Sunday 5th October 2025, kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership - Aberdeen v Dundee

Re: Where do you stand? (JMG,JIG, etc)

This propaganda that you are for him if you aren't against him does my nut in.

It's the argument of a fool and there does seem to be a lot on idiot chat.

I was having the same thought about an hour ago and was going to post a poll on AFC Chat. Get fed up getting called a JIGger (WTF?!?) if ye try to add to the debate. Nae that I really give a fuck what most of the clowns over there think anyway... and don't think they'll ever open their eyes to reasoned debate.

(This is the first poll I think where I've not voted arbitrarily!  ;) )

I went for the "Not particularly happy" option. Yes there appears to be problems with motivation for "must win" games - and the inconsistency is annoying as fuck.

But will sacking a manager - paying compensation - paying for squad restructuring - be of any benefit? That's a 2 year process of turmoil which may see us going backwards or forwards... and we may have to start spinning the managerial merry-go-round again, that'd be a fuckin disaster.

Better to hope that Calderwood gets a job offer down south and until then hope that we qualify for the euro-groups again to get some much needed revenue.

I hate calling him 'Jimmy' as I dont know him and I only refer to strangers by their first name if I has some kind of affection to them.

I would like to see Calderwood be replaced at the end of the season.

CRAPS

Calderwood Replaced At Post-Season  :thumbsup:

I dont think this seasons Dutch pre-season tour was that much better than a shambles.............although I did like the bitterballen!

The facilities in Holland for the pre-season are unbelievable though - was the same in Denmark when we went there with Ebbe. Tiny amateur clubs with immaculate training pitches and facilities such as a social club. Embarrassing for Aberdeen FC really.

If we built good training facilities we could cash in on the summer pre-season tour scene... how could we invite clubs to pre-season games with the facilities we have just now?

The equivalent of Turriff Utd/Banks of Dee had facilities better than any team outside the Infirm. Reitvigels were nothing better than a wee pub team. However I would have bitten off their hands, feet, cocks, balls, nipples and earlobes off to have a ground/training ground which they had

I think Banks O'Dee do have better facilities than Aberdeen  :-[

He's not Premiership quality, but has proven that he can get his teams promoted from the Championship.

We will never get a manager to leave management in England to come to us. We can't compete with wages.

We'll be looking at a new young manager so it will be a big gamble or else we'll be looking at an experienced SPL standard manager, change for changes sake - with crippling expenditure for compensation and rebuilding.

Why not?

Martin O'Neill left a tiny Premiership side to come up to Scotland for a few years, enhanced his CV no end and went back down to a much bigger side.

Obviously, we'll never be able to steal a Premiership manager, but a good Championship one? Why not? Owen Coyle went from the First Division to near the top of the Championship, SURELY a mid-table Championship manager could be persuaded to come to a near-the-top SPL club?

Celtic can pay wages approaching the levels in England - we cannae.

Where's all the money coming from to pay off the current management team, pay compensation to the club we poach a manager from, and then rebuild the squad... or do we just expect a new manager not to be allowed to get new players in during his first transfer window?

Do people think Aberdeen FC plc are minted all of a sudden because we wiped some money off the debt?

I'm sure he'd love the challenge of managing a top SPL side that have more chance of regular European football than Bradford, Sheffield Wed, Leeds or Wigan.

For half the salary? I think he'd rather sit on the dole waiting for an English gig.

• 16 years later...
29 minutes ago, Kowalski said:

5 wins in 32 apparently. 
Lose the next 2 league games and it’s JMG for me. 

Good find.

We need to get someone in above him to really put the pressure on him. He could be a good manager I think, but he needs anyone to really be questioning his judgement. 

I would say that the whole "5 wins in 32" needs to do one though. Two entirely different squads and seasons, and need to be judged separately. There is no such thing as "calendar year" in fitba either, it's just pundit bollocks. Each season is a reset. JT has had his, and we judge him on his failures this season. I'd force him to stay and own his mess.

At the risk of putting too much belief into what he says in interviews rather than just assuming he’s trying to get through them by giving the blandest, inoffensive responses possible, it’s a little concerning that his hypothesis is that we just need to do the same as we’re doing but with more intensity and hard work.

We’re easy to play against because we’re predictable. Inverted wingers only really work if the wingers switch sides often, otherwise every full back knows they’re going to cut inside and as a result the full backs “tuck in” a bit more closing gaps in the back 4. Can also be effective if you have overlapping full/wing backs who can get to the goalline but Jensen usually shits himself at the prospect and bungs in a cross from deep instead.

At least with Morris we had a bit of a Plan B, now we just seem to be doubling down on Plan A.

16 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Good find.

We need to get someone in above him to really put the pressure on him. He could be a good manager I think, but he needs anyone to really be questioning his judgement. 

I would say that the whole "5 wins in 32" needs to do one though. Two entirely different squads and seasons, and need to be judged separately. There is no such thing as "calendar year" in fitba either, it's just pundit bollocks. Each season is a reset. JT has had his, and we judge him on his failures this season. I'd force him to stay and own his mess.

Completely agree. I’ll give him until Christmas before I jump on any JMG bandwagon but only because of the high player turnover. We really need to see changes from him as well as the players between now and then.

I was convinced Thelin was a good appointment but for whatever reason it’s not working and his departure is beginning to look inevitable and that he will be going in next couple of weeks. As Slim says we are to predictable and everyone knows how to prevent us playing. We have no plan B. 

14 minutes ago, Slim said:

At the risk of putting too much belief into what he says in interviews rather than just assuming he’s trying to get through them by giving the blandest, inoffensive responses possible, it’s a little concerning that his hypothesis is that we just need to do the same as we’re doing but with more intensity and hard work.

We’re easy to play against because we’re predictable. Inverted wingers only really work if the wingers switch sides often, otherwise every full back knows they’re going to cut inside and as a result the full backs “tuck in” a bit more closing gaps in the back 4. Can also be effective if you have overlapping full/wing backs who can get to the goalline but Jensen usually shits himself at the prospect and bungs in a cross from deep instead.

At least with Morris we had a bit of a Plan B, now we just seem to be doubling down on Plan A.

Inverted wingers work with attacking full backs and a smart number 9. Look at Liverpool with salah, never seen him on the left, it’s not about switching wings, you need a 9 to move defenders, quite often running diagonally inside out pulling the central defenders out of position, and creating space for the inverted winger to play into. If the 9 isn’t dragging central defenders, and the full back is not outside or overlapping making the defense still defend wide areas, then the opposing fullback doesn’t fear the space outside, he shows inside and the middle gets clogged. That’s when we cut in and go backwards, there’s nothing on forward. We must have Jensen/devlin/gyamfi getting beyond the winger, and an active and mobile 9.
So far we’ve given the wide guy the ball and we’re incredibly predictable, rarely a wide option from the 9 running diagonally or the fullback overlapping. Last season plan b was sub morris getting outside, so far this year there is no plan b. Putting karlsson on the right gave us nothing, and Polvara on the left is more of the same and doesn’t challenge the opponent to even think or adapt. Plus he’s not a good winger.

25 minutes ago, Slim said:

We’re easy to play against because we’re predictable. Inverted wingers only really work if the wingers switch sides often, otherwise every full back knows they’re going to cut inside and as a result the full backs “tuck in” a bit more closing gaps in the back 4.

Jimmy’s been watching too many videos of Barcelona because their inverted wingers hardly ever switch. We’re trying to play the same way as Barca but instead of a couple of ballers in front of the back 4 we’re invariably going with 1, sometimes 2, hatchet men instead. 

Nisbet doesn't really work as a number 9, he's always been better as a number 10. Nothing sticks to him. He was so much better when Lazetic came on, as he occupied the back line, and Nisbet dropped, controlled, and released. It's really simple stuff. Aouchiche is a waste of a jersey there, as he takes a touch, turns, then another touch, before trying a difficult pass. He rarely gets beyond the striker too, when he should be doing that every attack. 

Jensen is a victim of our setup. He's getting dogs abuse for taking ages to get the ball in, but every time he got the ball with the space to cross today, he did so. Every time he got the ball with a defender between him and goal, he cut back. There's probably only once or twice in a game where I've thought Jensen has cutback when he shouldn't have, he's very rarely favourite. I was in the mainer today for a change, and it was even more clear than normal that he's not actually doing a whole lot wrong. It must have been 95% of the time today that when Jensen got it, the fullback was not just in position, but in position, faced up, with time to spare and ready to block the cross or show him down the line knowing he had five yards on Jensen. The fans were giving abuse to the wrong guy. Gyamfi got two good crosses in from the byline today. Both where when he got it early. They're wingbacks clearly changed tact at half time and they utilised the space really well. 

Agreed, I’m not questioning jensen’s decision making, totally agree he gets the ball in a position where he’s rarely capable of attacking the line. He’s also getting the ball to feet when he should be running onto the ball much of the time. I don’t think he has the strength like gyamfi or the speed to get to the line often.

I think gyamfi himself said when signed pace was a strength. Hopefully he pushes on and attacks more often.

12 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

Agreed, I’m not questioning jensen’s decision making, totally agree he gets the ball in a position where he’s rarely capable of attacking the line. He’s also getting the ball to feet when he should be running onto the ball much of the time. I don’t think he has the strength like gyamfi or the speed to get to the line often.

I think gyamfi himself said when signed pace was a strength. Hopefully he pushes on and attacks more often.

Gyamfi doesn't look particularly fast, but he's a unit. He'll run through people to get to the line. I think we're going to like him, if he stays fit. He blasted a couple of crosses in today, it was great. 

12 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Gyamfi doesn't look particularly fast, but he's a unit. He'll run through people to get to the line. I think we're going to like him, if he stays fit. He blasted a couple of crosses in today, it was great. 

I thought he did well and he could, if tactics and coaching allow it, be another attacking full back like Mackenzie, who was also not that fast.

9 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

I thought he did well and he could, if tactics and coaching allow it, be another attacking full back like Mackenzie, who was also not that fast.

I've a feeling he might be as injury prone...

2 hours ago, Kowalski said:

5 wins in 32 apparently. 
Lose the next 2 league games and it’s JMG for me. 

I don't like blaming any individual, but things have gone to shit ever since you unpinned the cup final thread.

You took away the feel good factor and now we look devoid of confidence.

• Haha 2

Thelin - I think you can strongly criticise him and also be strongly against sacking him.

I really can't be arsed with another manager change. We've heavily invested in this one. We're not going to be relegated in October. Let's give this manager backing for once.

But by fuck do we need to hit some good form, preferably before the year is out.

• Like 3
Posted (edited)
6 minutes ago, Panda said:

Thelin - I think you can strongly criticise him and also be strongly against sacking him.

I really can't be arsed with another manager change. We've heavily invested in this one. We're not going to be relegated in October. Let's give this manager backing for once.

But by fuck do we need to hit some good form, preferably before the year is out.

100%. For better or worse we’ve backed him fully, and built a squad (I believe) to his liking. As has been said, so much squad overhaul in the last year plus, pretty much the entire squad. While I can’t say for sure, I don’t recall a period where within 12 months our starting 11 were all new players, no spine of long term core players.
Other than a center mid, assuming it’s not kjarten, I think the squad is more or less built and now it’s time to see what jimmy can do. I think by Xmas we should have a better understanding. At the same time, we’re getting close to two games per week every week which bring little full squad training. There’s the excuse for squad rotation as well as lack of training to work on stuff.

the focus now has to be replacing Gunn with a person and role that oversees the first team squad, including performance.

Edited by OrlandoDon
1 hour ago, Panda said:

This is exactly how I feel as well. I’m hoping for a Hibs 24/25-style turnaround. I’m also choosing to believe that it could happen because life’s generally better when you’re an optimist.