Scottish League Cup - Tuesday 14 July 2026

Brora Rangers v Aberdeen, kick-off 7.45pm

Scotland squad

Nips_and_Tatties

tlg1903
3 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

Aye, and in fairness to Ralston, he was involved when they were both injured for ages and McRorie wasn't doing a lot for his club. Since then he's regularly turned up for squads as backup. It's similar to Hanley, Hirst and Gordon, he helped get us there so he gets first refusal. If McRorie was a really good player in a role we struggled in then it would be justified, but he's only marginally better than Ralston.

I also don't think Ralston is as bad as people make out.  He's certainly  got a good attitude too imo.  When he was having a mare at the euros in 24 I never once got the impression he was hiding from the ball.... Might have been better for him if he had to be fair 😂😂 

OrlandoDon
32 minutes ago, tlg1903 said:

Clarke in charge till 2030 now.  I support this, we ain't going to get anyone better imo. 

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/c4gvy1lg5glo

Agreed. I hope he freshens things up though after the World Cup with young blood, especially looking for some more creative players and legit forwards. He guarantees nothing, but there’s no standout candidate dying to take his job. 

Jupiter

They really should have waited till after the world cup. If we play as badly as we did at the last euros he will deserve to be fired.

RicoS321
5 hours ago, Jupiter said:

They really should have waited till after the world cup. If we play as badly as we did at the last euros he will deserve to be fired.

But if we play really well then a big team will snap him up. Like Motherwell.

OrlandoDon
5 hours ago, Jupiter said:

At the same time, it’s one less thing to deal with as compared to him being asked constantly about his future, especially during the World Cup.

CurlsLikeTattie
Posted (edited)

Did you know, Aberdeen have had more players, and had more appearances by players, in Scotland World Cup squads than the huns?

And Jim Leighton has made more World Cup appearances than any other Scottish player.

Note: if you have looked on BBC this morning the answer to that is probably yes.

image.png.c5f7528ec212204c9bb06eee2396f409.png

Edited by CurlsLikeTattie
Don Julio

I suspect the Huns have had more players play for England than Scotland…

He did far more good than bad and we will always have Denmark. 

wee toon red

Can’t help but feel we’re in a worse place now than we were an hour ago.

Who’s next? Clarke carrying on until moyes was ready makes sense and would’ve been ideal.

Honestly not sure where we’re going from here.

Did a very good job to get Scotland to three finals. However, this feels like the right time.

The reaction has been far more negative than after the previous Euros exits. I think that would have carried on into qualifying for Euro 2028. Would have been difficult for him.

In his defence, don't think all the criticism from the World Cup was justified.

Yeah, was a bit negative in his tactics, but ultimately he was some poor refereeing and daft defensive mistakes away from the last 32.

Also think the Haiti win deserved more credit.

As for who should replace him...

I can see the SFA using all their creativity and forward thinking and going with Steven Naismith, which would be an uninspiring choice I'd say.

Neil Lennon and John McGlynn will be the bookies' favourites. McGlynn, at 64 and after being overlooked for the Hearts and Aberdeen jobs - which suggests Falkirk is the highest he'll go at club level - may feel it would suit him. I would love him to get it in all honesty. 

Outside choice might be Shaun Maloney, just because he's had international experience at Belgium and is credited with a lot at Celtic, and they may like a younger name. 

Get McInnes in. 

I'd take McGlynn. A manager I'd have been happy to see at the Dons.

Right call from Clarke and he goes with a lot of goodwill, he's been excellent when he's been excellent.

• Like 3

Although the biggest question is whether the Scotland squad thread gets moved back to its rightful place, and this abomination of a world cup forum gets tidied up so there's no sub grouping?

• Haha 2
6 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

I'd take McGlynn

We've got McGlynn. Super John McGlynn. 

We're sorted, get him in.

8 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

We've got McGlynn. Super John McGlynn. 

We're sorted, get him in.

Ange Postecoglou

At least ask the question 😉

1 minute ago, BigAl said:

Ange Postecoglou

The fact that I think he's an insufferable cunt probably won't factor into the SFA's decision I guess, and he does have international experience.

23 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Ange Postecoglou

Would not be against him but suspect we cannot afford him. However agree we should ask the question. 

McGlynn would be cheap option but maybe not a bad one. 

Alex Neil? 

I think Clarke did the right thing resigning that 4 year deal should never have been penned before the games took place. 

I read last night that apparently quite difficult for us not to qualify for the Euros in 28...........oh well we shall see about that 😂

I think we should look further than the v limited options we have for a Scottish manager.

Postecoglou would be the wrong choice.

Euro 2028 qualification is pretty much a gimme. We could have as many as four chances to qualify, and most of our big players will likely stay on for it (not you Grant Hanley. Leave your bib at reception on your way out).

We really need to begin building towards the 2030 World Cup and phasing in younger players. I can't see Ange staying for four years. I have my doubts he'd stay two years if a big enough job came up in England. 

wee toon red

At least Ange’s attacking style would suit the balance of our squad. We’ve nae defenders and he doesn’t bother with them anyway so could be a marriage made in heaven.

Who needs defenders anyway? Let's go back to the old 2-3-5 formation.

It won't be pretty, but it'll be exciting.