Wednesday 4th March 2026,  kick-off 8pm

Scottish Premiership - Aberdeen v Celtic

Next manager

3 hours ago, wee toon red said:

Also, “I guarantee we will be competitive next year” was a very risky thing to say.

Championship glory, full stadiums, laying waste to Airdrie and Morton. It’s a commercial man’s dream. 

26 minutes ago, Ajja said:

Championship glory, full stadiums, laying waste to Airdrie and Morton. It’s a commercial man’s dream. 

I dont think it’s a bad comment at all. Would you rather he say we’ll try to be better, but maybe we won’t? He’s as pissed off as we all are and is committed to being competitive, what’s wrong with saying that?

Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

I dont think it’s a bad comment at all. Would you rather he say we’ll try to be better, but maybe we won’t? He’s as pissed off as we all are and is committed to being competitive, what’s wrong with saying that?

For the record, it wasn’t me who suggested it was a risky comment. I merely made a joke about how he might have had an alternative meaning in it in response to WTR saying it was risky.

Fully agree, he probably has to say it if he’s asked (I haven’t watched the interview so don’t know how it came about) but he could also choose not to. I’d say a measured and thoughtful leader reads the room and keeps his chest puffing to a minimum in the current circumstances. 

Edited by Ajja
14 minutes ago, Ajja said:

For the record, it wasn’t me who suggested it was a risky comment. I merely made a joke about how he might have had an alternative meaning in it in response to WTR saying it was risky.

Fully agree, he probably has to say it if he’s asked (I haven’t watched the interview so don’t know how it came about) but he could also choose not to. I’d say a measured and thoughtful leader reads the room and keeps his chest puffing to a minimum in the current circumstances. 

All good, wasn’t saying you did, interview is interesting, worth the watch. Not Dave’s best, and a shaky start, but I still think he’s a guy who looks bigger picture whereas we tend to he caught up in the moment, understandably too. Certainly acknowledges that it’s not good enough at present, and 6 managers in 6 years it’s good enough.

It is nae big secret that I am nae Colgate Teeth Cormack's biggest fan, but fkn hell that was 33 minutes of pure and utter pesh, the man is a clown. in the first few seconds "anyone that has been involved in executive recruitment will understand there is a prawcess to follow especially, ESPECIALLY (said twice and emphasized) if you want to get the right coach in place.

That is basically word for word the same he said directly after he binned McInnes. And since then he has gone on to appoint failure, after fkn failure. So he obvioulsy either does not understand his own "prawcess" or he chosen not to follow it, or he is just spkin pure and utter shite (I know what one I believe)

The man is fkn toxic and as he continues with his ego he continues to suck every bit of life and ambition out of our club.
No manager (sorry head coach) with half a working brain cell and in his right mind would want to come and work with this guy. 

5 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

All good, wasn’t saying you did, interview is interesting, worth the watch. Not Dave’s best, and a shaky start, but I still think he’s a guy who looks bigger picture whereas we tend to he caught up in the moment, understandably too. Certainly acknowledges that it’s not good enough at present, and 6 managers in 6 years it’s good enough.

"Bigger picture".

The fans can see we need to be better, we need a new stadium / modernised Pittodrie, we need a new coach, we need new players. 

What do you think he can see that the fans can't and how long is painting his bigger picture going to take. It's not as if he's only been here for five minutes. 

What picture are we talking about?

6 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

I'd just rather he shut up and let the people employed to run the club get on with their jobs and answer to the fans. 

I'm sure his heart is in the right place, but he just comes across as a fud. 

11 hours ago, Don Julio said:

Listen…right?

Look…right?

That was a tough watch. But I look forward to delivery on the guarantee next season.

right, how many fukin times can one man use the word "right" in a 33 minute fukin interview .................... right 😵‍💫

2 minutes ago, Blow.Up.Sheep said:

right, how many fukin times can one man use the word "right" in a 33 minute fukin interview .................... right 😵‍💫

Folk that end their sentences with a questioning "right?" a lot are seeking validation or reassurance that what their saying is correct and the listener is in agreement with them.

Shows he's unsure of himself.

Worrying sign. 

2 hours ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

I'd just rather he shut up and let the people employed to run the club get on with their jobs and answer to the fans. 

I'm sure his heart is in the right place, but he just comes across as a fud. 

At the start of his tenure pal I was thinking the same as you and I was sure his "heart was in the right place"
But over the years it has become clearer and clearer that this man is just full of his own importance and with his over inflated ego he is destroying the club.

We (the supporters that he thinks about every day) also know what the club needs, but bigger pictures normally start from smaller ones. A correct managerial appointment would be a nice small fukin picture to start with 

3 hours ago, Bukta Bertie said:

"Bigger picture".

The fans can see we need to be better, we need a new stadium / modernised Pittodrie, we need a new coach, we need new players. 

What do you think he can see that the fans can't and how long is painting his bigger picture going to take. It's not as if he's only been here for five minutes. 

What picture are we talking about?

I don’t think anyone is talking about things the fans can’t see. Bigger picture is that while it’s a shit situation right now, if you step back, there are plenty of positives, financially sound, no debt, a training facility being key, a cup win. He’s done a lot. Doesn’t mean we should be happy, fully entitled to be pissed off, he is too, and absolutely it’s not a good look for us at present. Also thought discussing Schwartz was rather odd.

certainly wasn’t one of his better interviews as has been said, but all not sure what else people expect or want him to say.

3 minutes ago, Bukta Bertie said:

Folk that end their sentences with a questioning "right?" a lot are seeking validation or reassurance that what their saying is correct and the listener is in agreement with them.

Shows he's unsure of himself.

Worrying sign. 

Personally don't think he is unsure of himself at all.
I just think he is egomaniac knob 🤷‍♂️

8 hours ago, OrlandoDon said:

It's 100% going to be a stick to beat him with. Twice in the interview he mentioned how "competitive" the league was this season, so to then go on and "guarantee" that we will be competitive will absolutely be taken that we'll be in a title race next season. That's a stupid thing to say, even if he believes it, when we don't currently have a head coach or a squad in place as he simply can't make that promise.

I don't have a problem with Cormack in general - it's like people have forgotten that Stuart Milne ever existed when they call Cormack "a clown" and "lacking ambition" - but in our current situation the message should be that we're working as hard as ever to do better and any "guarantee" should only relate to effort levels and investment rather than outcomes.

3 minutes ago, wee toon red said:

It's 100% going to be a stick to beat him with. Twice in the interview he mentioned how "competitive" the league was this season, so to then go on and "guarantee" that we will be competitive will absolutely be taken that we'll be in a title race next season. That's a stupid thing to say, even if he believes it, when we don't currently have a head coach or a squad in place as he simply can't make that promise.

I don't have a problem with Cormack in general - it's like people have forgotten that Stuart Milne ever existed when they call Cormack "a clown" and "lacking ambition" - but in our current situation the message should be that we're working as hard as ever to do better and any "guarantee" should only relate to effort levels and investment rather than outcomes.

While I agree it will probably be thrown back at him, and he obviously cannot guarantee performance, what does him saying he guarantees we’ll be competitive mean? He’s not guaranteeing we’ll be challenging for the league, not guaranteeing we’ll be competing in cup finals or Europe. I think it’s more a poorly worded comment meaning he’s not happy and committed to us being better. But regardless, he does have those, not implying you, who will take issue with anything he says, so does it really matter how he worded it? 

10 minutes ago, wee toon red said:

It's possible for fans to realise that both Milne AND Cormack were / are not very good at running football clubs.

The two aren't mutually exclusive.

While I'm on the subject I don't think having Milne still involved at the club is very helpful. 

There is more than one irony here, insofar as Cormack loves to talk about process, but chose to focus on an outcome goal rather than a process goal. Similarly, as others have pointed out, he talks about the importance of recruitment when he’s mucked that up several times.

That said , on balance, I think he’s been good for the club. The red shed and the training ground alone are major positives.

He’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but who cares. 
Just get this one right , Dave!

26 minutes ago, Don Julio said:

There is more than one irony here, insofar as Cormack loves to talk about process, but chose to focus on an outcome goal rather than a process goal. Similarly, as others have pointed out, he talks about the importance of recruitment when he’s mucked that up several times.

That said , on balance, I think he’s been good for the club. The red shed and the training ground alone are major positives.

He’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but who cares. 
Just get this one right , Dave!

This training ground thing.

Whilst I'm sure it helps attract players (because let's face it modern footballers are a bunch of spoiled brats who would cry at having to run about on a windy beach) has it resulted in our players looking significantly fitter than players pre-Cormack Park or fitter than players at other clubs with lesser facilities? Has it resulted in less injuries? Has it resulted in the kids and womens teams performing markedly better than they had been doing previously? 

I'm not sure any of that could be answered in the affirmative and not having at least one covered pitch from the get-go was a plainly ridiculous oversight. It's a tundra out there. Unless of course it was due to Council planners putting the blockers on it which knowing them is entirely plausible. 

2 minutes ago, Bukta Bertie said:

This training ground thing.

Whilst I'm sure it helps attract players (because let's face it modern footballers are a bunch of spoiled brats who would cry at having to run about on a windy beach) has it resulted in our players looking significantly fitter than players pre-Cormack Park or fitter than players at other clubs with lesser facilities? Has it resulted in less injuries? Has it resulted in the kids and womens teams performing markedly better than they had been doing previously? 

I'm not sure any of that could be answered in the affirmative and not having at least one covered pitch from the get-go was a plainly ridiculous oversight. It's a tundra out there. Unless of course it was due to Council planners putting the blockers on it which knowing them is entirely plausible. 

Yep. Training facilities are only there to attract players, they don’t make them better or fitter. That can only be done by good coaching. 

If the facilities themselves made players better, then the Murray Park conveyor belt of talent would have rolled off some superstars by now. I’d say the quality of youth players have been much better at Aberdeen than the Huns since that place was built. 

Theyre a nice thing to have and all our competitors have them but they don’t improve  the players. It’s a myth. 

When I’m running AFC, the first thing I’m going to do is take a screwdriver to the name plate on it and change it to Teddy Scott. 

• Thanks 1

I don’t disagree with that. But for the main, having a training facility rather than relying on hiring somewhere or using Seaton Park, seems entirely sensible for a professional football team. 

Clearly short sighted not to include an indoor pitch.