blinlemon Posted May 2 Report Posted May 2 21 hours ago, RicoS321 said: I'm reading Don Quixote if anyone wants to know. “KI-hOAtay” rhyming with “photie” and onomatopoeia for clearing phlegm fae yer throat, or “KwixOaty” like “a ready-made breakfast cereal”? A long-standing debate in the Bilermakers. Quote
2stars Posted May 2 Report Posted May 2 On 01/05/2026 at 20:45, RicoS321 said: I'm reading Don Quixote if anyone wants to know. Let me know how you get on with that- been something been on my list to read for years Quote
RicoS321 Posted May 3 Report Posted May 3 10 hours ago, 2stars said: Let me know how you get on with that- been something been on my list to read for years I've read it afore, it's good, if you like that sort of thing. Like all the best books, it's quite accessible, with no horrendously long chapters, so even if you have a phone-addled attention span you can pick up and put down with regularity! It was only £5 in the rosemount bookshop, so it's fine to have in the hoose. 14 hours ago, blinlemon said: “KI-hOAtay” rhyming with “photie” and onomatopoeia for clearing phlegm fae yer throat, or “KwixOaty” like “a ready-made breakfast cereal”? A long-standing debate in the Bilermakers. It has to be photie-rhyming. I've been to Spain in athin. 2 Quote
swaddon Posted May 3 Report Posted May 3 Nik Kershaw sings it as "KI-hOAtay" in his hit song of the same name. Quote
KGB Posted May 5 Report Posted May 5 On 01/05/2026 at 20:45, RicoS321 said: I'm reading Don Quixote if anyone wants to know. I read it a couple of years back and enjoyed it. I found a lot of it very amusing 1 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted May 8 Report Posted May 8 Et Tu Cavapoo - A Dog's Life in Rome by Mark Radcliffe Thought I would hate this and only took it out as I like Mark Radcliffe. Tells the story of his 12 week stay in Rome, back in 2024, with his Wife and Cockapoo 'Arlo'. I quite liked it, but what I did hate about it is all that review shyte over the cover of it, quoting people like Lauren Leverne and Sarah Cox, amongst others, telling us how great it is. Stephen May - We Don't Die of Love I took this one out, as the auther has the same name as a guy I went to school with! Was about a 58 year old bloke who's wife tells him one morning she is leaving him after 31 years of marriage, for a younger man. I actually quite liked it. A nice easy read On to Jamaica Inn now... Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted Thursday at 15:02 Report Posted Thursday at 15:02 On 08/05/2026 at 15:02, TheDonbytheDee said: Jamaica Inn A very good book. No real dips in the writing quality from beginning to end. Books like that are rarer than hens teeth. Going to the try the TV adaptation of it from a few years back. The one where people claimed you couldn't hear the actors speak. Quote
Goldie03 Posted Thursday at 15:25 Report Posted Thursday at 15:25 I'm reading Capitalist Must Starve - set in 1930s Japanese occupied Korea. Quote
swaddon Posted Thursday at 15:47 Report Posted Thursday at 15:47 I'm reading Alex "Hurricane" Higgins's autobiography. He doesn't hold much back, and is brutally honest about his failed marriages and relationships. I haven't yet got to the part where he tells Dennis Taylor that he is going to have him shot. Quote
BigAl Posted Thursday at 17:58 Report Posted Thursday at 17:58 Read that a couple of years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. He certainly enjoyed the company of the fairer sex Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted Sunday at 08:49 Report Posted Sunday at 08:49 Yesterday's haul was.. Daphnia du Maurier - Don't Look Now Guy McCrone - Antimacassar Elizabeth Bowen - The Death of the Heart. Julian Barnes - Departure(s) The supposed last ever book by Barnes, who I have always liked and took an age to get my shottie fae the Library. Only on a 14 day loan, due to demand for it. Quote
CurlsLikeTattie Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago Just finished the 4th of the Thursday Murder Club books - The Last Devil to Die. They're a bit twee but I find them very well written, good character development and an enjoyable read. I mostly read dystopian stuff, crime books and horror, so these offer a nice light-hearted break. I am now starting The Shining. I know King hated the film so am keen to see how it differs. Quote
CurlsLikeTattie Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago On 17/05/2026 at 09:49, TheDonbytheDee said: Only on a 14 day loan, due to demand for it. Are you 'anti' e-readers? Won't give up the feel of a real book. That's not intended as a criticism, just curious. I love my kindle, can go on holiday with hunners of books. Many libraries also offer e-book loans so their are no queues and return dates. I do like a real book, but couldn't be without my kindle (and I am largely nonplussed with tech) Quote
Don Julio Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago On 17/05/2026 at 09:49, TheDonbytheDee said: Yesterday's haul was.. Daphnia du Maurier - Don't Look Now Guy McCrone - Antimacassar Elizabeth Bowen - The Death of the Heart. Julian Barnes - Departure(s) The supposed last ever book by Barnes, who I have always liked and took an age to get my shottie fae the Library. Only on a 14 day loan, due to demand for it. Will be interested in what you make of the Barnes Quote
Mason89 Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 54 minutes ago, CurlsLikeTattie said: I am now starting The Shining. I know King hated the film so am keen to see how it differs. I know he’s been fairly successful at writing and sold a few books but I just can’t get into Stephen King at all. Tried a few Everyone always likes to say books are better than the film but with him it’s in reverse. Quote
CurlsLikeTattie Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago 17 minutes ago, Mason89 said: I know he’s been fairly successful at writing and sold a few books but I just can’t get into Stephen King at all. Tried a few Everyone always likes to say books are better than the film but with him it’s in reverse. He can be quite hit and miss. When he's good he's brilliant, when he's not he goes on and on and on. Read 11.22.63 recently and thought it was great. Everyone raves about The Stand. I thought it was overlong and dull as shit. 1 Quote