Official Match Thread: Aberdeen v Copenhagen

• Replies 113

Come on, you cannae all still be out on the lash :thumbsup:

What a night

What a performance

What a race through the fog to get back to my flat to finally get a celebratory beer

In the words of TF, and I'm sure he won't mind me posting this:

Tonight was one of the nights of ma life. You didn't have to be there tho. reds all over the place just knew what happened at Pittodrie and what it meant to so many people. To those who were there....you were fortunate, as was I, to those that weren't? You felt it too.  Fotball can be good sometimes and tonight was on of those times.

Stand Free everyone

posted on P&B by a Morton fan :thumbsup:

tonight is the first night ive ever wished i supported another team.

considering the high im on tonight after that result i cant imagine what aberdeen fans must be feeling like, id give anything to feel like they do tonight.

although i support the old firm in europe this is a proper result for scottish football in european terms. scottish football isnt about the old firm, which is all europe thinks of us as, scottish football is about the teams like aberdeen all the way down through the leagues, suffering highs and lows and at times in their history struggling to survive. well enjoy this high because that result was one of the greatest ever in scottish football history.

well done aberdeen, youve done your fans, your country and every fan of a club from a team outwith the old firm from 3rd in the SPL to 10th in the 3rd division proud.

oh and special mention to aberdeen fans because the atmosphere they created tonight was incredible.

posted on P&B by a Morton fan :thumbsup:

tonight is the first night ive ever wished i supported another team.

considering the high im on tonight after that result i cant imagine what aberdeen fans must be feeling like, id give anything to feel like they do tonight.

although i support the old firm in europe this is a proper result for scottish football in european terms. scottish football isnt about the old firm, which is all europe thinks of us as, scottish football is about the teams like aberdeen all the way down through the leagues, suffering highs and lows and at times in their history struggling to survive. well enjoy this high because that result was one of the greatest ever in scottish football history.

well done aberdeen, youve done your fans, your country and every fan of a club from a team outwith the old firm from 3rd in the SPL to 10th in the 3rd division proud.

oh and special mention to aberdeen fans because the atmosphere they created tonight was incredible.

Thanks for sharing the above excellent post from the Morton fan GS, it got me all emotional!.

(What's the P&B? Googled it but got nowt relevant!)

I am in a state of disbelief, I cannot comprehend what happened tonight. Fucking amazing, best game I have ever seen at Pittodrie and the most sober since I was 18. I can remember everything, fuck me sideways, I have to work at 8.30 but I need beers to celebrate!

Partyring?

Guest Shabba Ranks

Just back in the door from one of the most bizarre, and memorable, nights of my life.  It started with a can of beer at 16.30, meeting ma mates in Old Blackfriars at 17.30, a hip-flask of Olmeca Tezon Tequila at the game, hitting town afterwards, going to the casino till 5am, then deciding to just continue the party and now topping it off with a bottle of Remy Martin.  Life is f*cking great!

Still not sure where that result came from, but it was absolutely outstanding.  What a night.   :dance:

Every single person that was at the game tonight should be proud, as they all played a part in a night that will be remembered by all and sunder for a long, long time.  The atmosphere was electric, and it made the hairs on the back of yer neck stand for most of the game. 

The 'scarf twirling' in the South Stand at 89-90 mins was class, absolute class.  We have a cracking support, and I think the rest of Scotland sat up and took notice tonight.  That was truly one of the best European performances of our lifetime, by any Scottish club, in European competition.

Every player on the pitch did what they had to do, and I couldn't fault anyone on the night.  Langfield in goal was commanding and seems to excel in Europe, Hart was calm and composed at RB and played brilliantly in defence and attack, Considine at LB seemed to thrive in that position on the defensive side of things and didn't put a foot wrong. The CB pairing of Byrne and Diamond were outstanding, winning everything they went for.  Solid. As. Fuck.  :hammer:  Fingers crossed Jimmy has finally seen that Byrne's not a full-back, and is the perfect partner for Diamond.  :wave:

The midfield, which I moaned about before the game as I thought Clark should've started on the right with Nicholson centre, controlled the game.  They all excelled, with a special mention going out to Scott Severin who showed what we all know he's capable of. A captain's performance which only just stood out above Diamond's.  End of.  Clark, who I'm not a huge fan of, was everywhere, and ran his heart out for the cause, whilst Nicholson, who surely can't be far off a call-up to the Scotland squad, and Aluko on the wings did all they could in both halves.  The first half was a tight affair, with nervousness evident in both teams.  Aluko's still learning the game, but it was obvious the Copenhagen players were told to watch him as he had 2 men closing him down all through the first half.  I really hope we can keep him, as he does seem to enjoy his football up here. 

Lee Miller is really showing the potential he's been hyped for, and was a class act tonight, winning every high ball and controlling the game when the ball was in the final 3rd of the pitch.  He used to seem like a lazy cunt at times, but his perseverance for the 3rd goal summed up his change of attitude.  Fantastic.  As for Jamie Smith, he finally gave us the performance we've been waiting for (and that's been f*cking ages  :), through the middle where many fans have been begging JC to play him.  The opener was a goal that very few Dons' player would've tried, and will go down in memory, whilst the 2nd was a top-class finish that deserves all the praise in the world.  Watch it on slow mo from the camera at the Dick Donald end, that's how to put the ball in the back of the net.  :dance:

The 4th goal was scored by Ricky Foster, but he's still shite.  :thumbsup:

As for the '12th man', what a showing from the crowd.  I was stood next to a bunch of degenerates in the South Stand, but it was f*cking amazing.

Degenerate 1 (wearing a light-blue hat  :hammer:)- I quote, "Fuck off back to Denmark to make factories..." 

"You take bacon up the aaaaarse... You take baconnnnn up the arse..."

"You're only soft-centred chocolatessss, You're only soft-centred chooooocolates..."

"Larsson is a spaaaaaaaastic, Larsson is a spaaaaaaastic, Larsson is a spaaaaastic, Henrik Larsson is a spastic" (Sweden?!?)

Degenerate 2 - Some dancing midget who kept hitting the folk round him to say, "SING", to which I replied, "STAND UP"  :lolabove:

Degenerate 3 - Who sang the most pointless songs I've ever heard at an Aberdeen game, the best of which was one  he told the other degenerates he made up.

"Beckham is a paedo,

He thinks it is an art,

And when he's fucking Brooklyn,

He thinks of Michael Hart..."

::)

If this is incoherent pish and you don't agree, I don't care, I'm buggered!  :thumbsup::dance::AFC:

'Mon the reds. 

Ciao,

Shabba

P.S This sort of sh*t makes it all worthwhile http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A30346986

Pride of Scotland!!!  :thumbsup::wave:

Come on, you cannae all still be out on the lash :thumbsup:

What a night

What a performance

What a race through the fog to get back to my flat to finally get a celebratory beer

In the words of TF, and I'm sure he won't mind me posting this:

Tonight was one of the nights of ma life. You didn't have to be there tho. reds all over the place just knew what happened at Pittodrie and what it meant to so many people. To those who were there....you were fortunate, as was I, to those that weren't? You felt it too.  Football can be good sometimes and tonight was on of those times.

Stand Free everyone

I was tired and emotional at the time! :lolabove:

He had a few fucks ups which weren't punished at times, but at times he was really good. If it had been 1-0 rather than 4-0 in the 90th when he tried to take on the Copenhagen striker in the middle of the box as he did last night and lose it - I think I would have been apoplectic!

Byrne showed his best position is CB and on form like that i'd have no problem with him partnering Diamond in ever game, the more settled a defence we play the better in my eyes!

Big thumbs up for ritchie after last night! :thumbsup:

Got to admit every single player played their part last night, an excellent team performance of the level we should be displaying consistently in the league

The progress made since the jimmys arrived has been amazing, fair enough some of his decisions are baffling but there hasnt been a better time to be a dons fan in my lifetime, things are looking rosy!

Asked him if he could help us get our new stadium. He laughed and said Stewarty Milne had already been asking :thumbsup:

Fair play to the guy, the first photo that was taken didn't come out well, and i asked for a second one and he started to walk off. However, it turned out he was just walking up to a fan to ask if we could borrow the scarf for the photo.

He was a top bloke actually, whether you like him politically or not  :thumbsup:

Asked him if he could help us get our new stadium. He laughed and said Stewarty Milne had already been asking :thumbsup:

Fair play to the guy, the first photo that was taken didn't come out well, and i asked for a second one and he started to walk off. However, it turned out he was just walking up to a fan to ask if we could borrow the scarf for the photo.

He was a top bloke actually, whether you like him politically or not  :thumbsup:

I had heard that too. Balders wants to have his children! ;D