THE DONSTALK BOOK CLUB

First up, may I recommend Gary Sutherland's "Hunting Grounds":

http://www.play.com/Books/Books/4-/3370157/Hunting-Grounds/Product.html

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hunting-Grounds-Gary-Sutherland/dp/1841585866/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1198166624&sr=8-1

Its an excellent journey round all 42 Scottish fitba grounds in one season.  Detailing transport, pre-match venues for a pint, the quality of the pies at the ground, and a review of the performance of both the players and the fans.  He goes into some depth in his report for each ground.  Its rather witty too!

He obviously visits Pittodrie (2-2 cup game with Hibs last season), and also a Falkirk v Aberdeen SPL game where the away fans are praised.

• Replies 1.1k
  • Views 291.1k

Most Popular Posts

• Mason89
    Mason89

Greatest debut album of all time. Shove your stone roses up yer farter 

• Bukta Bertie
    Bukta Bertie

A rare moment of agreement there. Sublime.   

• So I gave this one a go, but afraid to say I really struggled with it early doors and subsequently stopped reading. The problem with audio books for me, is that because I only really listen whils

Posted Images

4 minutes ago, Goldie03 said:

He is quite a good looking chap I heard him at the Scotonomics Festival in Letih earlier this year.

Quite rugged in his too tight white t-shirt and jeans 😉

I also have it as an audiobook but haven't listened as yet

Aye, he's tidy. His voice gets a little tedious in the audiobook, but I suspect that's a lot to do with the subject matter too.

3 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

It wasn't me, although I'm very familiar with Luke Kemp's work, I haven't read it. I've background listened to the audiobook though, he's got a decent grasp of the history and there is an inevitability to his predictions for the future. I can't remember if he's one of those guys that are part of the weird "human potential" groups, who seem like they might want to sacrifice a large part of humanity in order that a minority can spread humanity to the universe or some pish (Toby Ord is one, and the "effective altruism" crowd). Kemp does seem extremely intelligent, but maybe a bit void in the love department.

There was no hint of human potential stuff of the type you’re suggesting. More about citizens’ forum based decision making, etc. seemed reasonable enough set of prescriptions albeit no hope of them happening until it’s all too late.

4 hours ago, Don Julio said:

There was no hint of human potential stuff of the type you’re suggesting. More about citizens’ forum based decision making, etc. seemed reasonable enough set of prescriptions albeit no hope of them happening until it’s all too late.

Aye, not necessarily him, but the organisation he is/was part of at Cambridge. Thon Yuval Noah Harari weirdo is/was part of it. I've never quite understood how citizens forums work, they don't seem to solve any issue at all. Like many of the people who are excellent at listing the symptoms of the system, his suggestions all seemed to sit alongside the actual issues and not designed to actually solve them! Someone should tell them that it's okay to say that you don't know how to solve the metacrisis.

To Hell With Poverty, by Jon King.

Autobiography of the singer/guitarist of post punk group, the Gang of Four.

A very good read and nothing like the usual biography of a musician.

I've been quiet on this thread for a while but still been busy reading in my spare time.

Currently on my 68th book of the year, an advanced reader copy (ARC) called "Behind The Beehive", The Triumphs And Trials Of Dusty Springfield which is due for publication in October this year.

Whilst I try and vary my reading, I happened to watch the film "A Time for Killing" from the book by John Grisham and subsequently have been picking up books by him from the charity shops with a view to reading them all. Realise he isn't going to be everyone's cup of tea but he does write a very decent tale in my humble opinion

The latest Ian McEwan book 'What We Can Know'.

Normally breeze through his books and a big fan of them, but finding this one a struggle to get into.

Also have a Dons book, I've just read.

Pride of the Dons, by David Niven.

Looks at the family history of the Gothenburg squad and Fergie.

Mums, Dads, Grannies, Grandads, going back a good bit on each player.

Learnt very little from it and a fairly pointless read, in my opinion.