OrlandoDon Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 39 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: Pass marks for Ferguson, that lad stepped up and really tried. Good world cup for him. The rest were shit. Doak shit himself and was a complete non factor, mcginn rarely involved, and mctom mediocre at best. Shankland hardly touched the ball but long ball to one up top says a lot. I suppose I better add, Gunn had a good game. exactly the same feeling as the last two euros. So disappointed. Wouldn’t be gutted if we lost but played well, but even the Haiti game was a shit watch. We said we’d learned from those experiences but it has been the same flat blah slow uninspiring garbage. I don’t normally question Clarke too, and supported the extension, but his lineup tonight, especially starting a young doak, shankland up top, andand also a debatably match fit McKenna, was seriously questionable. As we the subs, both personnel and timing. I can only assume he thinks 3-0 is good enough to advance. Quote
Radiored Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago Agree starting BGD was unwise .... exciting, brave player, but lacks experience v a well sussed team the callibre o' Brazil. Late sub would hae been a better play. Re, Clarke, and the team as a whole, referring to my previous posts - we need tae manage expectations. A 3-0 gubbing fae Brazil (as Ah said, ranked 6th ... but underrated at that), and a defeat v Morocco are nae shock results. A mere 1-0 v Haiti is the only shock (shocking) result in our campaign. The fact we still hae a chance o' progressin' is indicative o' the shit structure o' this WC tournament. The number o' teams admitted meant it was easier tae get there than previous WC tournaments .... surely, given such favourable chance, there should be nae need for this 'doggies life' 3rd place scramble. Dinna get ma wrang, if Scots get through, Ah'll be chuffed ... but ... holy fuck .... dae we deserve tae? Ah've a lot mair tae say aboot the structure o' WC 2026, which Ah'll hit yiz wi' a bit later ... but for noo? We were drawn in a bastard tough group .... playin' in hot humid conditions all 3 o' oor opponents were accustomed tae, and in terms o' each team's rankins, we were fucked fae the start, lookin' desperately tae become unfucked by the end. Overall, we failed ... but aa things considered, nae miserably. Specifically though, the Haiti game was far we failed worst. Yet, although Ah would cite the Haiti game as evidence tae ditch Clarke, Ah think he deserves credit for at least gettin' us here .... Aye, he could hae done better, but .... it's like askin a sparky tae finish aff a plumber's job. Quote
Radiored Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago Anyway, shite though the system/structure may be, Ah'm a fkn proud Scot - so Ah'm cheerin' on Mexico an' South Korea right noo ... If neither lose, we're one step closer tae liftin' the cup 1 Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago 35 minutes ago, Radiored said: Agree starting BGD was unwise .... exciting, brave player, but lacks experience v a well sussed team the callibre o' Brazil. Late sub would hae been a better play. Re, Clarke, and the team as a whole, referring to my previous posts - we need tae manage expectations. A 3-0 gubbing fae Brazil (as Ah said, ranked 6th ... but underrated at that), and a defeat v Morocco are nae shock results. A mere 1-0 v Haiti is the only shock (shocking) result in our campaign. The fact we still hae a chance o' progressin' is indicative o' the shit structure o' this WC tournament. The number o' teams admitted meant it was easier tae get there than previous WC tournaments .... surely, given such favourable chance, there should be nae need for this 'doggies life' 3rd place scramble. Dinna get ma wrang, if Scots get through, Ah'll be chuffed ... but ... holy fuck .... dae we deserve tae? Ah've a lot mair tae say aboot the structure o' WC 2026, which Ah'll hit yiz wi' a bit later ... but for noo? We were drawn in a bastard tough group .... playin' in hot humid conditions all 3 o' oor opponents were accustomed tae, and in terms o' each team's rankins, we were fucked fae the start, lookin' desperately tae become unfucked by the end. Overall, we failed ... but aa things considered, nae miserably. Specifically though, the Haiti game was far we failed worst. Yet, although Ah would cite the Haiti game as evidence tae ditch Clarke, Ah think he deserves credit for at least gettin' us here .... Aye, he could hae done better, but .... it's like askin a sparky tae finish aff a plumber's job. He deserves credit, but at the same time, we were shite at both euros and our world cup performances have definitely been sub par. I compare us and our squad make up to Jack Chatlton’s Republic of Ireland back in the day, a mix of abilities/levels and experience that a coach got the absolute best out of - we’ve not been bad under Clarke by any means, but I think with the players we have, we could be better and could be performing better. Quote
Radiored Posted 58 minutes ago Report Posted 58 minutes ago (edited) Yass ... 1-0 tae Mexico. .... edit .... mak 'at 2 Edited 52 minutes ago by Radiored Quote
Radiored Posted 35 minutes ago Report Posted 35 minutes ago Shit ... S.Africa lead! ... switchin' games noo. Quote