OneBrianIrvine. Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 On 28/03/2018 at 09:15, donsdaft said: Obviously this isn't being held in the city. Fuckin ridiculous word for a roll, I can't even bring myself to type it. Possibly the only time donsdaft and I held similar views Quote
Panda Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 I'm up in Aberdeen this weekend, and one of life's great pleasures is getting a proper fresh rowie. I have to make do with the Asda or Morrisons ones down here and they just don't quite hit the same. Quote
Elgindon Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 (edited) 11 hours ago, Panda said: I'm up in Aberdeen this weekend, and one of life's great pleasures is getting a proper fresh rowie. I have to make do with the Asda or Morrisons ones down here and they just don't quite hit the same. Question is,what's your 'buttery' of choice? Edited November 13 by Elgindon Quote
Panda Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 6 minutes ago, Elgindon said: Question is,what's your 'buttery' of choice? Thains in George Street [insert rowie emoji] But I'm always open to suggestions. Quote
Slim Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 I hear Truffelos on Regent Quay does the best ones but never tried them. Quote
Jute2 Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 On 12/11/2025 at 17:13, Elgindon said: If theyre JG Ross's,then aye,probably That’s all we get down here. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 Byron Baker do a nice roll/rowie. If you are in the city centre, Wilsons newsagent on King Street sells them. The rolls from The Bread Guy are quite shite, in my opinion. Quote
Kowalski Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 20 hours ago, Slim said: I hear Truffelos on Regent Quay does the best ones but never tried them. Sounds like a knocking shop? Quote
Reekie_Red Posted November 15 Report Posted November 15 Dunno if it is still there, but there used to be a bakery in Montrose town centre in tge 90s that made the most epic rowies. My dad was also a copper in Queen Street and always popped into Thains on George Street on his way home from night shift to grab a bunch of rowies from there - they were a close 2nd best 1 Quote
Elgindon Posted Wednesday at 16:28 Report Posted Wednesday at 16:28 On 13/11/2025 at 20:48, Slim said: I hear Truffelos on Regent Quay does the best ones but never tried them. Was in town today and gave them a try.Very good indeed.Been a while since I had an Aitkens one,but I would describe Truffelos ones as a cross between Aitkens and,maybe Thains.Flaky with a bit of a crunch,....worth the awkward drive round to Regent Quay Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 9 hours ago Report Posted 9 hours ago Just had a look online at this Truffelos place and they do a load of Gluten free stuff. Got diagnosed with a gluten intolerance at the age of 47, so good to see that. I do have a sneaky something with gluten from time, usually a macaroni pie from the chipper, so may try a roll from them if they have any and they are veggie. They appear to sell quite quick when they have them. Quote
Elgindon Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago 2 hours ago, TheDonbytheDee said: Just had a look online at this Truffelos place and they do a load of Gluten free stuff. Got diagnosed with a gluten intolerance at the age of 47, so good to see that. I do have a sneaky something with gluten from time, usually a macaroni pie from the chipper, so may try a roll from them if they have any and they are veggie. They appear to sell quite quick when they have them. Think they only do butteries from Wed to Fri.Had another couple this am,very good again Quote
Radiored Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago Thain's rowies never disappoint, but Ah'm glad tae see a mention o' Kennedy's way back in this thread. Kennedy's did our school (Powis) braddy van .... it would be in the playground for mornin break .... and it would be like a super sized rugby scrum tryin tae get tae the front tae buy a braddie, rowie, custard slice or fitivver .... the braddy mannie thought nithin o' dishin oot a 'clout o' the lug' tae onybody playin too rough .... further back in the 'scrum' there wis nivver a shortage o' guys fa would be armed wi a 'jimmie' (plimsole) tae similarly 'clout' lugs wi in order tae advance their position in the queue/scrum. Add tae that, because the van always parked close tae the school buildin', it was vulnerable tae water bombs launched fae the prefects room above ... and as for bein' an easy target for pea shooters an elastic band propelled pellets .... usually folded paper, but occasionally reinforced wi copper wire or aluminium foil ... and very occasional 'paperless' pellets ... ie - a fkn bent nail! .... well ..... it speaks volumes for the quality o' Kennedy's grub that we would deem the risks worthwhile in order tae secure a rowie/braddy/etc ...... but. When ye made it tae the front o' the queue/back o' the van ... ye could buy yer rowies/braddies ... but that wis nivver the end o' the ordeal. If ye werena careful retreatin' wi yer 'goods' and bein protective o' same, then as soon as ye were clear o' the 'scrum' ye could fa' foul o' the 'pinchers' .... guys fa would grab yer braddy/rowie wholesale or in part afore ye were even clear o' the 'scrum' an' steady on yer feet! ..... and then, half a pace further out, were the 'Gies-a-bitties' .... if ye still had a 'bittie' left tae 'gie'. But, ach .... it wis aa good fun .... til it wisna Sorry for the local history lesson, but Kennedy's rowies were affa good ... as were their braddies .... jist wonderin' tho .... are they still on the go? .... and if so, mair tae the point, are their rowies still as good? 1 1 Quote
Elgindon Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 20 minutes ago, Radiored said: Thain's rowies never disappoint, but Ah'm glad tae see a mention o' Kennedy's way back in this thread. Kennedy's did our school (Powis) braddy van .... it would be in the playground for mornin break .... and it would be like a super sized rugby scrum tryin tae get tae the front tae buy a braddie, rowie, custard slice or fitivver .... the braddy mannie thought nithin o' dishin oot a 'clout o' the lug' tae onybody playin too rough .... further back in the 'scrum' there wis nivver a shortage o' guys fa would be armed wi a 'jimmie' (plimsole) tae similarly 'clout' lugs wi in order tae advance their position in the queue/scrum. Add tae that, because the van always parked close tae the school buildin', it was vulnerable tae water bombs launched fae the prefects room above ... and as for bein' an easy target for pea shooters an elastic band propelled pellets .... usually folded paper, but occasionally reinforced wi copper wire or aluminium foil ... and very occasional 'paperless' pellets ... ie - a fkn bent nail! .... well ..... it speaks volumes for the quality o' Kennedy's grub that we would deem the risks worthwhile in order tae secure a rowie/braddy/etc ...... but. When ye made it tae the front o' the queue/back o' the van ... ye could buy yer rowies/braddies ... but that wis nivver the end o' the ordeal. If ye werena careful retreatin' wi yer 'goods' and bein protective o' same, then as soon as ye were clear o' the 'scrum' ye could fa' foul o' the 'pinchers' .... guys fa would grab yer braddy/rowie wholesale or in part afore ye were even clear o' the 'scrum' an' steady on yer feet! ..... and then, half a pace further out, were the 'Gies-a-bitties' .... if ye still had a 'bittie' left tae 'gie'. But, ach .... it wis aa good fun .... til it wisna Sorry for the local history lesson, but Kennedy's rowies were affa good ... as were their braddies .... jist wonderin' tho .... are they still on the go? .... and if so, mair tae the point, are their rowies still as good? Haha,great stuff. Was it Kennedys at the top of Merkland road many moons ago? Did a fair trade on matchdays .Haven't seen anything of theirs for years,decades even Quote
Radiored Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago Aye, Merkland Road .... it wis a while ago. Nae heard o' them since early 90s ... 'at's why Ah'm wonderin if they're still on the go. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago 1 hour ago, Radiored said: Thain's rowies never disappoint, but Ah'm glad tae see a mention o' Kennedy's way back in this thread. Kennedy's did our school (Powis) braddy van .... it would be in the playground for mornin break .... and it would be like a super sized rugby scrum tryin tae get tae the front tae buy a braddie, rowie, custard slice or fitivver .... the braddy mannie thought nithin o' dishin oot a 'clout o' the lug' tae onybody playin too rough .... further back in the 'scrum' there wis nivver a shortage o' guys fa would be armed wi a 'jimmie' (plimsole) tae similarly 'clout' lugs wi in order tae advance their position in the queue/scrum. Add tae that, because the van always parked close tae the school buildin', it was vulnerable tae water bombs launched fae the prefects room above ... and as for bein' an easy target for pea shooters an elastic band propelled pellets .... usually folded paper, but occasionally reinforced wi copper wire or aluminium foil ... and very occasional 'paperless' pellets ... ie - a fkn bent nail! .... well ..... it speaks volumes for the quality o' Kennedy's grub that we would deem the risks worthwhile in order tae secure a rowie/braddy/etc ...... but. When ye made it tae the front o' the queue/back o' the van ... ye could buy yer rowies/braddies ... but that wis nivver the end o' the ordeal. If ye werena careful retreatin' wi yer 'goods' and bein protective o' same, then as soon as ye were clear o' the 'scrum' ye could fa' foul o' the 'pinchers' .... guys fa would grab yer braddy/rowie wholesale or in part afore ye were even clear o' the 'scrum' an' steady on yer feet! ..... and then, half a pace further out, were the 'Gies-a-bitties' .... if ye still had a 'bittie' left tae 'gie'. But, ach .... it wis aa good fun .... til it wisna Sorry for the local history lesson, but Kennedy's rowies were affa good ... as were their braddies .... jist wonderin' tho .... are they still on the go? .... and if so, mair tae the point, are their rowies still as good? I served my time with Kennedys in the late 80s early 90s. The van mannie would have been Jim Baxter, nae the deid hun, although Jim himself is long gone. He took nae shyte in the bakery either. I was always up to shyte, being a daft young loon with too much energy and I think I might have put salt in his coffee instead of sugar, one of the many daft things I did to wind up the older staff. I got plenty of shyte done to me though. He said, you're a young loon, so you get a warning, try it again and you get a crack on the jaw. The others told me to take heed, as he was the type to hit you first and ask the questions later. Took nae shyte. 1 1 Quote
OneBrianIrvine. Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 1 hour ago, Radiored said: Thain's rowies never disappoint, but Ah'm glad tae see a mention o' Kennedy's way back in this thread. Kennedy's did our school (Powis) braddy van .... it would be in the playground for mornin break .... and it would be like a super sized rugby scrum tryin tae get tae the front tae buy a braddie, rowie, custard slice or fitivver .... the braddy mannie thought nithin o' dishin oot a 'clout o' the lug' tae onybody playin too rough .... further back in the 'scrum' there wis nivver a shortage o' guys fa would be armed wi a 'jimmie' (plimsole) tae similarly 'clout' lugs wi in order tae advance their position in the queue/scrum. Add tae that, because the van always parked close tae the school buildin', it was vulnerable tae water bombs launched fae the prefects room above ... and as for bein' an easy target for pea shooters an elastic band propelled pellets .... usually folded paper, but occasionally reinforced wi copper wire or aluminium foil ... and very occasional 'paperless' pellets ... ie - a fkn bent nail! .... well ..... it speaks volumes for the quality o' Kennedy's grub that we would deem the risks worthwhile in order tae secure a rowie/braddy/etc ...... but. When ye made it tae the front o' the queue/back o' the van ... ye could buy yer rowies/braddies ... but that wis nivver the end o' the ordeal. If ye werena careful retreatin' wi yer 'goods' and bein protective o' same, then as soon as ye were clear o' the 'scrum' ye could fa' foul o' the 'pinchers' .... guys fa would grab yer braddy/rowie wholesale or in part afore ye were even clear o' the 'scrum' an' steady on yer feet! ..... and then, half a pace further out, were the 'Gies-a-bitties' .... if ye still had a 'bittie' left tae 'gie'. But, ach .... it wis aa good fun .... til it wisna Sorry for the local history lesson, but Kennedy's rowies were affa good ... as were their braddies .... jist wonderin' tho .... are they still on the go? .... and if so, mair tae the point, are their rowies still as good? Superb stuff Neeps. Moreen Simpson eat your heart out. “Gies a bittie” Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 33 minutes ago Report Posted 33 minutes ago 5 hours ago, Radiored said: Aye, Merkland Road .... it wis a while ago. Nae heard o' them since early 90s ... 'at's why Ah'm wonderin if they're still on the go. Should have said in my earlier post, no they were taken over in the 90s and become the Aberdeen Buttery Company, who then went bust about 12 years or so ago. I think out of the bakeries that were on the go when I was serving my time, only Thains and Ross of Chapel Street are still on the go. We have lost the following bakeries. Copie Baker Murdochs Lows Gordon Bakery (Dee Street) Aitkens Sunnybank Strathdees Claremont Bakery Duncans (Thains took them over in the early 90s) AB Hutchison Quote