barrel we are now. Awful appointment. I guess Cormack with all his business sense is tooling up for the lower league. All his talk of ambition and top 100 team and then he employs Jim Goodwin mark 2. Robinson has already shown he is a buffoon by agreeing to come to this shitshow. A manager that couldn't handle the pressure at Motherwell. The joys. Quote
GASC1980 Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago 9 hours ago, The.Moog said: Hahahaha So two months scouring the globe and using Lutz “extensive global network” (not my words) and we end up with Stephen fuckin Robinson. A guy who’s style of play is completely unsuited to our squad & the “style” we’re supposed to want to play, and who’s got St Mirren currently nearer relegation than us. I know we’re desperate but fuck me. Can only assume Askou telt them to fuck off as no way they’d go Robinson first fae Scottish managers. I get we’re desperate, but this is THE dictionary definition of a panic move. Goodwin 2.0. Pretty sure we’ll be looking for yet another manager by next summer. I guess ST’s and DNA aren’t the priority these days as they are gonna take a big hit. What a shambles… As usual min 100% spot on. Incredible. I am angry enough about appointing Robinson but I think I'm more angry at the amateurism of the last couple of months. A complete laughing stock. 2 Quote
GASC1980 Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago 8 hours ago, RicoS321 said: On the bright side, he'll probably bring a lot of good backroom staff with him. We're really struggling in the goalkeeping department, especially when coming for crosses. They're bound to have someone who can help on that front. Langfield??? For crying out loud. Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago It hasn't been touched on yet but there is an elephant in the room. 1 Quote