Panda Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago 50 minutes ago, The.Moog said: but have to say it looks affa like Thelin mark II. But that to me isn't a bad thing, as I fully supported us going down the Thelin road and why I argued if we were changing manager that we should be going for someone similar rather than just abandoning the plan and plumping for Stephen Robinson. It didn't work out for Jimmy because of many things - some outwith his control, which we still need to fix - but mainly due to his own stubbornness and his own failings. Pinning my hopes on Horneland being a Thelin upgrade by just bringing in the tactics we thought Thelin was bringing. 2 Quote
The.Moog Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 48 minutes ago, Panda said: But that to me isn't a bad thing, as I fully supported us going down the Thelin road and why I argued if we were changing manager that we should be going for someone similar rather than just abandoning the plan and plumping for Stephen Robinson. It didn't work out for Jimmy because of many things - some outwith his control, which we still need to fix - but mainly due to his own stubbornness and his own failings. Pinning my hopes on Horneland being a Thelin upgrade by just bringing in the tactics we thought Thelin was bringing. Agreed re most of that. I was a big supporter of the Thelin move too. It didn’t work out for a number of reasons as you say, but the main one was he just turned out to be a not very good manager, certainly in this league. I definitely don’t want Robinson either, not because he’s not a decent manager but because as you say his style doesn’t suit us or the squad. Not writing Horneland off at all, and he’ll get my full support, just has some recent parallels that cannot be ignored either so aye, we’ll just have to hope he’s the upgraded model… 1 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 10 minutes ago Report Posted 10 minutes ago 4 hours ago, swaddon said: If he does get the top job in world football, he needs to be told that Scandinavian managers at Aberdeen are expected to reach the Scottish Cup final in their first season. The new managers contract has a clause in it that states, nae cup, nae cock. Chapped aff in the centre circle, at our next home game, following our exit. It's how they have taken so long to get someone. Leven only found out his contract had the same clause in it last Saturday morning. Quote