Wednesday 11th February,  kick-off 7.45pm

Scottish Premiership - Dundee Utd v Aberdeen

Leaderboard

Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 06/01/26 in all areas

1. I dont think Dave is doing a bad job, I don’t understand your strong dislike. I certainly understand your frustration with the current situation. Of course the club and Dave have made mistakes, that’s not abnormal in football, and has been acknowledged I think. football is an impossible business. Most clubs and managers fail. Most replace managers regularly, most don’t win anything. That’s the game. cormack has brought investment. A training ground. A director of football. Increasing playing funds. We’re signing players who played for ac Milan, man city, PSG, Liverpool, loaner from spurs, highly regarded youngsters, internationalists. I get many of these haven’t worked out but it’s much greater ambition than league 1 and 2, wycombe Stockport and the likes. I certainly think we can get better balance, and I think that has been acknowledged too. rangers and Celtic have been a mess this season, hearts have recently been a mess. We’ve signed managers, with the exception of glass, that while not always my choice, made sense. its always darkest before dawn, perhaps we’re close to the beginning of something special. We won a trophy last season, maybe luckily, maybe we repeat? Unlikely but I think we’ve got a man in charge who is fully invested, will spend, is ambitious, and wants success. That’s not easy.
    8 points
  2. They should have a town crier delivering the latest manager news outside Pittodrie every day at 10 am. Or have a papal style enclave where they meet to choose a new manager. As soon as we see red smoke pouring out of the Main Stand, we will know if we have a new boss.
    7 points
  3. Hopefully if he is walking, by the time he gets here, we have appointed someone else
    7 points
  4. This cheered me up. The comments on the Killie post on Twitter announcing this are also well worth a read - especially from Notts County fans. This was my favourite: “There was literally a highly contagious virus raging through the #notts squad in December and he didn’t even catch that ”
    7 points
  5. Disagree, think he's actually played very well in spells, but has been woefully mismanaged. He's been over played (compare his minutes to Graeme Shinnie), he's been constantly shuttled into different positions, and has had little to no chance to development any sort of partnership with anyone.
    7 points
  6. I’m pretty confident of putting Motherwell out. Fuck knows why. I didn’t get into the business of supporting Aberdeen to be afraid of a Motherwell fixture though
    6 points
  7. Online clowns lashing out at everything and anything out of frustration at how poor we've been. Chairman, captain, (ex) manager, goalie and now CEO all getting it in the neck because social media allows morons an outlet to spout the pish that in the past would only have had an audience of three men and a dog in the pub. It's one thing to criticise players and managers for their performance but when it turns to off the field figures' personal lives then it's a grim state of affairs.
    6 points
  8. In order to get the ball to Nisbet, it’s vital that it starts with Mitov making a 3 yard sideways pass to a centre half on the 6 yard line. That way, he can give the ball to an under pressure full back who has to pass it back the way to the centre half. From here, the important part is to thread a pass straight up the middle to a midfielder who is either facing his own goal, or isn’t looking at all This is the way football MUST be played. Otherwise, what’s the point? The paying public need to be entertained
    6 points
  9. They should be putting out a daily statement informing us that they have no further update on the manager situation.
    5 points
  10. What are you actually expecting though? Recruitment processes for high-level roles always tend to be fairly private out of respect for the people involved and their current employers. There's absolutely no need for the fanbase to be privy to names on shortlist and the like. When you look at how people jumped on and obsessed over the throwaway comment about it being advantageous for the next manager to have exposure to the Scottish game as being an absolute dealbreaker and that he'd be doing a massive U-Turn if he brought in someone that didn't fit that profile, it's no wonder he's saying the bare minimum.
    5 points
  11. I’m president of the United States of America
    5 points
  12. This is true. I’m unsackable in my job and I do the bare minimum every single day. I’m currently trying to teach myself card tricks during office hours
    5 points
  13. Connor Barron has seemingly refreshed this thread 45 times.
    5 points
  14. Aye, but the change isn't really for the better. We are quite possibly just legacy fans with no place in the modern game. I mean, I don't even do AberDNA and yet here I am, on here complaining about our latest signing. The cheek of it.
    5 points
  15. This is a fucking disgusting, tone deaf, tinpot, shite move. Learned fuck all from the Scales and Christie ("we very nearly signed him though") debacles. I fucking hate fitba.
    5 points
  16. 5 points
  17. That's four in a row we've not scored It feels like our tactics are flawed With wingers inverted Our chances deserted And all of us thoroughly bored
    5 points
  18. The droopy eyed, dog botherer, is apparently out fir up to 8 weeks and misses the game on Sunday. The hun are blaming Shinnie for it. Diddums! So, Tuesday night wasn't all bad.
    5 points
  19. Probably the most ridiculous thing I've ever read.
    5 points
  20. Obviously I couldn't give a fuck about the English pish, but agree with this. You can see how well McInnes is doing with the recruitment largely taken away from him. The problem is that if every other club has a team of analysts doing the recruitment then they're likely to see a better return over time - probably. You're also not going to get a good manager who'll want to spend days trawling data too. There's a ceiling to it, and we reached that with McInnes, who was spread far too thin with us. The sporting director is just the guy that pins together the recruitment, the sports science, youth team and the manager. He makes sure that the high level goals are being met and everything is staying in balance. Clearly what happened in the summer should never happen under a competent sporting director. He'd have questioned the recruitment of too many similar players, the lack of athletic midfielder, as well as insisting on space for youth. He holds all departments to account.
    5 points
  21. At least his nieces and nephews can still call him the same name.
    4 points
  22. I'm guessing they'll factor the weight of Callum McGregor's tears into the decision too. Could potentially tip it.
    4 points
  23. Aberdeen players spotted pouring buckets and buckets of water on the pitch just to make sure it’s off.
    4 points
  24. I heard on the morning news that the Balmedie Weasel, formerly of the stinkies and Blues of Birmingham signed for Dundee overnight. This was the banner claes-pegged up on Pittodrie Street when the fucker left. As I recall, we did a deal to keep McCrorie and let the Hun join the Huns at their bigoted sash palace. I trust that he’ll get a warm welcome when we next play TMSTID?
    4 points
  25. The Clarkson one I find most disappointing- never fully recreated the impact he had in the loan spell- very talented player and can argue whether we didn’t properly utilise him or his standards dropped, just wasn’t consistent enough, but sorry it didn’t work out in the end feel with the right manager he could have been a cracking player for us and sure the club saw him as an investment that would bring in large sum after a couple of years
    4 points
  26. Aye, fair enough, my apologies. I'll explain my frustration if it helps. I have no problem with being wrong at all, but your argument, as I read it, was one of those positions that could never be proven wrong or right either way, which do get on my nerves a bit! If you'd said that there was one or two (or five!) players that weren't pulling their weight, or that Thelin's approach was too soft on the players (although even that would be difficult to verify), I could have got on board with it. It's the fact that you have seemingly identified a single cultural issue that has infected the entire club, which several managers - despite huge clear outs of players - were unable to address. At face value, it actually doesn't seem that ridiculous, and I understand why people liked the post, but I think you have to ignore, or play down, an awful lot of other factors for this pressure idea to be true. The reason it annoys me slightly is because it's basically the sort of crass analysis we get from our BBC pundits. It's like a populist position, akin to blaming immigrants for shite public services or national debt, or youth laziness for a rise in unemployment (those are illustrations, your example isn't that stupid!). It's the type of easy answer that saves us asking harder questions (or doing more analysis), whilst at the same time tarring everyone at the club - a wee bit insultingly, if we're honest - with the same brush as, say, Karlsson (who may have just been going through a difficult period himself, and struggling to focus on fitba, who knows). There was a poster on here that used to go on about McInnes not winning the league with us because of "lack of belief". A similar concept that could never be measured in any meaningful way, and allowed us to brush over the fact that when the Tims spent money in the January window, we employed Simon Church! But it was impossible to have a reasonable debate against because I could point out numerous times when we showed belief in that period, but could never disprove the overall point that if we'd simply believed (more?) then we'd have won the league. But, aye, I should be more polite in my engagement in future. My apologies.
    4 points
  27. All jokes aside, if you're in an environment where you can consistently fail and find yourself back in the fold after every fuck up then it suggests to me that there's no real consequences. Has there been pressure on Mitov to perform for the past countless weeks? No Has there been pressure on Nisbet or Lazetic to score when they were going through their barren spell? No Has there been pressure on Topi or Karlsson or Milanovic or Bilalovic to create chances for the aforementioned 2? No Has there been pressure on the defence when we're conceding from set pieces every game and hardly keeping clean sheets? No There has been an acceptance for far too long that 3/10, 4/10, 5/0 performances don't matter as they'll be playing the next game. This has been an ongoing issue for a very long time, going back further than Jimmy or Robson or even Glass and for that to be the case then it has to be a culture problem within the walls of AFC that has been allowed to continue and get worse.
    4 points
  28. Got my hands on this gorgeous bit of silver tonight.
    4 points
  29. Hi, my name is Buzz
    4 points
  30. The only potential hazard being confusing them with urinal blocks
    4 points
  31. This is the best match thread ever!! More dogs! Here's mine, his name was Wyvis and sadly he passed away a year and half ago. I'm still broken by it . Also he was an Alaskan Malamute not a fucking husky (used to do my head in when people called him a husky)
    4 points
  32. This is Jess, named after the Hun hammer
    4 points
  33. Speak for yourself, I've just ordered a shirt with his name on the back.
    4 points
  34. Lyall Cameron prefers to be identified as British rather than Scottish.
    4 points
  35. Wishing you all the best for the rest of your career son. You will forever be welcome at Pittodrie and fondly remembered for May 24th 2025 Once A Don, Always A Don Stand Free
    4 points
  36. Aye, that was entertaining today. I don't know if we responded more impressively to going behind or to the referee being an absolute mess. Starting with the ref, that's the second time I've seen him, and both times he's been the worst ref I've seen in Scottish football. He shouldn't be there. Another product of VAR of course, with half the refs watching on a telly somewhere. Onto VAR, that offside call was a fucking disgrace. It wasn't the ref's call to go to the monitor, it's not even the guys in the video room, it's the fucking rules. If you can't draw lines, it's the onfield decision, that has to be written in. They just changed the decision from a factual one to a subjective call and then used an inappropriately positioned camera to decide on it. It completely goes against everything we've been told about it, it's a fucking disgrace. The arrogance of any cunt in a video room suggesting that they know better than an official who is in line is staggering. The whole reason we got VAR in the first place was because ignorant pundit fuckers questioned offside calls from a TV a mile away, and if VAR has taught us anything it's that there are exceedingly few incorrect offside calls that are more than marginal. Terrible decision, regardless of what they think the telly showed them. Anyway, we played some great stuff today. Frame, Keskinen, Shinnie, Nisbet (probably equal with Keskinen for motm) and Armstrong all very good. We defended very well in open play, but Jesus Christ we can't defend set pieces. I don't think it's necessarily about winning headers either, it's more fundamental than that. Our organisation, following the man etc is terrible. It needs a lot of work, I don't think a change of a defender will cut it. Our goals were fantastic, the crosses from Frame and Keskinen just class. Frame worked well with Topi and played well overall. Nisbet's link up play and movement was excellent. Bilalovic tried to take on his man regularly on the other wing too, and his determination for the goal was ace to see. Armstrong seemed to have chucked it at 1-2, for about ten minutes, but then he woke up and started putting in the passes he was doing at the start of the season. The one for Nisbet's nae goal was especially class. The subs from Leven were well timed and effective. Taking Devlin off on a booking the right call, Bilalovic was knackered too. Don't think we can be risking Frame and Lobban at the same time just yet, and Jensen was good when he came on. Clarkson steadied things nicely in midfield and Olusanya is indeed rapid (although he should have gone for it in the last seconds). Great fun.
    4 points
  37. Matthew fae the Spar shop, I think was another classic lost to the ages.
    4 points
  38. This is the most inept refereeing performance in Scotland in sixty years of following football Just completely clueless
    4 points
  39. It takes as long as it takes, Leven is clearly a safe pair of hands so I don't see the rush 2bh
    4 points
  40. I'm going to defend Lutz here. Bigger clubs than us have had vacancies at the same time, and have been happy to just appoint interims until the end of the season. Man Utd (Carrick), Celtic (O'Neill - for the second time this season) are two such examples. Had we just said "Leven until the end of the season", would we have been happy? It's coming up to three weeks, which isn't that long. As long as he appoints him within the next week, and the boy wins at least two trophies - at least one of which needs to be a European trophy - then I'd say the wait was worth it.
    4 points
  41. Is he coming over by jet ski?
    4 points
  42. Fixed that for you.
    4 points
  43. Cormack would be alright if he just kept out of the football entirely, launched Stewart Milne into the Sun, renamed the training facility after Teddy Scott & stopped trying to cover his failings using local politics
    4 points
  44. We just mainly hear about their gestapo shooting Americans in the face, the child sex trafficking and fascist stuff but that’s good news about property taxes
    4 points
  45. I heard he was offered a choice of 18 months in jail or a season ticket for next year.
    4 points
  46. I was at preseason in Holland when we signed Bossu and was there to witness Leighton shouting at Calderwood asking which of his mates recommended we sign “this clown” after a pre match work out. Calderwood then told press he was signed on Leighton’s recommendation a couple of days later.
    4 points
  47. It was Eoin Jess’ quote.
    4 points
  48. AFC - "A blight in the North"
    4 points
  49. Good to see we've all stood by our cup final hero Mitov through some rocky times. Should do his confidence the world of good.
    4 points