Celtic v Aberdeen

Sorry @swaddon , I'm done with the Aberdeen/Rangers thread and need a new one to vent in.

I'm off Wednesday, actually swapped my shift to ensure I was off, but I'm now swithering over whether to shell out £37 on a restricted view ticket to watch us lump it long to Olusanya so he can fall over a lot. And I expect us to look solid enough and then get mugged in possession and concede some cheap goals, because that's standard.

I'd go 5-3-2, which seems defensive but we're a pretty slow team and it would allow our wing backs to push a bit further forward and help us break a bit quicker.

Armstrong, Smith and Aremu in the middle. Mouloua and Nisbet the front two.

A damning statistic. Our xg was 0.15 against Rangers. It's 0.71 across the three league games played so far. I'm no expert on xg but I'm pretty sure that's a sign of a team who don't look like scoring. Robinson saying he's disappointed by our lack of penetration, but he has signed a lack of creative players to offer a threat.

Fuck it, I probably will buy a ticket. Cos even though we probably have no chance, you just never know...

• Replies 94
  • Views 3.5k

Most Popular Posts

• ErchiePlum
    ErchiePlum

Other initiatives from Primary school which would benefit the Scottish game include all the players lined up before the game and the two captains get a turn each to select a player. Chances are Aberde

• You think I'll make it to kick-off? I might turn the car around when the line-up is announced.

• OxfordDon
    OxfordDon

Reckon if allow myself a dram for every shot we have on target, I'll still be legally fine to drive by the end of the match. edit: looks like you were only 4 minutes out BuS

Posted Images

7 minutes ago, Mason89 said:

We were saying the same while walking back to the car in the pissing rain. The faces change but the problem is always there.

Dont worry though, they’ll make it up to the fans next week!

Yep - queue the usual “we go again” quotes… 🙄🥱

Aye nae surprise, we get in rubbish every year, we can't afford decent players, we are heading for the championship, we need to bring young players through, they can't be worse than the teams of the past 5 years.

2 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

What a second half performance to get the draw. Those fans that left/switched off at half time owe the lads a big apology.

Delighted to hear we won the 2nd half 0-0, its gutsy fightbacks like that that give us hope of making the top six.

2 hours ago, manc_don said:

Switched off at half time. One of my boys was in tears because they keep conceding.

Do you mean you were in tears and one of your boys turned the telly off?

5 minutes ago, Panda said:

Do you mean you were in tears and one of your boys turned the telly off?

Saw right through the post 😂

I was bizarrely relaxed, I knew we were going to get pumped and it all seemed like a bit of a formality. An odd and strange feeling which I've not really had before. I've always had hope.

Tactically, 5-3-2 made sense. But in the first half we were so weak mentally. The way that we turned and passed back the way any time a Celtic player went near us was pathetic. Invited the pressure on and then gift wrapped the second and third.

Robinson said he told them to be braver in the second half, and for a spell we were. Zipped it around quite well, Smith was getting a run on them, we were getting Armstrong in possession in their half.

At least our next two games are Kilmarnock rather than the Old Firm back to back.

11 minutes ago, manc_don said:

Saw right through the post 😂

I was bizarrely relaxed, I knew we were going to get pumped and it all seemed like a bit of a formality. An odd and strange feeling which I've not really had before. I've always had hope.

Yeah, 3-0 just feels like a predictable and almost normalised score at Celtic Park. Had we scored the chance that hit the bar and lost 2-1, you may have actually saw that as something to take positives from.

We're just a very ordinary side.

The worry isn't losing 3-0 to Celtic. It's that Motherwell and Hearts are thumping Dundee United, and I don't see us being remotely good enough to go and do the same.

IMG_1220.jpeg

Celtic making the restricted view even worse by putting a net over the part you can see, and upping the price to £37, is really something.

Did they put that up at half time out of sympathy for the plight of the travelling support…?

Fair play to anyone that went to our most pointless fixture.

I can't even muster up a fuck about it, as we know the script.

Only surprise for me is that it was only three.

The optimists amongst us might just view that as progress 😂

I understand the game has changed a bit from the mid 80s but our primary school teacher would sub you off if you passed across the face of your own goal. She also knew how to set up properly for corner kicks

Every time we set up to defend one, I imagine how fucking raging she would be. My watch was pinging me relax reminders

At least it is over now
4 games 3 points ( including playing Hearts and those two) is pretty much what I expected ,the surprise being getting the 3 points against the tarts not Dundee.

Kllie game through to Falkirk game at end of October will give us a much better indication of where we are as a new team

2 hours ago, Mason89 said:

I understand the game has changed a bit from the mid 80s but our primary school teacher would sub you off if you passed across the face of your own goal. She also knew how to set up properly for corner kicks

Every time we set up to defend one, I imagine how fucking raging she would be. My watch was pinging me relax reminders

Other initiatives from Primary school which would benefit the Scottish game include all the players lined up before the game and the two captains get a turn each to select a player.
Chances are Aberdeen will still end up with a goalkeeper called "Tubbos" with NHS glasses !!!

Robinson afterwards is pathetic. Going on about 13 new signings and it will take time. Falkirk have made 16 new signings and gave both cheeks a better game than us. Even scored against them both albeit lost.

I've said elsewhere I don't think this team is capable of getting anything at Fir Park or Easter Road so Saturday is already crucial. We could be bottom of the league going into the international break. I have written this season off already and pray we can finish 10th. Top six is just a pipedream.

For what it's worth I do think we will win on Saturday.

On 03/09/2026 at 10:27, GASC1980 said:

Robinson afterwards is pathetic. Going on about 13 new signings and it will take time. Falkirk have made 16 new signings and gave both cheeks a better game than us. Even scored against them both albeit lost.

I've said elsewhere I don't think this team is capable of getting anything at Fir Park or Easter Road so Saturday is already crucial. We could be bottom of the league going into the international break. I have written this season off already and pray we can finish 10th. Top six is just a pipedream.

For what it's worth I do think we will win on Saturday.

It’s a fair and good point about Falkirk. Reality is they are a far better coached side than us. As are Motherwell and Dundee. Fortunately McCann et al look hopeless at that job as does Goodwin and his mob. We can only hope they don’t get binned too soon.

Edited by Ajja

Just in case anyone hasn’t noticed, we’re above Falkirk in the table and also still in the league cup, which they aren’t.

This isn’t a pro-Robinson message, it’s an anti-hysteria thing.

10 hours ago, wee toon red said:

Just in case anyone hasn’t noticed, we’re above Falkirk in the table and also still in the league cup, which they aren’t.

By a point with them having had similar fixtures and having given both sides of the are cheeks a much harder game than we did.

11 hours ago, wee toon red said:

That sounds like something a St Mirren fan would say.

The St Mirrenism of Aberdeen is almost complete.