New stadium thread

Loirston chosen for new stadium

Aberdeen FC set to move

EXCLUSIVE

By Charlie Allan :wave:

Published: 03/04/2009

THE Evening Express can today reveal the preferred location for Aberdeen’s new community stadium.

The £38 million community facility, which will become home to Aberdeen FC, will be at Loirston Loch in the south of the city.

It follows a year-long series of feasibility studies to decide if the site at Nigg would be the best location for the stadium.

The report on the recommendation of the Nigg site will now go out to consultation and will be referred to the council’s policy and strategy committee on April 28.

A number of other potential sites across the city, including one at King’s Links, were examined by Aberdeen City Council and Aberdeen FC and it was decided all of them were unsuitable.

Aberdeen FC managing director Duncan Fraser, who is also a member of the Arena Project Advisory and Monitoring Board created to advise of the best site and stadium design, said: “These recommendations have still to be approved and at the appropriate time, there will be a full consultation process with fans.

“Their feedback will be important.â€

For more on this story, and an exclusive image of the new arena, pick up today’s Evening Express or check back later

• Replies 3k
  • Views 612.2k

Most Popular Posts

• Aye, I hate those odd numbers, like 17,000.

• Kinda off topic, but it's related to Aberdeen planning to cut capacity to 16,000. Been having a look at the season ticket prices at Hearts, Hibs and ourselves.  Hearts have sold 17,500, Hibs

• tom_widdows
    tom_widdows

Personally think the comment about the new urban park was ill advised. Aberdeen city doing something to improve the beach area that isnt a retail park should be applauded and to see it belittled

Posted Images

Milne with Tyrone yesterday. The fucking front of the man.

The reason maintenance at Pittodrie is increasing year-on-year is because of deliberately-engineered neglect starting over 20 years ago. I wonder who might benefit from HIS decision to relocate? Soulless runt.

Eh? His responsibility is to the whole club, of which the customers, the fans are the most important.

I'm comfortable with change and progress.

I'm comfortable with knowing how the world works.

When it comes to my club though, a club I put money into through the original shares issue, I'm not comfortable with people stealing from us, something that Dick Donald and his son would never have sanctioned.

We have no proof there's any impropriety going on but given his previous, I don't trust the rat cunt.

By law, his responsibility is to the shareholders, that's what I was getting at. I don't believe Milne looks much further than this, treating AFC like he would any other business. I don't think you should do that with a football club, but I'm happy to watch the game every week as I enjoy it and am aware of how our club works and how Scottish fitba is fixed. I get pissed off with it sometimes, but try not to let it bother me.

I think you'll find that there is no law that applies to corporate governance.

Once you get to age enough to understand.

Nae slagging you loon. Ye're a good cunt. Just that you're young. Or at least, younger than me.

I think you'll find that there is no law that applies to corporate governance.

Once you get to age enough to understand.

Nae slagging you loon. Ye're a good cunt. Just that you're young. Or at least, younger than me.

Cheers, you are indeed correct, I meant company (or bottom line) not shareholders, I'm not sure why I wrote that. Although strictly speaking, that's pish too. Must be going nuts in my young age! I won't let the shareholders of my company know I wrote that nonsense.

Public consultation starts on 25 July. Anyone intending on going along?

Members of the public will get their say on a landmark decision for Aberdeen Football Club later this month.

Public consultations will be held from July 25 so people can express their views on the plans for the new Dons stadium at Kingsford on the outskirts of Westhill.

The consultations will be at several locations across Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire.

Exhibitions will be on display in the city centre, Kingswells, at their current home Pittodrie, and in Westhill.

The consultation will last 12 weeks and will allow the football club to gather opinions from the public before they submit a formal planning application later this year.

A spokesman for Aberdeen Football Club said: “Public consultation will begin in the week commencing July 25 and will include exhibitions staffed by the club and design team at Westhill, Kingswells and Pittodrie and further exhibitions in city centre locations.

“These will be well publicised in advance.

“Briefings are also being offered to the neighbouring community councils; Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire councillors, MSPs and MPs.

“Our proposals will also be available to view via the club’s website.

“Aberdeen Football Club is committed to a comprehensive programme of public consultation on our proposals to develop a community and sports campus, football academy and stadium, as detailed in the Proposal of Application Notice submitted on 27 June.

“This is a significant project for the club, the city and the region and it is important that we share our vision for the development and what it will deliver in sporting, social and economic terms with all interested parties.

“This will enable us to review responses to the consultation before a formal planning application for the project is submitted to the local authority later this year.”

DonsStadiumKingswells.jpg?ssl=1

Exhibition and consultation dates confirmed:

Consultation details for Aberdeen FC’s new stadium have been announced.

Public exhibitions will be held in Westhill, Kingswells and the city centre late this month and in early August to showcase the plans for the arena in Kingsford.

As previously reported in the Evening Express, the events will allow the public to view the proposals before a formal planning application is submitted to the council later this year.

Three main consultation events will be held:

Tuesday, July 26 at the Fourmile House in Kingswells

Friday, July 29 at the Holiday Inn Aberdeen West in Westhill

Tuesday, August 2 at Pittodrie Stadium.

These exhibitions will all run from 1pm until 8pm.

Additionally, pop up exhibitions will also take place.

These will be held on:

Wednesday, August 3  from noon to 6pm at the Trinity Shopping Centre,

Friday August 5 from noon to 5pm at the Central Library

Monday  August 8 between 2pm and 8pm at Pittodrie Stadium.

All the proposals will also be available to view on the club’s website from July 26.

Comments on the plans will be accepted until August 26 to give the club time to review them before forming an official planning application.

Hmm, interesting, think these must be taken from the consultation viewing?

2hduo10.jpg

CoOPXrjXgAAbFuk.jpg:large

Seems to be, I'm tempted to nip in past on the way home and see whats said... I've got 5's tonight though so it may have to wait until the second viewing.

http://www.afc.co.uk/8157

Decent amount of info on the new stadium now on the club site, good to see the plan for transport etc and will surely reassure some.

http://www.afc.co.uk/8157

Decent amount of info on the new stadium now on the club site, good to see the plan for transport etc and will surely reassure some.

It's not much of a plan for transport though is it? 1,300 parking spaces and unsure about public transport, but possibly shuttle from park and ride. Safe to say there won't be much space for cyclists along the cycle path with all the folk walking down it!

Stadium looks pretty smart though, I quite like it.

It's not much of a plan for transport though is it? 1,300 parking spaces and unsure about public transport, but possibly shuttle from park and ride. Safe to say there won't be much space for cyclists along the cycle path with all the folk walking down it!

Stadium looks pretty smart though, I quite like it.

Considering it's right at the start of the process and it's a summary I'd say it's a reassuring level of info. Maximum amount of parking spaces allowable, bus parking, shuttle busses from the park and ride as well as possibly from the train station. It's a start!

Why would anyone trust Milne let alone give him the benefit of doubt?

George Yule is a different animal but he's not got any power.

This decision to relocate is an agenda pursued over 3 decades. It was a decision made by one man. We weren't consulted. Is it because he knows best and knows what's better for us than we know ourselves? Is this sole operator some kind of visionary? Did he not neglect maintenance at Pittodrie in furtherance of his agenda?

In a week where Sir Philip Green's professional reputation has been brutalised and the truth finally exposed, I would've thought that the balance of doubt would have been against the sole operator with all the power? Interesting that he said he would make good on reparation to the pensioners. What businessman would take responsibility for the affairs of a company he no longer has anything to do with, an institution he sold already, for a quid? A guilty one, that's who. One who's been caught stealing, and rewarded for it with a knighthood from the Westminster establishment, the same organisation that 55% of Scots voted not to leave, the same systemic corruption that grinds the gears of the EU, another vote where Scotland fucked up.

Man we have some real fuck ups amongst us.

Despite being a cyclist myself (Hi ED and TC  :wave:) I can't really see the point in providing it at the football, or any other major venue in all honesty for the very reason you've outlined above.  Cycling through Arsenal traffic after 5's is a nightmare.  It's a nice idea, but won't work. They should have reduced the car parking further though on the basis that they should have organised suitable public transport. 1,300 spaces is a lot for a society that is trying to dissuade people from driving.

Edit: and the colonnade should be interesting, I hope they don't have to fill that all up with fencing / gates.  PVC wrap (similar to the Olympic stadium which worked very well) looks good.

With regards to the proposal itself, hard to see much about it and those corners have potential to be quite bland, but the general masterplan seems logical.  Am I the only one that seems surprised that they haven't allowed for a proper indoor facility - multi use space doesn't count?  A few folk on fezbook questioned why it's on 20K, I think the figure is bang on given the amount of games we actually get anywhere near that figure.  Better than having a soulless bowl.

Despite being a cyclist myself (Hi ED and TC  :wave:) I can't really see the point in providing it at the football, or any other major venue in all honesty for the very reason you've outlined above.  Cycling through Arsenal traffic after 5's is a nightmare.  It's a nice idea, but won't work. They should have reduced the car parking further though on the basis that they should have organised suitable public transport. 1,300 spaces is a lot for a society that is trying to dissuade people from driving.

Edit: and the colonnade should be interesting, I hope they don't have to fill that all up with fencing / gates.  PVC wrap (similar to the Olympic stadium which worked very well) looks good.

With regards to the proposal itself, hard to see much about it and those corners have potential to be quite bland, but the general masterplan seems logical.  Am I the only one that seems surprised that they haven't allowed for a proper indoor facility - multi use space doesn't count?  A few folk on fezbook questioned why it's on 20K, I think the figure is bang on given the amount of games we actually get anywhere near that figure.  Better than having a soulless bowl.

:wanker:

Regarding the capacity, I'm half wondering if the 20k figure is seating only and whether we might have a safe standing area on top of that... it may be wishful thinking though.

Nah, it's just 20,000 all seater.  I think the club (stupidly) said a while back that they weren't going to have any safe standing  ::)

Did they? I seemed to remember them saying it was something they were looking in to not so long ago. I could be wrong though.

Believe they said they wouldnt put it in Pittodrie  - Why spend more money on the place than they need to etc.

Correct, hopefully they'll show more soon enough. Interested to see the section anyway.

Would be amazed if we got anywhere near £18 million in the current climate.

The sale of Pittodrie stadium could raise as much as £18million.

The money would generate almost half the amount required to build the proposed new complex between Kingswells and Westhill.

As well as housing 20,000 fans, there would be training facilities, a football academy, a pavilion containing offices and a gym at the new site.

There would also be a heritage museum charting the club’s iconic history as well as a “red cafe” and a memorial garden.

George Yule, the vice chairman of Aberdeen FC, said:

“We will explore all practical funding avenues to finance this important development for the club, AFC Community Trust, the city and region.

“This will include realising value from the Pittodrie site via a sale for redevelopment, which we expect to be in the region of £18millon depending on the market at the time of the sale.”

A 12 week public consultation into plans for the new stadium began yesterday.

The next consultation will be held on Friday from 1pm-8pm at the Holiday Inn on Westhill Drive.

Next week they will be held on Tuesday from 1pm-8pm in Pittodrie, from noon to 6pm the following day in the Trinity Centre, and from noon to 5pm in the Central Library on Friday.

On August 8, a further consultation will take place in Pittodrie from 2pm-8pm.

Would be amazed if we got anywhere near £18 million in the current climate.

Like they said... it all depends on the market at the time. I doubt they pulled the figure out of thin air.

Seems one of my workmates liked a no to kingsford post on Facebook which prompted me to flag up the rude and condescending attitude from a lot of the anti-brigade at the consultation meeting.

Needless to say it was swiftly deleted and I'm now blocked despite being perfectly reasonable in what I said.

::)

What I don't understand is why the bank wrote off most of our debt despite us owning an asset supposedly worth £18m.

That say no to Kingsford group really are a bunch of fuds. Deleting comments they disagree with their agenda.

Kingswells Community Council is maintaining a neutral stance about the stadium and associated facilities until we see more detail in the plans.

In the meantime here are KCC’s concerns:

AFC must be able to prove that there will be real local benefits to the people of Kingswells, many of whom will not have much interest in football.

We are concerned that the public consultation events were carried out during the summer holiday period when fewer people would have been around. Also, there was little information to be consulted about, other than an outline proposal.

All of the Kingsford site is designated in the draft 2016 Aberdeen Local Development Plan as Greenbelt (NE2). This is the plan that went to the Scottish Government Reporter after extensive public consultation. This designation would need to be overturned.

It has generally been an accepted planning principle that the coalescence of communities should be avoided in order to preserve their individual identities. Drum Group already has planning permission to extend its developments at Prime Four along the A944 towards the AWPR. We are very concerned that AFC’s plans will contribute further to the coalescence of Westhill and Kingswells. Floodlit pitches, especially 3G pitches, are not the same as green space.

Traffic congestion on the A944 and surrounding roads on match/event days is a real concern for us. This is likely to be especially problematic during mid-week fixtures. How will AFC finance the road improvements that are going to be necessary ?

Most fans will arrive/depart via the Kingswells South Junction of the AWPR. The AWPR was specially designed to keep traffic moving and minimise delays. The junction and its roundabout were not designed to take the traffic flows that will be experienced on match/event days and this will lead to tailbacks on the AWPR and A944. AFC will need to finance improvements to the roads network to negate these effects.

Public safety and security concerns us and we will need firm assurance that effective policing will be in place to deal with any anti-social behaviour in and around Kingswells and Westhill. Unlike the city centre and the area around Pittodrie, Kingswells and Westhill have no CCTV to help the Police monitor crowd behaviour. Areas of special concern include the Kingswells park-and-ride and the shopping area at Westhill. How will these concerns be addressed and how will AFC pay for the additional security infrastructure required ?

Kingswells is still a semi-rural area and people here enjoy the peace and quiet. The nearest area of housing in Kingswells is just over a mile from the stadium and the majority of the time Kingswells will be down-wind from Kingsford. How will noise from the stadium and the other facilities be minimised ? At the detailed planning stage, only the highest possible environmental standards of noise control will be acceptable.

Being semi-rural, Kingswells still benefits from having fairly dark skies at night. How will AFC deal with light pollution from the stadium and other facilities ? At the detailed planning stage, only the highest possible environmental standards for minimising light pollution would be acceptable.

Parking will be a key issue. The on-site parking provision of 1300 car spaces is likely to be totally insufficient. Plans to turn away cars with fewer than 3 passengers are likely to result is cars being parked randomly in local streets. Provision for coach parking on-site also looks to be too limited. So where will the overspill parking of cars and coaches be accommodated ? The Kingswells park-and ride could be used for a coach shuttle service to and from the stadium. However, the space available there has limitations, particularly for coaches. Under no circumstances should the park-and-ride car park become so congested that normal travellers (for whom it was constructed) are disadvantaged. Fans parking their cars randomly in streets or in public areas like shopping centres in Kingswells or Westhill would be unacceptable.

Some fans may choose to walk to/from the stadium along the pavement beside the busy A944. The pavement is actually a designated core path that also takes cyclists. The walk from the Kingswells park-and-ride to the stadium is over 1.5 miles and will probably take about 30 minutes. This route is potentially dangerous for fans because of the narrowness of the pavement in places. Traffic will be passing them at 40+ mph. If the pavement/cycleway is crowded with fans, normal users will be unable to use it. The only safe alternative is for all fans using the park-and-ride to be shuttled to/from the stadium by coach. It is unclear whether the current roads setup around the park-and-ride will be able to cope with this.

If the park-and-ride is used by fans then improvements will be necessary to ensure that ‘rapid exit’ is possible. If this doesn’t happen, then local streets will be used for parking instead of the park-and-ride. This practice would be unacceptable.

Closing the A944 to allow ‘rapid exit’ from the stadium would also be unacceptable as the A944 is the only access road for Kingswells and Westhill residents travelling west/east.

We are proud of our community and do our best to ensure that it is kept clean and tidy. A large amount of litter could be dropped in the park-and-ride and possibly along the A944. This will have to be cleaned up immediately after matches to prevent it blowing into the surrounding green areas. AFC will have to take responsibility for cleaning up litter immediately after matches/events.

http://www.kwells.org/kingswells-community-council-response-afc-consultation/