Buying a hoose

Tyrant

:hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer:

Young folk might as well all top themselves!

Saying that.. can anyone recommend an independent financial advisor possibly that specialises in first time buyers? How do they get paid? I refuse to believe their services are actually free. Do they get cut in on any mortgage that you take out through them?

Fucking sick of this whole process already.

• Replies 115

IFA's get paid by the banks to whom they give business. They get particularly upset when their commission is clawed back in the event of early settlement, if the punter sells the hoose and pays off the lendor quicker than expected. The punter gets upset too if they don't negotiate a fair deal and end up forking out a few grand in early settlement charges and "penalties".

Arrange your own finance and shop the world. Look for early settlement terms (as we never know what's around the corner) in particular and only once you've done the research on your own should you even consider talking to an IFA, mostly for the satisfaction of knowing that you've found three or four better deals than the one he's recommending, his fat commission being included at your expense.

I reckon most IFA's are cunts but they will sometimes have access to excellent deals with life companies etc. who are desperate to increase their revenue streams. Do your homework first. If you rely on these cunts without doing your own research, you deserve the raping that they will certainly give you.

Young folk might as well all top themselves!

I'm always hearing shite like this, do youngsters these days think previous generations collected 'free hoose' vouchers from cornflakes packets or something?

Work hard, extra hours where possible, save some money for a deposit, buy a house.  It's always been the same.

Fucking lazy young cunts.

I'm always hearing shite like this, do youngsters these days think previous generations collected 'free hoose' vouchers from cornflakes packets or something?

Work hard, extra hours where possible, save some money for a deposit, buy a house.  It's always been the same.

I believe the level banks are willing to lend is very different now so I guess it's not as simple as "work more".

Aye because its really easy to save up 20% of yer prospective house's value as a deposit with a couple of bits of overtime

Dinna patronise me with that pish, min. I've spoken to countless older folk about this and they all spoke of how much simpler it was:

"All I needed 19 years ago for our first flat was a couple of wageslips and a quick survey from some dodgy geezer with a clipboard!"

"I didn't have to jump through all these hoops to get my first mortgage."

I could list more. Since the age of 16 I've never been without a job. I've worked hard for over a decade. Can I get a decent mortgage? Can I fuck. Deposit isn't even an issue. I've got one.

I wasn't trying to patronise, it was tongue in cheek hence the thumbs up smiley, I know the lenders are being difficult at the moment.

Lads I was only earning 10k a year when I needed a 6k deposit for my first flat, it took a long time and a lot of overtime and sacrifice, but it can be done.  I know the property market has changed, but don't think for a minute it's ever been easy buying a house.

I wasn't trying to patronise, it was tongue in cheek hence the thumbs up smiley, I know the lenders are being difficult at the moment.

Lads I was only earning 10k a year when I needed a 6k deposit for my first flat, it took a long time and a lot of overtime and sacrifice, but it can be done.  I know the property market has changed, but don't think for a minute it's ever been easy buying a house.

No one said it was easy [/coldplay] but I believe it's a fact that it's harder now than it has been since the last world war to get on the property ladder. I'd need more or less a year's wages (before tax) for my deposit. And that's if I want to live in fucking Torry.  :hammer:

Would have to disagree with some posters saying its easy as pie to save and get a deposit.

Dude I didn't say that, quite the opposite...

...it took a long time and a lot of overtime and sacrifice...

I took a pushbike to work at the airport from the city centre, rain or shine, for nearly 2 years (I didn't even own a car) to save money for a deposit.

I sympathise, but the point I'm making is it was hard in the 80's and 90's too. 

Defo CTS.

i couldnt afford a house since i started working.  heres a thing the SNP want to bring in more houses for 30k for first time buyers, whats to stop people with hundreds of thousands in savings buying them all up?  :-\  i have resigned myself to waiting until later on to get my own house, One in Aberdeen tbh. just need to find a partner from there to move back home and get a job :)

They'll be housing association houses so they'll only be made available for people on a low income.

I'm going to have to side with CTS on this one as well.  I think people really have just forgotten how to save.

Sure you might have to save more than previous generations but it's all relative.

Gone really are the days when people had to save up for anything so it's probably a shock to the system when they actually have to put some of their hard earned cash to one side.

You hear plenty stories of kids who haven't left home yet with £20k credit card bills and students running up vast amounts on loans with no real regards on how they'll pay them off.  Furniture can all be put away on tick, shops practically throw store cards at you everytime you're at the check out, most electrical equipment can be bought on installments.  I think I currently have three items that I'm paying up at 0% interest free.  Why wouldn't I sign up for that?

So that also goes for me, I can't remember the last time I had to save for anything in day-to-day life.  You name it, you could leave your house without a penny in your pocket and come home with a new TV, car, holiday, pair of tits, etc.

Except a house that is.

You'll have to actually save for that.

Do youngsters these days think previous generations collected 'free hoose' vouchers from cornflakes packets or something?

Wise words.

Here's some more wise words....

Most youngsters today are shite. It was ever thus but the proportion has gotten more shite.

Moaning about it is the equivalent of "woe is me". Some succeed. Winners and losers. It was ever thus too.

Losers should accept that they're losers or get off their fucking arse. Moaning about being losers is comically pathetic.

Would have to disagree with some posters saying its easy as pie to save and get a deposit.

40% of my wages go on petrol

a further 40% goes to bills and food

20% i get for weekly living expenses and saving.

over a week i probably can save £20, roughly £80 a month, 12*80 = 960 a year,  20% deposit, roughly £5k would take me 5 years to save.

Now in todays climate i have tried to get a mortgage for around 30-40k.  now if i find one, i am miles away from my work, meaning more petrol costs.

Petrol is beyond a joke, my parents didnt have £200 a month petrol bills just to get to work, this whole petrol cost is really going to get worse rather than better tbh, im sure £2 a litre petrol is just around the corner.

£200 a week petrol bills anyone?

How is £5k anywhere near enough for a deposit?  :o I suspect prices in Aberdeen may be higher but that much higher?

I'm more or less in the same boat. I spunk money away on rent (someone else' mortgage) every month and pay the mental petrol prices that everyone has to pay and it doesn't leave me with a lot to save. In fact very little.

When you're younger you're telt to leave school and go into higher education because it'll help you get a job. I was in education for 5 years after leaving school (working part time through out) and aye it got me a job. I've never struggled for a job (and for that in itself I'm grateful having seen others equally or better educated than myself struggle) but the facts are that A, you need more of a deposit than you've ever needed before to get on the property ladder and B, even if you have a deposit it's more difficult than it's ever been to secure funding and you can bet your bottom dollar that those that do manage to get a mortgage pay more for it than ever before too. I'm not saying (and never have) that it was ever easy. I'm not saying older generations didn't have to work hard. No one is suggesting that but it was a lot more doable back then. Certainly according to many of the older people I've discussed this with.

Folk have a chip on their shoulder about young folk "moaning" and 99 times out of a 100 I'd agree. Young folk tend to be fucking knobs. But then so do most older folk. Facts are facts. It's a shite time to be trying to get on the property ladder and FFS fuck sake I reserve the right to fucking moan about it. Right?  :wave:

How is £5k anywhere near enough for a deposit?  :o I suspect prices in Aberdeen may be higher but that much higher?

I'm more or less in the same boat. I spunk money away on rent (someone else' mortgage) every month and pay the mental petrol prices that everyone has to pay and it doesn't leave me with a lot to save. In fact very little.

When you're younger you're telt to leave school and go into higher education because it'll help you get a job. I was in education for 5 years after leaving school (working part time through out) and aye it got me a job. I've never struggled for a job (and for that in itself I'm grateful having seen others equally or better educated than myself struggle) but the facts are that A, you need more of a deposit than you've ever needed before to get on the property ladder and B, even if you have a deposit it's more difficult than it's ever been to secure funding and you can bet your bottom dollar that those that do manage to get a mortgage pay more for it than ever before too. I'm not saying (and never have) that it was ever easy. I'm not saying older generations didn't have to work hard. No one is suggesting that but it was a lot more doable back then. Certainly according to many of the older people I've discussed this with.

Folk have a chip on their shoulder about young folk "moaning" and 99 times out of a 100 I'd agree. Young folk tend to be fucking knobs. But then so do most older folk. Facts are facts. It's a shite time to be trying to get on the property ladder and FFS fuck sake I reserve the right to fucking moan about it. Right?  :wave:

Spot on.

"blah blah in my day blah blah".

It isn't necessarily the case that it's too difficult to get a mortgage now, it's that it was too easy to get a mortgage between 5-15 years ago, and in that intervening period we all got spoiled and stopped saving our baabees.

As for prices of flats in Aberdeen, there are two bedroom flats in Esslemont Avenue, and Rosemount generally, for under £100k.  A desirable area, close to town.  You wont get a deal that good in Glasgow or Edinburgh.  The prices for houses with gardens however are utterly obscene, because everyone wants one.  If you go to Kincorth or Mastrick or Summerhill, and maybe even Hilton you can get a good one, but the I want it all and I want it now generation disnae wnat to bide in "scabby" areas, even if their own folks were brought up in a house there.

The property ladder isn't the be-all-and-end-all anyway.  "young folk" have been conditioned by successive governments into thinking so, solely to cut down on their own maintenance budgets and promote their own right-wing agendas.  Owning your own house should be the preserve of those who can afford it and but for the blip in the last 5 years that created the worldwide recession, it has always been the case.

It isn't necessarily the case that it's too difficult to get a mortgage now, it's that it was too easy to get a mortgage between 5-15 years ago, and in that intervening period we all got spoiled and stopped saving our baabees.

As for prices of flats in Aberdeen, there are two bedroom flats in Esslemont Avenue, and Rosemount generally, for under £100k.  A desirable area, close to town.  You wont get a deal that good in Glasgow or Edinburgh.  The prices for houses with gardens however are utterly obscene, because everyone wants one.  If you go to Kincorth or Mastrick or Summerhill, and maybe even Hilton you can get a good one, but the I want it all and I want it now generation disnae wnat to bide in "scabby" areas, even if their own folks were brought up in a house there.

The property ladder isn't the be-all-and-end-all anyway.  "young folk" have been conditioned by successive governments into thinking so, solely to cut down on their own maintenance budgets and promote their own right-wing agendas.  Owning your own house should be the preserve of those who can afford it and but for the blip in the last 5 years that created the worldwide recession, it has always been the case.

Just to be clear.. because I'd rather pay monthly payments which I essentially get to keep instead of spunking money on someone else's mortgage doesn't mean that I'm a victim of any apparent right-wing propaganda from the government. And since the waiting list for a cooncil flat (unless you're foreign or pregnant) is 8-10 years they're not going to have to worry about me being on their maintenance bill any time soon.

I'm not fussed about a garden. I'd like a drive way and/or a garage but neither are essential. Esslemont Avenue is somewhere I've looked before. Years back when looking to rent as Dandy_Don may remember. I remember that particular place being a wee shitehole but my main issue there is I need a place to park and the centre of toon isn't ideal for that. Hence I've not really been looking there. Hilton or Clifton Road often gets you a garden for a not too bad price so that's a possibility. I can assure you that my Ma and Da never lived in Torry so me preference to avoid living there is purely based on other factors such as neds and car crime stories that I've heard. (My car insurance would double.  :hammer:) I drove through yesterday lunchtime and parts of it resembled no man's land.  I am aware that other places aren't immune from car crime. I've seen it myself in my own area.

Well said.

If any of you young feckers want to rent one of my properties let me ken.  Special discount for anyone brave enough to service my boiler.  Boke.

No way to speak about yer missus.

Where are your flats?

By the way the bit in bold just isn't true according to ASPC. You got my hopes up.  :-[ There's a few one bed places aye. Nae use to me unfortunately.