Wednesday 19th June 2024

Euro 2024 -  🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Scotland v 🇨🇭Switzerland

kick-off 8pm

Jason Brown

Reading on Twitter that in Brown's interview with ITV Wales he said it'll be a great distraction from club matters to be away with Wales.

Also added that if he plays it'll be a good chance to be in the shop window.

Lastly, apparently Chris Coleman knows the truth about why Brown isn't playing for Aberdeen at the moment.

Really can't wait until January so we can rid of this clown.

• Replies 59

JASON BROWN is convinced he has more chance of playing for Wales than Aberdeen.

The 30-year-old keeper last night lifted the lid on his Pittodrie hell and claimed he is FINISHED with the Dons.

Brown spent most of last season as No1 while Jamie Langfield recovered from a life-threatening brain seizure.

His form was so good he won a Wales recall for Chris Coleman’s first game in charge against Mexico in May.

But Brown has been left on the sidelines following Langfield’s return to action this season and believes he will never play for Dons again.

Brown, who SunSport understands is no longer on speaking terms with gaffer Craig Brown or glove rival Langfield, reckons his lack of action has harmed his chances of facing Scotland on Friday.

But even if he gets the nod to play, he will seek to quit Aberdeen in January.

The ex-Blackburn ace said: “I’ve been given no indication whether I’ll start against Scotland or not.

“I’d like to think so, but the predicament at Aberdeen and the way things have developed, the way that people have been, hasn’t helped my cause.

“It’s a difficult one for me. The issue is maybe me and the manager don’t see eye to eye on a few things.

“I haven’t been told I won’t play for Aberdeen again — but I won’t.

“Last season I had the best shot to save ratio outside the top two teams in Scotland. I was part of a fantastic 13-game unbeaten run and in 28 games I kept 11 or 12 clean sheets. So the statistics are there.

“You can’t say it’s down to ability. I’ve played in the best league in the world for five years, I’ve performed for my country at a high level. You can’t do that if you are not good enough.

“But there are other circumstances which have materialised.

“Obviously Jamie has come in and had one or two good performances and the team is on a good run. I’m supportive of them because I want them to do well.

“But I have to look after myself. I have to be selfish in the same way the club has to look after itself.

“So I won’t be looking to play for Aberdeen from now until I leave.

“But coming away with Wales is brilliant because it’s something to aim for. It’s also a distraction from what’s going on.

“I don’t let it get me down. I’ll just get on with the job I have to do while I’m there and see what materialises.”

Brown admits his situation with the Dons means he has had NO banter with the Scots there about Friday’s crunch Cardiff clash.

And he admits the best solution for all parties will be for him to leave Pittodrie as soon as the transfer window re-opens in the New Year.

He said: “With friends outside the club there’s been a lot of banter about the game. But not at the club.

“It’s like any work place. There are people you probably mix with more than others.

“But I’m very proud to be involved with my country. And hopefully the manager — who has been great with me and understands my predicament at Aberdeen — sticks by me and gives me the opportunity to play.

“Will I leave? Without a doubt. At the end of the day I am a player. My main reason for leaving Blackburn was to play first-team football.

“When I first went to Aberdeen I was going there to be playing first-team football, but obviously there’s a bigger picture.

“But yes, most definitely, I want to play football.

“The supporters have been great to me and the city has been great to me and my family. Aberdeen is a beautiful city, it’s been a great place for me and my family to live over the last year or so.

“But ultimately I want to play football and there are one or two issues there with my family.

“I think maybe moving back down to England is going to happen sooner rather than later.

“You can’t do anything if someone tends to have a problem with you. You just have to get on with it.

“What I have to do is turn up every day for training at Aberdeen and turn up for the games and see what materialises.”

I really can't work this one out. Certainly if I had been CB I would have retained brown as number one at the start of the season. The stats were there even with a defence that was chopping and changing. But the way he has conducted himself on twitter and during game time since has been highly unprofessional. Sure, id be pissed off if I was him but show a bit of dignity. Im quite intrigued to see what comes out in the wash in January. Either way, the team are performing well at the moment so I cannot complain, hopefully we'll get an able replacement in Jan.

Certainly seems to have disdain for our club (or certain people within the club). What seems clear to me is that he's very shut out from the rest of the team. What's unclear is if this is a reason for his unhappiness or came as a result of his unhappiness.

I agree that it's best for everyone if he's fucks off in January. I didn't want him dropped. I was infuriated that he was dropped. I probably don't know all the feacts but I've got nae time for sub keepers that act like petulant bairns.

Brown is not a good keeper. He may not make as many stupid mistakes as Langfield but nor does he make as many stops as Langfield. If Langfield could cut out the stupid mistakes he would clearly be the better keeper. I would have been happy if both were moved on last summer.

The attitude problems won't have just suddenly emerged out of the blue. More like CB had already decided langfield was going to get the gloves back after a proper pre-season.

The biggest reason we're looking good on the pitch is that we look like a team and everything from JB shows he's not a team player, so there's no way he should be in the team.

Best for all parties to mutually terminate his contract straight away imo. I'm sure a short term loan would be adequate cover.

The attitude problems won't have just suddenly emerged out of the blue. More like CB had already decided langfield was going to get the gloves back after a proper first season.

The biggest reason we're looking good on the pitch is that we look like a team and everything from JB shows he's not a team player, so there's no way he should be in the team.

Best for all parties to mutually terminate his contract straight away imo. I'm sure a short term loan would be adequate cover.

I agree.

I was never all that convinced with all his "I love this club" nonsense.  Whilst it's good to see passion, it shouldn't come at the cost of professionalism and respect for your team mates.  What JB needs to remember is when he joined us he was ridiculously out of shape and we gave him a chance to get his confidence back.  It did seem very shady that he signed a new contract and then lost his place in the team.  But Langfield has shown on a few occasions in his time with AFC that he has the professionalism and desire to wrestle the gloves back when he's faced adversity.  Brown can learn a thing or two from Langfield's attitude.

January exit for Aberdeen FC keeper Brown

Jason in hot water after rant

By Charlie Allan :wave:

Published: 10/10/2012

JASON Brown will be leaving Aberdeen FC in January after launching an astonishing public attack on manager Craig Brown.

The Welsh keeper has accused the Aberdeen boss of treating him unfairly in his battle with Jamie Langfield to be first choice.

He claimed he has never been told why he has been confined to the bench. The 30-year-old also implied he has been frozen out by the rest of the Aberdeen FC squad.

Who's next in line as backup to Clangers or will we be looking for a new keeper?  Hopefully it's the later!

I really can't work this one out. Certainly if I had been CB I would have retained brown as number one at the start of the season. The stats were there even with a defence that was chopping and changing. But the way he has conducted himself on twitter and during game time since has been highly unprofessional. Sure, id be pissed off if I was him but show a bit of dignity. Im quite intrigued to see what comes out in the wash in January. Either way, the team are performing well at the moment so I cannot complain, hopefully we'll get an able replacement in Jan.

My thoughts exactly. At the start of the season, quite rightly, he was pissed off at losing his place. But show a bit of professionalism and class, work hard and hope to get a chance again in the coming months. He's shown himself up for being a right twat and he should get punted in Jan. When there's some positivity buzzing around the team and the fans, something that has been missing for so long, the last thing we need is a big time charlie spouting shite to the media. As much as I don't think Langfield should be our keeper and that he has had more than enough chances at the club, I also don't have anytime for footballers like Brown who would rather complain to the media than getting his head doon and seeing how it pans out. Fuck off Jason.

Was it not BobbyBiscuit who was complaining about his alleged 'warm up' during a recent game? I think against Dunfermline in the cup? What did he do or what didn't he do?! Shocking behaviour for a 'pro' anyway.

I agree.

I was never all that convinced with all his "I love this club" nonsense.  Whilst it's good to see passion, it shouldn't come at the cost of professionalism and respect for your team mates.  What JB needs to remember is when he joined us he was ridiculously out of shape and we gave him a chance to get his confidence back.  It did seem very shady that he signed a new contract and then lost his place in the team.  But Langfield has shown on a few occasions in his time with AFC that he has the professionalism and desire to wrestle the gloves back when he's faced adversity.  Brown can learn a thing or two from Langfield's attitude.

Agree with all of this, especially the bit in bold.

I wouldn't be stunned if most of the team realised what a twat Jason Brown was and decided not to get involved with him. Definitely doesn't sound like any of them socialise with him.

“You can’t say it’s down to ability. I’ve played in the best league in the world for five years, .

9 League appearances and 7 other appearances in 5 years at Blackburn Rovers, 7 on loan at League Clubs.

I’ve performed for my country at a high level. You can’t do that if you are not good enough

3 Caps in Friendlies against Mexico, Liechtenstein and Trinidad and Tobago.

Was it not BobbyBiscuit who was complaining about his alleged 'warm up' during a recent game? I think against Dunfermline in the cup? What did he do or what didn't he do?! Shocking behaviour for a 'pro' anyway.

Fucked about for a few mins before sitting on the bench and then, I believe, warming up with the pars players.