Transfer news - Clark, Hart, Nicholson, Dobie, Bus latest

ABERDEEN BACK IN FOR DOBIE AS HART SIGNS PRESTON PRE-CONTRACT

08:50 - 15 January 2008

Aberdeen have warned Preston North End that they will not allow Michael Hart to leave until the English club meets the Dons valuation of the defender.

Hart yesterday signed a pre-contract agreement with the Championship side. He will join the Deepdale team on a free transfer in the summer but Preston are keen to take him south early and strike a deal for a transfer window move. The Lancashire club has already had one bid for Hart rejected and talks have reached a stalemate. The Dons are keen to match the £175,000 offered by Plymouth before the player opted for a move to the north-west and denied the Pittodrie side a windfall.

Director of football Willie Miller said: "We haven't agreed anything to release Michael Hart during the transfer window. He has a pre-contract agreement with Preston but could still be with us until the summer."

The Dons last night revived their interest in Nottingham Forest forward Scott Dobie and would need a large fee for Hart to help fund that deal. Talks with the Scotland international have begun but Carlisle are also keen after being alerted to Dobie's availability.

Aberdeen made a move for Dobie in August but could not complete a deal. The prospect of pulling in a six-figure fee for Hart has led them to return for a player who is free to leave Forest if he can find a suitable club.

Preston chairman Derek Shaw has been handling negotiations but insists his club will not be held to ransom despite its struggle against relegation this season.

Shaw said: "We made Aberdeen an offer this month which was not accepted. Ideally, we would like to agree compensation in the January transfer window and Michael can start his Preston North End career sooner rather than later. If that doesn't happen, he will be our player in time for pre-season."

If Preston increase their offer for Hart and match Aberdeen's expectations, Dutch defender Dave Bus will move to the head of manager Jimmy Calderwood's wish list. The De Graafschap defender impressed during a Pittodrie trial last week but will not be recruited unless either Hart or Plymouth target Chris Clark departs this month. Calderwood is keen to secure Bus on a four-month loan deal.

Aberdeen and Plymouth have yet to reach agreement on Clark's transfer, with the Dons hoping to retain him until after next week's Scottish Cup replay against Falkirk. The club is still in talks with Barry Nicholson aimed at persuading him to extend his stay.

• Replies 87
  • Views 21k

Ok whilst i agree with the thoughts on duff's ability being little or non existant did he not play pretty well last season as a link man between the midfield and strikers? or am i imagining that? ???

He did.  One of my mates is an Arab and he was reasonably impressed with his performances in that position.

Saw this on the Plymouth Argyle website, Paul Sturrock talking about his new signing Chris Clark:

He has barely missed a game for the Dons in recent seasons, as Dons' fans have grown to admire his explosive, direct, style which is perfect for the counter-attack.

BWAAAAHAHAHAHA!

Me doth think he's signed the wrong player.

Not exactly ringing endorsements for Duff on a United messageboard, other than the fact he tries hard:

http://ftd.ibforums.com/index.php?showtopic=16908

Examples:

A player who can play shite in several posistions is no more useful than one who plays badly in just the one.

a sort-of a cross between Ray Wilkins and Rodney Trotter.

::)

Boo him.  You know it makes sense...

EDIT - 25 and counting!

Shabba, cut it oot loon :hammer:

Ok whilst i agree with the thoughts on duff's ability being little or non existant did he not play pretty well last season as a link man between the midfield and strikers? or am i imagining that? ???

You might be thinking of Damien Duff  ???8)

his explosive, direct, style which is perfect for the counter-attack

Is this the same Chris Clark who, during our 3-2 win over Rangers a couple of years ago, was in full knowledge that Rangers had just clawed back a two-goal deficit to draw level and looked the more capable side of scoring? We had a rare counter-attack and had men flooding forwards into the box. He had a choice of about five open players to pass to so, in his infinite wisdom, he punts the ball into the Main Stand thus conceding possession back to Rangers.

Maybe Sturrock is getting CC mixed up with ZZ or Cisse, cos I'm one of many many Dons fans glad to see the back of Chris Clark.

Only thing is, who is JC gonna pick first in the team now?

Is this the same Chris Clark who, during our 3-2 win over Rangers a couple of years ago, was in full knowledge that Rangers had just clawed back a two-goal deficit to draw level and looked the more capable side of scoring? We had a rare counter-attack and had men flooding forwards into the box. He had a choice of about five open players to pass to so, in his infinite wisdom, he punts the ball into the Main Stand thus conceding possession back to Rangers.

Maybe Sturrock is getting CC mixed up with ZZ or Cisse, cos I'm one of many many Dons fans glad to see the back of Chris Clark.

Derek Young  ???

I'd take Clark ahead of him! Fucking garbage.

Christ all mighty

0,,10284~3534958,00.jpg

The coveted Stevie Crawford number.

Must have been a hard paper round!

Exactly fit I thought. He seriously is one auld looking 26 yr old

I don't feel so bad being ten years older than the cunt.

You'd look twice yer own age too if you'd been forced to live and work in Dundee since 1999!

Ker-ching!!

Now go and fucking buy someone good for a change!!

Patrick Cregg, Ian Black or Steve Hammell Please.

Although i get the sinking suspicion it'll more than likely be Scott Wilson, Darren Young or Sol Bamba. ::)

Sol Bamba. ::)

Don't we already have him?

Anybody ken fit the fee will be that we receive fae Preston? Cannae find it anywhere. Everywhere's saying "fee agreed", but nobody says how much

Don't think it'll be released until he makes the move RR, or until Stoney or K-9 want it to be known.  ;)