Stewart Milne

Er, "If Milne goes, AFC goes"

ok, If Milne stays AFC goes,

replace what players we have with, free transfers when contracts run out, soon we are a div 1 team, and get relegated, repeat until AFC dies.

The ONLY way for AFC to survive is to buy decent players and attract crowds, better product, better club, better players.

Trying to survive on fan base alone will see ANY club die.

It's common sense and to deflect it as "they can't blame the manager so they blame wiggy" is ridiculous nonsense.

Some people need to get with the real world, sadly a lot of them are AFC fans.

I don't disagree, there has to be an element of speculate to accumulate, however things aren't just as easy as that are they? We've gone down that route before and didn't just get our fingers burned, we got our whole hand blown off.  were we to do so again and it had the same result, you'd slate Milne for not learning from his mistakes. It is little wonder a conservative approach is taken at Pittodrie.

• Replies 56

Why is it that in the mind of the football fan if a Chairman/Club owner isnt seen to be splashing the cash then he's doing a bad job? Big money signings are exciting, but I want our club to exist in some shape or form in twenty years time.

Did all this bitching about chairmens not spending cash exist in the 70s and 80s

Or did it suddenly coincide with Jack Walker buying the premiership.

Why is it that in the mind of the football fan if a Chairman/Club owner isnt seen to be splashing the cash then he's doing a bad job? Big money signings are exciting, but I want our club to exist in some shape or form in twenty years time.

Probably for the same reason that the mindset of some football fans mean they can't see there's a middle ground between buying big names and bankrupting your club.

We don't need to beat everyone in our league to clear our debt a little each year and for the fans to enjoy a day or two in the sun every season to reward their loyalty.  Instead he rewards them with a new manager with pocket change to rebuild a squad bit by bit before the knee-jerky-wolves get bored and come hounding at the door for the next change.

The fact of the matter is; we don't need to win the league, we don't even need to split the O.F., we just need to beat shite like United, Motherwell, Caley, Dunfermline, QotS, Killie, etc. 

Sadly Milne thinks progress is to bargain buy each season and hope for the odd gem to be found amongst the shite.  Aren't we a lucky bunch?

Any 'fan' would have given their last pound to see us back in Europe again having previously sat in the Calderón or Allianz Arena but he obviously isn't up for that.

Fuck Milne.

Probably for the same reason that the mindset of some football fans mean they can't see there's a middle ground between buying big names and bankrupting your club.

We don't need to beat everyone in our league to clear our debt a little each year and for the fans to enjoy a day or two in the sun every season to reward their loyalty.  Instead he rewards them with a new manager with pocket change to rebuild a squad before the knee-jerky-wolves come hounding at the door.

The fact of the matter is; we don't need to split the O.F.We just need to beat shite like United, Motherwell, Caley, Dunfermline, QotS, Killie,

Sadly Milne doesn't realise thinks progress is to bargain buy

100% spot on.

I EXPECT the chairman to AT LEAST replace what we lose with suitable players, not shoddy bargains.

We don't need to beat everyone in our league to clear our debt a little each year and for the fans to enjoy a day or two in the sun every season to reward their loyalty.  Instead he rewards them with a new manager with pocket change to rebuild a squad bit by bit before the knee-jerky-wolves get bored and come hounding at the door for the next change.

The fact of the matter is; we don't need to win the league, we don't even need to split the O.F., we just need to beat shite like United, Motherwell, Caley, Dunfermline, QotS, Killie, etc. 

Sadly Milne thinks progress is to bargain buy each season and hope for the odd gem to be found amongst the shite.  Aren't we a lucky bunch?

Any 'fan' would have given their last pound to see us back in Europe again having previously sat in the Calderón or Allianz Arena but he obviously isn't up for that.

Fuck Milne.

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

That to me sums up the argument.  Its NOT about splurging millions and millions, but buying shrewdly and intelligently.  For example, the two year contracts thing, which in another topic some have mentioned has been screwing us for years.  Howis a mangager meant to BUILD a team with contracts like that?  Not giving the room to barter with contracts when contracts DO expire, again allowing us to keep the players we NEED. (How many of us would have Hart bck in the squad at this moment in time, for example)?  But, out of the blue, when a new manager comes along, lo and behold, a pot of cash appears.  The question has to be asked, why is this pot of cash not used to hold onto our QUALITY players in the past we have let go, who after all become AFC's assets?

Milne may be a genius at making loadsa dosh outta shite contruction methods, but to my mind he's done very, very poorly with AFC.

While I'm no fan of Milne, we had a squad capable of beating the above, especially QotS and Dunfermline.  Unfair to blame Milne for that.

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

That to me sums up the argument.   Its NOT about splurging millions and millions, but buying shrewdly and intelligently.  For example, the two year contracts thing, which in another topic some have mentioned has been screwing us for years.  Howis a mangager meant to BUILD a team with contracts like that?  Not giving the room to barter with contracts when contracts DO expire, again allowing us to keep the players we NEED. (How many of us would have Hart bck in the squad at this moment in time, for example)?  But, out of the blue, when a new manager comes along, lo and behold, a pot of cash appears.  The question has to be asked, why is this pot of cash not used to hold onto our QUALITY players in the past we have let go, who after all become AFC's assets?

Milne may be a genius at making loadsa dosh outta shite contruction methods, but to my mind he's done very, very poorly with AFC.

You have to remember though that the player may not want a contract longer than 2 years.  We could have kept Hart if Calderwood had really wanted to, but he obviously wasn't that bothered about losing him and chose to use his budget elsewhere.

If that is so about Hart then Calderwood is a bigger fanny than i thought he was....

So you thought he merited a wage on par with the likes of miller/diamond etc?

I personally wouldn't have paid him that, he's been a big miss since he left but only because we didn't bother replacing him

Diamond? Don't think he'd have been our highest earner at that time and to be honest I think Hart's a better player.

Miller? Yes, absolutley.

Smith? Yes, never fit and while Hart had his injury problems it was nowhere near on the scale as Smith's.

Severin? well, seve was the captain at the time so it's easy to see why he'd be one of, if not the highest paid player. 

But I certainly thought Hart was worth spending the money on. In saying that, he's now been injured a lot at Preston (supposedly both Hart and Smith are putting their recurring injuries down to the car accident in Egypt).  Maybe we're better off without in that case, who can say? But we have never replaced him and that's scandalous.

Diamond? Don't think he'd have been our highest earner at that time and to be honest I think Hart's a better player.

Miller? Yes, absolutley.

Smith? Yes, never fit and while Hart had his injury problems it was nowhere near on the scale as Smith's.

Severin? well, seve was the captain at the time so it's easy to see why he'd be one of, if not the highest paid player. 

But I certainly thought Hart was worth spending the money on. In saying that, he's now been injured a lot at Preston (supposedly both Hart and Smith are putting their recurring injuries down to the car accident in Egypt).  Maybe we're better off without in that case, who can say? But we have never replaced him and that's scandalous.

Agreed but alas it seems to be the Aberdeen boards way, its not like Hart's case is a stand out one. We should have replaced him by now, but hopefully, we've just replaced Anderson, so by that logic, we have to wait till Jan before we get his???

That's the sort of shite we've had to endure.  Words like "alas", "hopefully", "should have", "we have to wait" and all of which are followed by a pile of question marks.

What kind of response do you think dear old Stuartie gets when he goes into his only real interest in life, asking questions about why things are not moving forward?  Do you think he'd settle for "Sorry Mr Milne, we've not replaced the main architect to your empire, nor the site manager for your new project but...... geez til January coz we ken a couple muckers fae Homebase up the road fa used tae sketch up kitchen plans and sort oot the warehoose at the wikends.  They'll dee!".

Would he fuck.

But that's what we're faced with each season.

Mugs.

That's the sort of shite we've had to endure.  Words like "alas", "hopefully", "should have", "we have to wait" and all of which are followed by a pile of question marks.

What kind of response do you think dear old Stuartie gets when he goes into his only real interest in life, asking questions about why things are not moving forward?  Do you think he'd settle for "Sorry Mr Milne, we've not replaced the main architect to your empire, nor the site manager for your new project but...... geez til January coz we ken a couple muckers fae Homebase up the road fa used tae sketch up kitchen plans and sort oot the warehoose at the wikends.  They'll dee!".

Would he fuck.

???

If they're cheaper and get the job done then of course he would.  Milne didn't get where he is today without being a shrewd businessman.

???

If they're cheaper and get the job done then of course he would.  Milne didn't get where he is today without being a shrewd businessman.

The point is that they wouldn't get the job done.  You don't replace architects with dudes who sketch up 2D drawings of kitchen appliances, nor should you replace first team regulars with bench warmers.

If you are drawing parallels with the business world then you also need to understand the way that employers will view demands for pay increases on the basis of equity with other employers. If you have 2 or 3 staff who are being paid top dollar (relatively) because you were forced to pay that to attract them then you can be damn sure that every other employee who has any sense that they are worth just as much will be looking for parity. Then when you have brought them into line the top guys then think they should be getting more because the staff below them are now in lne with them. As a manager you have to keep a motivated and engaged staff without blowing your staff budgets. Sometimes that means saying no to the escalation of salaries that can come from these situations. Unfortunately for Hart, he was the one who was told no. Whether he was as good as Miller et al or not is not as important as the fact that he was not being attracted to the club and was already accepting a reduced wage. Its always harder to climb the salary ladder than it is to enter it at a higher point.