Aberdeen v Motherwell

Guest rocket debris

nonsense.  Leighton made huge improvements with most of the keepers he's worked with - Preece, Esson and Langfield. They all benefited from Leighton's input and Preece and Langfield have both admitted as much.

How can you say that Grassi was more to blame than Langfud for the first?

This alone disqualifies you from breathing.

As for Leighton's departure as an excuse for Clangers' continuing incompetence, laffable if not so tragic.

• Replies 88

Guest rocket debris

Jesus wept. Have a fucking word with yourself man.

Ok, this is a subject of which you know nothing unlike me. I once flew to Moscow to meet the great Lev Yashin. I was going to teach him everything he didn't know but he told me to fuck off, proof that goalkeeping can not be taught. Rather than ask you to explain exactly what technical aspects can be taught - instinct, reactions, handling all being unteachable - I invite you to look at a picture of the face of Langfield. Within 5 seconds, your skin will crawl and once you understand why, you will appreciate that the shape of his mouth, the line of his teeth and the vacant nothingness behind the eyes are all symptomatic of a person who is not all there. 

Guest rocket debris

yeah, cos footballers are well known for "being all there" and that is obviously the most important aspect of being a fiootballer.

Handling can be taught. As can positioning.

I had hoped that your infamous sense of humour may have served you in order to discern the serious from the not so serious. Handling can not be taught. It can only be practised. You either have it or you don't. I have it. You don't. How can you teach positional sense? It is fractions of degrees. It is instinctive. You can't tell someone where they should be?

Once again, Langfield spilled goals 1 & 3 and no coaching in the world could have prevented such tomfoolery.

What a load of crap, Rocket min. Preece arrived here as a mediocre keeper at best. He left here as one of the most dependable keepers in the SPL. The only man responsible for raising his standard of keeping was Leighton. Likewise, Esson was a gash keeper when he first broke onto the scene around 1998-ish. He turned into a pretty decent shot-stopper and penalty-specialist. The man responsible for teaching and finetuning those reactions and instincts was Oor Jim.

Guest rocket debris

Goalkeeping is misunderstood by most. I can not teach you the error of your ways. I would merely respectfully request that you ask yourselves what actual experience or qualifications you have in this field that separates you from the majority. Lev told rocket to fuck off.

What an absolute terrible performance. Ifil, Grassi and Langfield had absoulte nightmares. Not seen quite such woeful performances for a long time.

After about 10 minutes, the creativity and invention seemed to be thrown out the window and aimless punts up to Miller, who was anonymous throughout, was the order of the day. Shite. Ifil couldn't head the ball or make a pass. Instead just tried to rip the shirt of Sutton every single time.

I've seen a paper bag put up more of a fight for the first goal than Grassi did and Langfield spilled it when all that was needed was an easy catch. The next two goals were again avoidable and just a mess. Kerr couldn't make a pass and Mackie and Mulgrew, whilst industrious, lacked creativity or imagination.

nonsense.  Leighton made huge improvements with most of the keepers he's worked with - Preece, Esson and Langfield. They all benefited from Leighton's input and Preece and Langfield have both admitted as much.

Absolutely.  Even David Blunkett could see that.

It can't be a coincidence that Langfield starts to look poor again, after Leighton has gone.

Guest rocket debris

Absolutely.  Even David Blunkett could see that.

It can't be a coincidence that Langfield starts to look poor again, after Leighton has gone.

It's Sunday, kow.

As I said: -

Only people who understand fitba understand this so expect most of you won't.

What does a goalkeeper coach do?

How can he possibly add value?

Why didn't the best goalkeepers in history never have a GK coach?

How could a GK coach prevent what Langfud did yesterday?

Incompetence in the basics is unlegislatable for.

This is not up for debate. It's open only to the level of praise that you give me for being right again.

It's Sunday, kow.

As I said: -

What does a goalkeeper coach do?

How can he possibly add value?

Why didn't the best goalkeepers in history never have a GK coach?

How could a GK coach prevent what Langfud did yesterday?

Incompetence in the basics is unlegislatable for.

This is not up for debate. It's open only to the level of praise that you give me for being right again.

yawn.jpg

Keeper makes a mistake, it's a goal. Clangers has been doing very well for some time and to hammer him for a mistake is a bit fucking harsh. Grassi is a fucking abortion of a fitba player, a walking clusterfuck to the extent that if he played in goals it would be jerseys doon 8 of a fucking start to the opposition. Clanger's handling was superb against United recently, in pretty shitty conditions and in a match where there was plenty of pressure from big fermer type cunts under high balls.

Ajja said a coupla matches back that this wee run of "form" however welcome has been fragile at best and perhaps a result like this, whilst not exactly expected, was always possible.

not wanting to nit pick TF, but he (Langfield) was at fault for the goal at Fir Park and in general has looked very, very shaky all season from what I've seen.  Not claiming things with the confidence and assurance he did last season. Dropped a couple of easy crosses at Ibrox that we were lucky not to be punished for. He just doesn't look the same keeper this season.

Guest rocket debris

not wanting to nit pick TF, but he (Langfield) was at fault for the goal at Fir Park and in general has looked very, very shaky all season from what I've seen.  Not claiming things with the confidence and assurance he did last season. Dropped a couple of easy crosses at Ibrox that we were lucky not to be punished for. He just doesn't look the same keeper this season.

Not to mention the spill to Papac in the 99th minute at Pittodrie and the spill which put us oot the cup at Dundee. He's never been competent.

For every mistake that can be pointed out about langfield I'm sure that you can also highlight a great save that has rescued us.  Goalkeepers make mistakes, thats a fact of life, its just a shame that when a goalkeeper makes a mistake its more obvious as it more often than not leads to a goal.  Over the past few seasons Langfield has kept more clean sheets than the majority of the league.  That to me doesn't scream incompetent to me, Infact I'd say that when Langfield has been in form he has been very strong, and organises his defence better than when he first arrived at the club.  Like it or not he has been a big part of our strong defensive record over the past few years.

However I'll agree that he's looked slightly shakier this season, since Leighton's departure anyway.  To me it seems like he's a big confidence player and Leighton was the man that gave him that confidence more often than not, and not having a settled defence infront of him for most of the season can't possibly help his form.  A confident langfield behind a defence he has faith in is a big asset to Aberdeen.

Guest rocket debris

For every mistake that can be pointed out about langfield I'm sure that you can also highlight a great save that has rescued us.

Name one outstanding save he has EVER made? I can think of only one reaction save that was half decent.

You get what you pay for.  On his day he's as good as any other keeper in the SPL, but if he could play like that every week he wouldn't be in goals for Aberdeen.

I can recall leaving Pittodrie on several occasions and thinking he'd made a massive contribution to the result.  Sadly the result has not always been favourable.

Name one outstanding save he has EVER made? I can think of only one reaction save that was half decent.

Try doing your homework, in any of the season reviews I'm willing to bet that there's impressive saves from langfield.

even try watching some highlights you might learn something....

Guest rocket debris

Against the Huns earlier this seaon at Pittodrie from Boyd in the 2nd half

Lol. Fool. That was going 5 inches over the bar until he touched it and it went 14 inches over.