Dons vs Perth Saints - Sunday (Sky Sports)

This game may well hinge on who we have fit.  We desperately need width of some sort, even getting Jack back to fill in at RB.  Midfield needs a shake up (well Hughes dropped) and we can't start with Fallon and Vernon upfront.......

So expect 4 centre halfs, four central midfielders and Fallon and Vernon up top.

They have a good recent record up here but on current form have been shipping goals, whether our ineffectual attack can take advantage of this time will tell.

Anyhoo the usual stats run down:

10 Year Record vs St Johnstone at Pittodrie Stadium

Poor record but not many games. Saints are undefeated in the last four at Pittodrie with a draw and three wins, which is even more impressive given they have only won a total of 11 games at Pittodrie.

Played 6

Won 2

Drawn 1

Lost 3

For 6 Against 3

Last Dons Win 21st Jan 2009: 2-1

Last Saints Win 7th May 2011: 0-2

All Time Home Record vs St Johnstone

Played 69

Won 40

Drawn 18

Lost 11

For 134 Against 56

Biggest Home Win vs St Johnstone

03 Sep 1983 Aberdeen 5 - 0 St. Johnstone Premier Division 12,400

18 Feb 1967 Aberdeen 5 - 0 St. Johnstone Scottish Cup R2 22,800

Biggest Home Defeat vs St Johnstone

29 Aug 1999 Aberdeen 0 - 3 St. Johnstone SPL 9,600

Highest scoring home game vs St Johnstone

12 Sep 1964 Aberdeen 5 - 5 St. Johnstone Div 1 (Old) 5,000

Last 5 v Saints, home and away:

13 Dec 2011 St. Johnstone 1 - 2 Aberdeen SPL 1,607

23 Jul 2011 Aberdeen    0    -    0    St. Johnstone    SPL    10,001

07 May 2011 Aberdeen    0    -    2    St. Johnstone    SPL    6,361

02 Mar 2011 St. Johnstone    0    -    0    Aberdeen    SPL    2,909

20 Nov 2010 Aberdeen    0    -    1    St. Johnstone    SPL    7,841

Current Form (SPL)

Aberdeen: Won 2 Draw 4 Lost 0 For 4 Against 2

Saints: Won 3 Draw 0 Lost 3 For 12 Against 12

Aberdeen:

DRAW 0-0 Hibs (a)

WIN 1-0 Pars (h)

DRAW 1-1 Huns (a)

DRAW 0-0 Killie (h)

WIN 2-1 United (a)

DRAW 0-0 Jambos (h)

Saints:

LOSS 1-5 United (h)

LOSS 2-3 Well (a)

WIN 3-2 Hibs (a)

LOSS 1-2 Huns (h)

WIN 2-0 Killie (h)

WIN 3-0 Pars (a)

• Replies 54
  • Views 10k

Thought you auld guys were up at the crack of dawn.

Didn't know that was her name.

Been there, seen it, done it ;)

Glad I went to golf today. although didn't play that great, ity was still infinitely better than sitting through that by the sounds of it

Been there, seen it, done it ;)

Glad I went to golf today. although didn't play that great, ity was still infinitely better than sitting through that by the sounds of it

You know what they say Al, a bad days golf beats watching that pish.

Thought you auld guys were up at the crack of dawn. I just remember having lots of boring draws under Porterfield.

0645 on a Sunday? C'mon the only game that'll get me up that early will be a final! And even then I'll come back to Ecosse first!

BTW do we have a worse "attacking" player than Garry Hackett yet?

0645 on a Sunday? C'mon the only game that'll get me up that early will be a final! And even then I'll come back to Ecosse first!

BTW do we have a worse "attacking" player than Garry Hackett yet?

I'm up most Sunday mornings at 6:45am or earlier.

You're a part timer MBT :wave:

It's when you stay up to 3am to watch that pish, i have to start to wonder about my mental Health.

:P

It's when you stay up to 3am to watch that pish, i have to start to wonder about my mental Health.

I'm up most Sunday mornings at 6:45am or earlier.

You're a part timer MBT :wave:

staying up and getting up out of a nice warm wife-filled bed aint quite the same  ;)

Wonder no more mate!

staying up and getting up out of a nice warm wife-filled bed aint quite the same  ;)

But the prospect of getting into the same bed has less appeal or something?

Surely there are better things to use as a mattress.

Yer maw?

I felt embarassed that it was being beamed to pubs/homes across the nation to be honest.

altho I'll bet it was a fairly small sky audience.

the most simplest of basic skills were beyond most if not all of our players.

Rae didn't really add much at all, but will get the benefit of the doubt as he's back from injury and it's his first SPL game for quite some time.

Why Chalali wasn't on earlier I've no idea. If Mackie is playing out the last few games of his career but can get game time before Chalali then presumably the algerian won't be here next season either?

Fyvie was utterly abysmal. his game was summed up when his attempt at skill led him to kick the ball straight out for a throw in, then try and dive to get a free kick instead.

Does anyone know where to get pass completion stats for this match? I dread to think how low the %'s would be.

Uchechi looks lightweight, but at least he was trying to be positive when he did manage to get it under control.

I want to have ago at Brown for his negative tactics, but it's hard to pin it solely on the manager when you watch players repeatedly miss a 4 yard pass.

Maybes its because chalali is fucking garbage.

Any chance of us winning that game left when hughes went off.  ::)

Hughes was pish. He seemed to be obsessed with putting his teammates in awkward positions with his passes.

This.

Think you are getting hughes confused with jack  :thumbsup:

No I'm not.

Jack was shite as well as the rest of the team.

So they were all pish.  :(

Think Mcardle was ok, despite his obvious failings as a full back, vernon did the best he could and looks sharp at the minute, But apart from those two fail to see any improvement in this squad to the last three, if anything would say browns team last year would murder this one.

Nobody has mentioned him yet, but Reynolds is a bit of a bombscare (not on the Ifil scale though). Terrible passes to the opposition, out of position and was the same against QotS during last week.

Hmmm his passing was indeed dreadfull - however keeping mawene out of the team so any complaints about distrubution will remain muted  :thumbsup:

Aye i will give you Mcardle.

But thats it.

:(

Hmmm his passing was indeed dreadfull - however keeping mawene out of the team so any complaints about distrubution will remain muted  :thumbsup:

Good point  :thumbsup:

The passing front to back was embarrassing, Hughes was our best mid by some distance. Not altogether concerned about the centre backs but could definitely do wi bringing the ball out a bit better, fucking brutal but in keeping with the rest of the passing. 

I thought Jack had a decent game.  Certainly found more red jerseys and looked willing to take people on than Fyvie.  Whom I thought had a complete 'mare of a game.

Reynolds however, was shocking.  No idea who he is, where he came from or when we signed him.  Hopefully that's the first and last time I hear of him.  :-\

Distribution was in general was shocking and there were a real lack of ideas.  Everything seemed to go down the right side and more or less ended with Fyvie giving the ball away or passing backwards.

Thought the Nigerian lad looked like he had a decent touch.

Didn't think Reynolds was that bad, would far prefer he was out left and maybe move McArdle back inside.

Fyvie and most of the rest of the midfield were pretty fucking useless. Leaving aside a lack of inventiveness, they just looked short of being competent. Couldn't even hold possession, truly awful stuff.