Broken Glass

Meh, sounds like an absolute non-story to me (not to belittle the injured party) as far as Russell's involvement. The insurance thing is an irrelevance, it has zero bearing on whether an accident occurs or not. If my brother told me after two pints (double the limit) that he was fine to drive, I'd just believe him. I'm always a bit wary over stories like these, where the effects of alcohol are possibly overstated (I think the drink drive limits are correct). A 39 year old man after two pints? Probably about the reaction speed of a 70 year old, or perhaps someone older than 50 on medication. Or someone testing their eyesight after a bought of coronavirus. We've created a society based around driving 1 tonne metal objects to carry single occupants, we're going to get accidents. You can very well imagine that Russell is the type to drive a two tonne 4x4 for his 3 mile commute.

5 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Meh, sounds like an absolute non-story to me (not to belittle the injured party) as far as Russell's involvement. The insurance thing is an irrelevance, it has zero bearing on whether an accident occurs or not. If my brother told me after two pints (double the limit) that he was fine to drive, I'd just believe him. I'm always a bit wary over stories like these, where the effects of alcohol are possibly overstated (I think the drink drive limits are correct). A 39 year old man after two pints? Probably about the reaction speed of a 70 year old, or perhaps someone older than 50 on medication. Or someone testing their eyesight after a bought of coronavirus. We've created a society based around driving 1 tonne metal objects to carry single occupants, we're going to get accidents. You can very well imagine that Russell is the type to drive a two tonne 4x4 for his 3 mile commute.

why have England punted him then ?

9 minutes ago, ayrshire_don74 said:

why have England punted him then ?

Because "optics". It's made to be a thing because football is analysed to an absolutely insane degree and for some bizarre reason held to some ridiculously high level of social responsibility (I'm more than guilty of that too of course, see the Scott Brown thread for my hypocrisy in action). You normally would never hear who the offender in Russell's situation was, other than a brief mention perhaps, it's only his association with England that gets it in the news. If he'd been the driver, there'd be more of a case here. To be honest, I didn't even know that "letting someone drive your car" was an offence. 

• 7 months later...

With the break approaching this seems like a good time for reflection. Glass has had a good crack at it now, brought in his own men (both playing and back room) and has been in charge for a decent number of games. 

I am struggling to see where we are going this season. Heard a few people saying “Cormack will give him until the end of the season no matter what”. It’s almost like we are prepared to totally write off this season which I don’t quite understand.

We haven’t been as low in the league as this for a number of years but it seems from the outside like the manager is under no pressure at all.

Cormack must have formed a view by now whether Glass is the right man to lead us long term. Is he just a stubborn guy, unwilling to admit his mistake and make a change, or does he really think Glass is making us better? 🧐

The glaring difference from a few seasons back when we had a decent side is that side had what I would call hungry players. Players at an age where they were looking to better themselves and in some cases, move on to bigger things like Shinnie, Hayes, McGinn, McLean, McKenna, Logan, Maddison, Christie, even Cosgrove.

It’s no coincidence that our best talent at the moment is Ramsay, Ferguson, Hedges, McCrorie, guys looking to improve and move on. The rest of the team is littered with players who are either topping up their pension or for whom the Dons is their pinnacle. We have very little sell on value in the team. Lewis, Hayes, McGinn, Considine, Gallagher, McGeough, Ramirez, JET. None of these players are playing for their next move. The exception being Brown who is an outstanding pro.

I'd say Considine and Hayes are more professional than Brown, and McGinn always puts in a shift when called upon. Lewis has been very good since being dropped, but has always been professional (and generally very good). I have no issues with any of those guys, and I actually think that number of 27+ players is probably a requirement. Over and above that, you have McGeouch, Gallagher, Kennedy and Jet who are older and probably not good enough. I think I agree with you that the balance isn't there. 

However, Glass had no recruitment support in the summer, and I'd like to see what changes are made in January and probably the summer before passing too much judgement on that front. Regardless of Glass still being here, it'll be a test of the new recruitment guy and his overall strategy. I'd like to think he'd have vetoed guys like Jet and Gallagher (although Gallagher was signed before Bates, so hard to be too critical) in lieu of younger players with more potential. Let's not forget that McInnes was allowed free reign to sign guys like Kennedy and McGeouch in January windows where a recruitment specialist would likely have talked him out of it.

Hopefully we'll have more out than in this window. I think McInnes would have been 9 points ahead of this Glass side at this stage, and the mythical "more entertaining" fitba is something that I'm certainly not seeing. I hope we stick with him beyond the summer and see how he gets on next season.

Would give Glass a C minus thus far,which I'd say isnt bad enough to not give him the January window.Not a great window to make dramatic changes/find available players. If we can sell someone or he gets money to spend then who knows.

Doubt continuation of what we've seen to date will see him beyond this season if not to the end of the season.Still hoping he finds something to get us going somehow

This was always going to be a transitional season given the complete change of focus on how to play.  Given 8 years of Conservative Mcinnes ball being coached at aberdeen that is going to take time. Ultimately the dice have been rolled and I think we just have to see how it plays out.  If we are trigger happy with glass it instantly reduces the standard of applicant because who's going to want to take the job if they don't think they will be given a fair crack at the whip to carry out a big undertaking. 

All that said its a big transfer window for glass. Could make or break him.

I was not enjoying the football under McInnes but Glass has actually made us even worse to watch. I definitely do not see the exciting brand of football that was talked about when he was appointed. Squad is even more unbalanced that it was under McInnes as well. That said there is no way Cormack sacks the man he claimed was the standout candidate after 6 months so we will just have to ride this out and hope it improves. 

I’d like to see Cormack/Glass combo given until this time next year before judging. I think this season was always going to be a transition with quite a few at the club finding their way in new roles.  I agree with your comment about our style of football and lack of excitement though.
Another summer transfer window and hopefully better balanced squad with a good end result. 

Glass has done quite a few good things that he hasn't really been given credit for due to the results.

He's pretty much changed the entire defence. Has made a defender out of McCrorie, who has definitely gone up a level from last season. Bates could turn out to be a very shrewd signing, and in Ramsay he's about to land Aberdeen a few million quid for a player McInnes didn't think was worth a single minute of football. Mackenzie too considered a big loss when injured yet was relatively unknown until now.

Without Glass we wouldn't have Scott Brown or Christian Ramirez; both been good for Aberdeen this season so far.

JET is a bit of an enigma but I think it's too early to say he's a failure - there's something there and he's a player who needs worked with. Gurr seems a bit pish though, but again maybe he's someone who would improve with games likes Bates. The others: Jenks/Longstaff were loan signings so no loss there. Gallagher was probably worth a punt because he was a free transfer. He's a back-up anyway so it doesn't worry me.

Tactically, his substitutions tend to suggest Glass is reading the game and trying to make an impact. They're never going to work 100% of the time of course, but there are plenty of examples this season when substitutions have positively impacted the performance. To me Glass is actually growing into the job, has made mistakes but is learning from them and I think that's clear to see in a lot of what he does rather than him stubbornly sticking to plan A.

At this stage last season after 20 games we had 39 points (27 just now) and were third (currently sixth) so on paper we look to have gone backwards. But, we won just two of our next 13 games, and gained just 10 points from 39. The next 13 games I'm confident we'll pick up far more wins/points. I don't think Hearts are all that and we can close that nine-point gap. At the very least I'm confident of fourth which, while nothing to celebrate, would be acceptable considering the way the season has went.

But if we don't finish third we need a cup win, because that place this season is bringing guaranteed European football until Christmas (we're 11th in coefficient so no chance of it being taken off us like what happened to St Johnstone this year) so that would be huge. 

7 minutes ago, Panda said:

Glass has done quite a few good things that he hasn't really been given credit for due to the results.

He's pretty much changed the entire defence. Has made a defender out of McCrorie, who has definitely gone up a level from last season. Bates could turn out to be a very shrewd signing, and in Ramsay he's about to land Aberdeen a few million quid for a player McInnes didn't think was worth a single minute of football. Mackenzie too considered a big loss when injured yet was relatively unknown until now.

Without Glass we wouldn't have Scott Brown or Christian Ramirez; both been good for Aberdeen this season so far.

JET is a bit of an enigma but I think it's too early to say he's a failure - there's something there and he's a player who needs worked with. Gurr seems a bit pish though, but again maybe he's someone who would improve with games likes Bates. The others: Jenks/Longstaff were loan signings so no loss there. Gallagher was probably worth a punt because he was a free transfer. He's a back-up anyway so it doesn't worry me.

Tactically, his substitutions tend to suggest Glass is reading the game and trying to make an impact. They're never going to work 100% of the time of course, but there are plenty of examples this season when substitutions have positively impacted the performance. To me Glass is actually growing into the job, has made mistakes but is learning from them and I think that's clear to see in a lot of what he does rather than him stubbornly sticking to plan A.

At this stage last season after 20 games we had 39 points (27 just now) and were third (currently sixth) so on paper we look to have gone backwards. But, we won just two of our next 13 games, and gained just 10 points from 39. The next 13 games I'm confident we'll pick up far more wins/points. I don't think Hearts are all that and we can close that nine-point gap. At the very least I'm confident of fourth which, while nothing to celebrate, would be acceptable considering the way the season has went.

But if we don't finish third we need a cup win, because that place this season is bringing guaranteed European football until Christmas (we're 11th in coefficient so no chance of it being taken off us like what happened to St Johnstone this year) so that would be huge. 

Well, nobody could accuse you of being Glass half empty.

• Haha 1

16 minutes ago, Panda said:

He's pretty much changed the entire defence.

He has, but not for the better. We lost 0.94 goals a game under McInnes last season and we're at 1.2 goals against this season. In fact I'd say one of our biggest problems at the moment is we're frequently playing midfielders in defence because our squad is unbalanced. Part of that is because Gallagher, who was a big signing for us (Scotland internationalist, Motherwell's captain, presumably on a decent wage) has been a flop.

8 minutes ago, sancho_panza said:

He has, but not for the better. We lost 0.94 goals a game under McInnes last season and we're at 1.2 goals against this season.

Well, a few things on that.

Firstly, the standard of the Premiership is higher this season than last season. Rangers are conceding a lot more than last season too.

Secondly, if you're changing the defence then you're going to have to give them time to create an understanding. We're playing two young guys at full-back and new signings (Bates was culpable for a few goals in his early starts) and McCrorie is adapting to a new position.

Thirdly, we've had a lot of injuries in our back line this season.

I mean, if you want to rely on statistics, you could say we've only conceded 0.8 goals a game in the last five matches, which shows a level of improvement?

In fact I'd say one of our biggest problems at the moment is we're frequently playing midfielders in defence because our squad is unbalanced.

I wouldn't say at full strength our defence is unbalanced. If everyone was fit, we'd have two right backs (Ramsay/Gurr), two left-backs (Mackenzie/Hayes) and five centre halves (Considine/Gallagher/Bates/McCrorie/Devlin). 

Part of that is because Gallagher, who was a big signing for us (Scotland internationalist, Motherwell's captain, presumably on a decent wage) has been a flop.

But is essentially a back-up. I don't think he dislodges McCrorie or Bates when both are fit, and is probably behind Considine too. 

1 hour ago, Panda said:

But is essentially a back-up. I don't think he dislodges McCrorie or Bates when both are fit, and is probably behind Considine too. 

I don't think he would either but that's pretty damning considering he was our big signing to sort out the defence. In fact I'd argue it's exactly the type of signing that kills teams like us - high profile players on decent wages who deliver very little. We've now got a backup being paid like one of our best players until the end of next season.

I wouldn't say at full strength our defence is unbalanced. If everyone was fit, we'd have two right backs (Ramsay/Gurr), two left-backs (Mackenzie/Hayes) and five centre halves (Considine/Gallagher/Bates/McCrorie/Devlin). 

There's no point listing Devlin when he's permanently crocked. We've clearly signed too many midfielders and not enough defenders over the last few seasons which is illustrated by the fact we've been playing the likes of Brown and Ojo in defensive positions as cover and by the fact we've converted former midfielders like McCrorie and Hayes into permanent defenders.

Not all of that was the fault of Glass as some of it predates his appointment but it was obvious at the end of last season with Taylor and Hoban leaving that we needed to sort out the defence and we haven't managed to do it yet. In the meantime we've made fairly pointless signings like bringing Matty Longstaff in on loan despite the fact we have plenty of cover in his position. The defence has been worse as a result, we've dropped down the table and we've got 12 points fewer than we had at this stage last season.

I'm actually an optimist and I think it might get better and we'll compete for third but I don't see much need to make excuses for Glass or pretend he's doing a great job. We aren't plucky underdogs, we're outspending the teams around/above us and performing far below what we should expect.

Big rest of February ahead for Glass now. It's make or break. I think it will shape whether he gets another crack at the job next season or not.

Wednesday 9th: Celtic (home)

Saturday 12th: Motherwell SC (away)

Tuesday 15th: St Johnstone (home)

Saturday 19th: Motherwell (away)

Saturday 26th: Dundee Utd (home)

After that it's Hearts & Rangers away in the same week, and hopefully a Scottish Cup game if we've got past Motherwell.

Focusing on those first five games..

If he wins the cup game and takes 6/7 points from 12 in the league games, then at least the season remains alive going into March.

Lose the cup game, then anything less than 9/12 and the pressure on Glass would force Cormack to make a decision.

In defence of Glass, Hibs apart we had a decent December and were showing signs of getting it together, and since then we've been playing with four players short because Watkins & Mackenzie injured & Hedges & Ramsay went missing in January.

Even now, if everyone was fit, Jenks & Ojo probably wouldn't be in the team. This new Dutch guy has only just arrived. Polvara not kicked a ball yet. 

If Glass was able to name his strongest team, we might be in decent shape.

Ramsay McCrorie Bates Mackenzie

Brown Ferguson

Vicente* Polvara Watkins

Ramirez

Can throw Hayes, McGeouch & possibly even Snodgrass into the mix. 

If he had that at his disposal then there would be no excuses.

*too lazy to Google his surname 

9 hours ago, Panda said:

In defence of Glass, Hibs apart we had a decent December and were showing signs of getting it together, and since then we've been playing with four players short because Watkins & Mackenzie injured & Hedges & Ramsay went missing in January.

Even now, if everyone was fit, Jenks & Ojo probably wouldn't be in the team. This new Dutch guy has only just arrived. Polvara not kicked a ball yet. 

If Glass was able to name his strongest team, we might be in decent shape.

Ramsay McCrorie Bates Mackenzie

Brown Ferguson

Vicente* Polvara Watkins

Ramirez

Can throw Hayes, McGeouch & possibly even Snodgrass into the mix. 

If he had that at his disposal then there would be no excuses.

*too lazy to Google his surname 

Welcome aboard Stephen

Pap horse. Not his fault he’s a pap horse but that’s what he is. Never achieved anything in his career that would merit the job, and don’t get me started on this idea that the wee boys running the club have of implementing a new structure. The first move in any revolution should be getting the board to fuck and the collection of nobody’s they employ right out with them. A fucking joke of a club these days and there’s no point anyone thinking it’s going to get any better.

Wrote that over a week ago about another club but also feels relevant right here, right now.

Edited by wee toon red