Celtic v Aberdeen - Match Thread

Another season looms, three good summer signings, no Huns and a real chance of European Football.

Anyway thought I'd bore you all with some stats about opening day fixtures:

Aberdeen v Celtic / Celtic v Aberdeen Opening Day Matches

We have played Celtic on the opening day 6 times, can we take any omens from these games.

13 Aug 1932 Celtic 3 - 0 Aberdeen Div 1 (Old) 15,000

1932-33 season saw the Dons finish a creditable 6th (out of 20) and briefly topped the table after 10 wins out of 11 in Sept and Oct.

They also lost out in the Scottish Cup to 2nd Div Hibs.

10 Aug 1935 Aberdeen 3 - 1 Celtic Div 1 (Old) 28,000

1935-36 saw the Dons finish 3rd, scoring 95 goals in the process, while losing just 3 games.

Knocked out the cup in a QF at Ibrox 1-0.

12 Aug 1939 Aberdeen 3 - 1 Celtic Div 1 (Old) 35,000

Omens not great from this season, what with the league being suspended  a month later due to the out break of WW2.

10 Aug 1996 Aberdeen 2 - 2 Celtic Premier Division 18,595

Fairly average season, finished 6th, out the league cup to Dundee in the QF and out the Scottish to Hibs in the 3rd while getting pumped out the uefa cup by Ebbe's Brondby

01 Aug 1999 Aberdeen 0 - 5 Celtic SPL 16,080

Season continued much as started.  Finished bottom, lost 83 goals and saved from play off due to Brockville being a death trap.

But strangely featured two cup finals, a QF win over Rangers after extra time at Pittodrie in the League Cup and a semi win at Hampden vs Hibs, almost makes you feel nostalgic.

15 Aug 2009 Aberdeen 1 - 3 Celtic SPL 16,803

Another season to forget, McGhee's first. Destroyed by Sigma, finished 9th, out the league cup to Dundee, out the Scottish to Raith.

Only bright spot were the debuts of Fyvie and Pawlett. Next

Well best to concentrate on the games from the 30s rather than more recent matches I think.

Recent opening day form

2011: St Johnstone (H) 0-0 10,001

2010: Hamilton (H) 4-0 12,005

2009: Celtic (H) 1-3 16,803

2008: ICT (H) 0-2 12,659

2007: United (A) 0-1 12,496

2006: Hibs (A) 1-1 15,046

2005: United (A) 1-1 12,404

2004: Huns (H) 0-0 19,028

2003: Hearts (A) 0-2 14,260

2002: Hibs (A) 2-1 13,340

Played 10

Won 2

Drawn 4

Lost 4

So nae great reading there.

Anyway

In/Oot: In

Prematcher: Horseshoe for breakfast then probably Turnstiles for one or two while the minks are raising their flag

Match: Unrestricted view so way down the front somewhere, with nae view

Postmatcher: Who knows, a win could see me head over to the Official Home of the Glasgow Aberdeen....whatever they are called, the rock, more likely toon somewhere.

Prediction: Tims telling us how great it is without the huns and trying to be our best friends - fuck off.

• Replies 54

In/Oot: Oot

Prematcher: Wondering why im in a tent in someones front garden (unless I dont make it there in which case wondering why im not in a tent in someones front garden)

Match: Would appear I would be playing football

Postmatcher: Seeing what festivities the 30th annual Sheildaig Fete can offer

Prediction: For some reason I cant see celtic scoring  :stretcher:

Prematcher: Sleeping.

Match: Getting up waaay too early in the morning

Postmatcher: It'll stll before 9am so I have the whole day to celebrate

Prediction: 2-0 Us.

Edit: Just realised I'm going away for the weekend with Mrs MBT, hope she doesn't mind being woken at 6:45 am in the hotel (which better have WiFi)

In/Oot: Oot.

Prematcher: Skulking aboot my home killing time before kick off. Might head to thon ridiculously over priced "European" Market that shuts down Union Terrace every so often.

Match: In ma living room.

Postmatcher: Might head to the Cove Rangers game.

Prediction: Tims by 2 clear goals.

Prematcher: Sleeping

Match: Finding a pub in Glasgow not too Old Firm infested to watch the match in.

Postmatcher: Train to Edinburgh then a couple of Fringe shows.

Prediction: 1-1

Are there not still tickets available?

Anyway if you're looking for a pub you'll be wanting to check out the Rock

See this thread: http://www.donstalk.co.uk/messageboard/index.php?topic=15541.0

Are there not still tickets available?

Anyway if you're looking for a pub you'll be wanting to check out the Rock

See this thread: http://www.donstalk.co.uk/messageboard/index.php?topic=15541.0

Ah might head there. Considered trying to get a ticket but don't really fancy paying the best part of £30 for it really, particularly as I'm used to paying cheap student rates which are about half that and the last time I was at Celtic Park I felt like I couldn't see the game properly and that wasn't even in the 'restricted view' section. Found it an atrocious place to watch a football game.