Scottish League Cup - Tuesday 14 July 2026

Brora Rangers v Aberdeen, kick-off 7.45pm

Scotland v Brazil Wednesday 24th June

swaddon

OrlandoDon
39 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

Pass marks for Ferguson, that lad stepped up and really tried. Good world cup for him. The rest were shit. Doak shit himself and was a complete non factor, mcginn rarely involved, and mctom mediocre at best. Shankland hardly touched the ball but long ball to one up top says a lot.

I suppose I better add, Gunn had a good game. 
exactly the same feeling as the last two euros. So disappointed. Wouldn’t be gutted if we lost but played well, but even the Haiti game was a shit watch. We said we’d learned from those experiences but it has been the same flat blah slow uninspiring garbage. I don’t normally question Clarke too, and supported the extension, but his lineup tonight, especially starting a young doak, shankland up top, andand also a debatably match fit McKenna, was seriously questionable. As we the subs, both personnel and timing. I can only assume he thinks 3-0 is good enough to advance.

Agree starting BGD was unwise .... exciting, brave player, but lacks experience v a well sussed team the callibre o' Brazil. Late sub would hae been a better play.

Re, Clarke, and the team as a whole, referring to my previous posts - we need tae manage expectations.

A 3-0 gubbing fae Brazil (as Ah said, ranked 6th ... but underrated at that), and a defeat v Morocco are nae shock results. A mere 1-0 v Haiti is the only shock (shocking) result in our campaign.

The fact we still hae a chance o' progressin' is indicative o' the shit structure o' this WC tournament.

The number o' teams admitted meant it was easier tae get there than previous WC tournaments .... surely, given such favourable chance, there should be nae need for this 'doggies life' 3rd place scramble.

Dinna get ma wrang, if Scots get through, Ah'll be chuffed ... but ... holy fuck .... dae we deserve tae? 

Ah've a lot mair tae say aboot the structure o' WC 2026, which Ah'll hit yiz wi' a bit later ... but for noo? 

We were drawn in a bastard tough group .... playin' in hot humid conditions all 3 o' oor opponents were accustomed tae, and in terms o' each team's rankins, we were fucked fae the start, lookin' desperately tae become unfucked by the end. Overall, we failed ... but aa things considered, nae miserably. Specifically though, the Haiti game was far we failed worst.

Yet, although Ah would cite the Haiti game as evidence tae ditch Clarke, Ah think he deserves credit for at least gettin' us here .... Aye, he could hae done better, but .... it's like askin a sparky tae finish aff a plumber's job.

Anyway, shite though the system/structure may be, Ah'm a fkn proud Scot - so Ah'm cheerin' on Mexico an' South Korea right noo ... If neither lose, we're one step closer tae liftin' the cup :D :D 

OrlandoDon
35 minutes ago, Radiored said:

Agree starting BGD was unwise .... exciting, brave player, but lacks experience v a well sussed team the callibre o' Brazil. Late sub would hae been a better play.

Re, Clarke, and the team as a whole, referring to my previous posts - we need tae manage expectations.

A 3-0 gubbing fae Brazil (as Ah said, ranked 6th ... but underrated at that), and a defeat v Morocco are nae shock results. A mere 1-0 v Haiti is the only shock (shocking) result in our campaign.

The fact we still hae a chance o' progressin' is indicative o' the shit structure o' this WC tournament.

The number o' teams admitted meant it was easier tae get there than previous WC tournaments .... surely, given such favourable chance, there should be nae need for this 'doggies life' 3rd place scramble.

Dinna get ma wrang, if Scots get through, Ah'll be chuffed ... but ... holy fuck .... dae we deserve tae? 

Ah've a lot mair tae say aboot the structure o' WC 2026, which Ah'll hit yiz wi' a bit later ... but for noo? 

We were drawn in a bastard tough group .... playin' in hot humid conditions all 3 o' oor opponents were accustomed tae, and in terms o' each team's rankins, we were fucked fae the start, lookin' desperately tae become unfucked by the end. Overall, we failed ... but aa things considered, nae miserably. Specifically though, the Haiti game was far we failed worst.

Yet, although Ah would cite the Haiti game as evidence tae ditch Clarke, Ah think he deserves credit for at least gettin' us here .... Aye, he could hae done better, but .... it's like askin a sparky tae finish aff a plumber's job.

He deserves credit, but at the same time, we were shite at both euros and our world cup performances have definitely been sub par. I compare us and our squad make up to Jack Chatlton’s Republic of Ireland back in the day, a mix of abilities/levels and experience that a coach got the absolute best out of - we’ve not been bad under Clarke by any means, but I think with the players we have, we could be better and could be performing better.

Posted (edited)

Yass ... 1-0 tae Mexico.

.... edit .... mak 'at 2 ;) 

Edited by Radiored
35 minutes ago, Radiored said:

Bollocks! :( 

We don't deserve to go through imo

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, manc_don said:

We don't deserve to go through imo

Agree ... but ... fuck it ... Ah'll take it. As Ah said, the system is shit, the structure is shit, the rules are shit .... so if we qualify? ... it's shit ... but if anyone else qualifies through the same shit scenario, it's equally shit .... so in all shitty fairness, Ah'm still hopin we 'fairly' qualify..... shitty as it may be.

Put it this way: 

If 'x' number of individuals were to compete in a shit flinging contest, the biggest loser would be the one with the cleanest hands.

Edited by Radiored
Posted (edited)

Every time.

Every single fuckin time.

All you ever ask of them is just don’t embarrass us. Just put up a good show, don’t hand it to the opposition on a plate, just do the basics right and make a decent show of yourselves.

Countless other second rate teams manage, but not us, no, can’t do that, not fuckin ever.

Likely blown it again, through our own utter ineptitude.

Seriously, they can just GTF, as can the ridiculous happy clapper participation badge wankers in the support…

Edited by The.Moog

Aye Ah get ye, but tae labour ma previous point, Gettin' gubbed by Brazil and losin' narrowly tae Morocco is proportional tae reasonable, sober expectation.

Failin' tae beat Haiti by mair than one goal is ... well ... 'failure'.

We had little chance fae the outset o' finishin' better than third .... so oor best chance was bein' a 'good' third .... which meant displayin' we were fuckin way better than 4th .... 1-0 v Haiti was the game which fucked oor chances ... nae the ithers.

Blow.Up.Sheep
25 minutes ago, Radiored said:

Aye Ah get ye, but tae labour ma previous point, Gettin' gubbed by Brazil and losin' narrowly tae Morocco is proportional tae reasonable, sober expectation.

Failin' tae beat Haiti by mair than one goal is ... well ... 'failure'.

We had little chance fae the outset o' finishin' better than third .... so oor best chance was bein' a 'good' third .... which meant displayin' we were fuckin way better than 4th .... 1-0 v Haiti was the game which fucked oor chances ... nae the ithers.

Aye pal, you are a hunner % spot on.
We were never going to finish in the top 2 in this group, NEVER 

But fuk me we all knew that (including Clarke and the squad) so the emphasis should have been get the best possible win that we can against Haiti and shoot for 3rd place and a decent GD getting us through. As it has happened 1-0 was the best we could do against Haiti and even that we wir huddin on at the end.
So irrespective of how shit the whole tournament is we just don't deserve to progress at all.
Being a Scotsman is bit similar to being a dons fan. Lower your expectations before a ball is kicked and the failure on the park then becomes easier to dust yourself doon and get on with day to day life.

Wit the 48 countries there this time round was it easier to qualify? then yes I suppose you could say that, but that did not really have any impact on us as we won our group (fk knows how we managed that) 

We got there and shit the bed, the Haiti game was fkn awful and to be honest a draw would have been a fair result from that game.

Mathematically there is still a small chance we progress but we certainly don't fkn deserve to.

6 hours ago, Kowalski said:

Playing out from the back is the curse of modern football. 

Asking your defenders to play a bit of football there is insane. If they could play football, they wouldn’t be defenders 

It’s like the coaches all got together and decided that this is the way we play football now, and nobody questions it. Every single week, you see some team practically throw the ball into the back of their own net because their coach has asked them to play one touch football in their own box. 

It’s the same with them not putting a defender on the posts at corners. Drives me up the wall 

Ah well, it was okay while it lasted. Thought Ferguson and McLean were decent and Paterson better than expected. Difficult to be too critical of the lineup and approach, it's what most fans were suggesting (rather than go 4-5-1 with Adams running about). I feel sorry for McKenna, that's a very difficult came to be coming into office an injury. I'd have actually stuck with Hanley! Henry had a decent world cup, but even he showed it was a harder game than it looks and was lucky not to lose the goal. The subs were typical of Clarke, late and with no real sense of a plan. Although it has to be said that a lot of that has to do with quality on offer. Up front, it's clear that bringing someone like Stewart in was a mistake. Not because of his ability, but because he offered nothing different to the rest. All in all, it was a bit pointless after that Haiti game, which was always going to bite us (although they were no mugs). 

4 hours ago, The.Moog said:

Every time.

Every single fuckin time.

All you ever ask of them is just don’t embarrass us. Just put up a good show, don’t hand it to the opposition on a plate, just do the basics right and make a decent show of yourselves.

Countless other second rate teams manage, but not us, no, can’t do that, not fuckin ever.

Likely blown it again, through our own utter ineptitude.

Seriously, they can just GTF, as can the ridiculous happy clapper participation badge wankers in the support…

This and then some 

Fucking raging at myself for allowing myself to get sucked into the hype again like I have done at every tournament we have qualified for since 1974 (coincidentally the last time we didn't embarrass ourselves).

There is a reason we are good losers and still party afterwards and that is because we have a losing mentality.

Anyway heading back from holiday later today and at least have the league cup section games to look forward to.

59 minutes ago, BigAl said:

This and then some 

Fucking raging at myself for allowing myself to get sucked into the hype again like I have done at every tournament we have qualified for since 1974 (coincidentally the last time we didn't embarrass ourselves).

There is a reason we are good losers and still party afterwards and that is because we have a losing mentality.

Anyway heading back from holiday later today and at least have the league cup section games to look forward to.

I don't think we embarrassed ourselves in 86.

Yes, Nichol did a Bremner but otherwise Uruguay cheated like fck and Denmark were lucky to finish with 11. I think the Sturrock (I know) Nicholas partnership would have sorted Uruguay if not for the Danes

This latest one was the worst yet but with some bang average footballers.

Seems you can't rely on two worldies and a goal from your own half very often.

STFU_Donny

I switched over to sportsound after the game to truly wallow in the misery and just as I was drifting off to sleep, I was startled awake by Neil McCann losing his shit at Tom English. Thought he was going to chin him! 

38 minutes ago, DonUnder said:

I don't think we embarrassed ourselves in 86.

Yes, Nichol did a Bremner but otherwise Uruguay cheated like fck and Denmark were lucky to finish with 11. I think the Sturrock (I know) Nicholas partnership would have sorted Uruguay if not for the Danes

This latest one was the worst yet but with some bang average footballers.

Seems you can't rely on two worldies and a goal from your own half very often.

In fairness, perhaps embarrass was the wrong choice of word from me 

Maybe under deliver or fail to live up to our own hype would be more accurate.

OrlandoDon
4 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

Ah well, it was okay while it lasted. Thought Ferguson and McLean were decent and Paterson better than expected. Difficult to be too critical of the lineup and approach, it's what most fans were suggesting (rather than go 4-5-1 with Adams running about). I feel sorry for McKenna, that's a very difficult came to be coming into office an injury. I'd have actually stuck with Hanley! Henry had a decent world cup, but even he showed it was a harder game than it looks and was lucky not to lose the goal. The subs were typical of Clarke, late and with no real sense of a plan. Although it has to be said that a lot of that has to do with quality on offer. Up front, it's clear that bringing someone like Stewart in was a mistake. Not because of his ability, but because he offered nothing different to the rest. All in all, it was a bit pointless after that Haiti game, which was always going to bite us (although they were no mugs). 

Over the three games I’d say Ferguson Gunn hendry Paterson and maybe tierney were our better players. Ferguson definitely the star man, the rest didn’t offer much. 
easy to be critical now but changing to two up top didn’t work, plus shankland didn’t work out but I understand why he did get selected. The lack of a legit forward and creative midfielders, especially wide, really hurt us. Very disappointing World Cup from mcginn and mctominnay, our star men.

STFU_Donny
11 minutes ago, STFU_Donny said:

I switched over to sportsound after the game to truly wallow in the misery and just as I was drifting off to sleep, I was startled awake by Neil McCann losing his shit at Tom English. Thought he was going to chin him! 

Here it is