World’s best buttery

Bakers are being invited to put their recipes to the test at the inaugural World Buttery Championship this summer at the North East Scotland College in Aberdeen. Organisers, Slow Food Aberdeen City and Shire, are asking amateur and professional cooks to serve up their own versions of the North-east staple.

The buttery – also known as a rowie or roll

I always call it a Buttery unlike other folk who prefer Rowie.  :wave:

• Replies 128
  • Views 33.6k

Most Popular Posts

• TheDonbytheDee
    TheDonbytheDee

I served my time with Kennedys in the late 80s early 90s.  The van mannie would have been Jim Baxter, nae the deid hun, although Jim himself is long gone.  He took nae shyte in the bakery ei

• TheDonbytheDee
    TheDonbytheDee

Link is from the P&J, so likely won't work. But the word 'Rowie' added to the Oxford English Dictionary. Just need Chipper added to it now. https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/7059392/rowie-

• Anyone tried the wee 'Artisan' bakery in 'Culter,think its called Crust? Butteries are very good 👍   Even if you dont like butteries,some fine funcy pieces. Worth a nosey

My Da used te ain e chipper next door te Aitkens e baker back in e day, didna dee my waistline ony good. I believe that the baker in Truffeloes is ex Aitkens, and, if ye're nae doon ere early in e mornin ye've nae chunce o gettin rowies.

2 minutes ago, Torry Derry said:

My Da used te ain e chipper next door te Aitkens e baker back in e day, didna dee my waistline ony good.

The Glenbervie Chip Bar.

I remember it well. I lived in Glenbervie Road from 85-93.

He used to sell half portions of chips, which was nearer a full portion size.

Must be nearing 40 years since it closed and was replaced by the Chinese takeaway.

30 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

The Glenbervie Chip Bar.

I remember it well. I lived in Glenbervie Road from 85-93.

He used to sell half portions of chips, which was nearer a full portion size.

Must be nearing 40 years since it closed and was replaced by the Chinese takeaway.

That's the one, but i'm spikkin aboot afore at, must've been early 60's till late 70's my auld man owned it.