Sunday 17th May 2026,  kick-off 2pm

Scottish Premiership - Dundee v Aberdeen

Todays fitba

TENEMENTFUNSTER

2 minutes ago, Mason89 said:

Some goal by Mikey Anderson 

I couldn't tell if it was in or not because it was in Gaelic.

• Haha 2
CurlsLikeTattie
16 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Whilst you're right min

It's Hearts 

So 😂

It's very nice to see Kris Boyd greeting all over BBC about it

You have to say that although we all know fine well how it works up here, that VAR call is truly incredible, even for our league.

Anyone think Motherwell (or anyone else bar one team) get that pen at that stage. Nope, me neither.

I’ll shed no tears if those diet fucks don’t win the league, canna stand their deluded arsehole support, but we are all genuinely wasting our time up here, it’s just pointless…

5 minutes ago, The.Moog said:

You have to say that although we all know fine well how it works up here, that VAR call is truly incredible, even for our league.

Anyone think Motherwell (or anyone else bar one team) get that pen at that stage. Nope, me neither.

I’ll shed no tears if those diet fucks don’t win the league, canna stand their deluded arsehole support, but we are all genuinely wasting our time up here, it’s just pointless…

Aye, just saw it on the highlights. Absolutely ridiculous. Never a penalty. Exactly the scenario that VAR exists for though. It gives them that extra safety net where they've got more than one chance to make up an offence. There's no chance that a ref would have managed to make that one up on his own. 

Also, had the challenge on Slattery (which I don't think was a pen) been up the other end, the subjectivity would have adjusted its bias and given the pen. 

A total con. 

Am I right in thinking that every single Premiership team has taken something from Pittodrie this season - except Hearts?

Had they won at Pittodrie earlier in the season, they'd already be champions.

Basically, Topi Keskinen is this season's Albert Kidd.

• Thanks 1
  • Haha 3

As for the penalty, that it was an ex-Jambo who conceded it is quite funny.

But, despite all the above, I don't think Hearts will lose on Saturday. I think they'll still win the league.

A lot of fun tonight switching between Ryan Stevenson and Biscuits on the radio and then John Robertson, Paul Hartley and Boyd on TV. All absolutely spewing. I know I’m supposed to be rooting for the underdog and all that fair and reasonable pish but fuck Hearts. 

Probably because it wasn’t a penalty.

Beaton & Dallas don’t think its a pen, but the SPFL, SFA & Sky wanted their last day decider so that was that.

Now they’ll want to protect their precious two horse duopoly cause that pays the bills, ken.

Diets are wasting their time turning up Saturday. As I said, we’re all wasting our time tbh…

C'mon McInnes ye hun cunt .... score within 10 an' 'manage the ither 80+ :D 

5 hours ago, The.Moog said:

Diets are wasting their time turning up Saturday. As I said, we’re all wasting our time tbh…

Honestly don’t think they should send a team. Dust off the Tennents Sixes party bus and just arrange a piss up in Gorgie next Saturday 

Celtic were always on about "sporting integrity" when their rivals died in 2012.

If they truly believe in it, then they should have just rolled the penalty towards the goalkeeper for him to pick up.

• Haha 1
TheDonbytheDee

Just seen the penalty.

Hearts have every right to feel aggrieved.

No way Motherwell get that up the other end.

Another dark day for Scottish Referees and our authorities.

tom_widdows
11 hours ago, Jupiter said:

The Celtic players didn’t even appeal for a penalty. 

Didnt look like their fans did either

This pic defo isn't doctored (original link https://www.alamy.com/motherwell-uk-13-may-2026-motherwells-sam-nicholson-was-given-a-controversial-handball-for-this-challenge-in-the-box-in-the-scottish-premiership-match-between-motherwell-and-celtic-at-fir-park-credit-ryan-fleming-alamy-live-news-image732208395.html

That's clearly handball.  

The only real issue I have is that it was impossible to say conclusively from the Var footage.  Beaton and Dallas have guessed.  Correctly as it turns out but guesswork should not be involved decisions. 

HIRMs2xWsAQjvq2-1.jpg

It is handball, but as they jump for the header, Trusty's shoulder actually pushes Nicholson's arm up and into the ball. And even so, the trajectory of the ball doesn't change, Motherwell gain no advantage from it, it hasn't stopped a goal being scored.

But, referees aren't instructed to use common sense anymore. Beaton spent 20 seconds looking at it - as soon as he saw handball he was satisfied it was a penalty.

55 minutes ago, Panda said:

It is handball, but as they jump for the header, Trusty's shoulder actually pushes Nicholson's arm up and into the ball. And even so, the trajectory of the ball doesn't change, Motherwell gain no advantage from it, it hasn't stopped a goal being scored.

But, referees aren't instructed to use common sense anymore. Beaton spent 20 seconds looking at it - as soon as he saw handball he was satisfied it was a penalty.

They are instructed to use common sense. Collum explicitly said so a few weeks back (well, not explicitly, but words to that effect). They chose not to on this occasion. Deliberately. 

You're completely right though, apart from it isn't handball. Handball is a description of the offence, not a verb to describe touching the ball with the hand. The ball hit his hand, which was shown clearly on last night's highlights. It changes nothing about the decision. It's a really important distinction, and one the sleekit fucker will blur the lines with in his VAR review (although he probably just won't do one because of season ending). It wasn't a handball last night. For the reasons you state. I mentioned on the other thread, it's the equivalent of pushing a goalie over the line with the ball in his hands. Or kicking the back of someone's leg, whose leg then knocks the ball into the net for an OG. Football is a contact sport, and the contact cannot simply be ignored for the purposes of a preferred outcome.