OrlandoDon Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago I will say this, Robinson seems well happy to join us. a step up to a top Scottish club despite the current situation. As he says, two phases, firstly stability this year and ‘survive,’ then summer and beyond. He’s certainly motivated to do well and knows exactly what he’s in for. I also like that he’s got obvious passion/fire, always felt Thelin was too nice and passive. I feel a coach needs that side to him, obviously has to be used smartly too. Quote
tlg1903 Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago 58 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: I will say this, Robinson seems well happy to join us. a step up to a top Scottish club despite the current situation. As he says, two phases, firstly stability this year and ‘survive,’ then summer and beyond. He’s certainly motivated to do well and knows exactly what he’s in for. I also like that he’s got obvious passion/fire, always felt Thelin was too nice and passive. I feel a coach needs that side to him, obviously has to be used smartly too. I do wonder if Emir Bajrami was the one who lit the fire under players arses in the Thelin regime. Robinson has spoken really well so far but he's been good with a mic under his nose every time I've ever heard him. It is nice to have a manager I actually want to listen to again though. Leven clearly hates doing press, Thelin was ok to a point but still pretty bland, Goodwin was solid enough, Glass a bit meh. McInness was excellent though and I would put Robinson in that category. All that said you can't fake enthusiasm and he's clearly delighted to be here which I must admit does lift the spirits a bit. Overall I'm defo feeling a bit better than I did yesterday morning when the news dropped though still remain sceptical this is going to be the right choice long term. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago If it was horneland or another foreigner, Aberdeen is just another random job. And questions would be asked, comments made etc. Robinson knows the club, the size of the club, and truly feels this is a step up, a one he deserves. He rightly says we are a big club with history, and means it. I think we’ve got a very motivated guy, eager to have us punch above our weight too. 1 Quote
tlg1903 Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago Just finished watching the press conference. He was asked about Leven right at the end and said that would be looked at and addressed in the next 12 hours. My feeling is probably gone going by his body language. Also mentioned he knew Lutz well which, disappointingly no-one asked him to elaborate on. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 24 minutes ago, tlg1903 said: Just finished watching the press conference. He was asked about Leven right at the end and said that would be looked at and addressed in the next 12 hours. My feeling is probably gone going by his body language. Also mentioned he knew Lutz well which, disappointingly no-one asked him to elaborate on. Is there any substance to the chatter about lutz leaving, fired etc? Or is it just more made up shit to create drama? After dunfermline, for all we know Dave and Lutz met and both agreed, fuck this, we need someone now, an agreed Robinson could be got now. If Robinson knows lutz, bonus. Such a horrible two month, too much drama, some created by the fans and our uneasiness. Glad it’s over. Quote
Ernie Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 7 hours ago, Bukta Bertie said: What's with the stupid tight fit tracksuits these days. They look bloody awful and can't be very comfortable. That being said the trackies were tight in my day too. Even had little foot stirrups. Like the way he's looking like the cat that's got the cream though. He knows he's won the lottery getting this gig let's hope he doesn't smash his golden egg. Aye, much better if he'd come out with a fizzog like a bulldog chewin' a wasp Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago Do we know any more about staff? Robinson, is Kerr asst or first team coach? Anyone else coming with him? leven, doc, the new first team coach?? Quote
blinlemon Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago 17 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: Do we know any more about staff? Robinson, is Kerr asst or first team coach? Anyone else coming with him? leven, doc, the new first team coach?? He confirmed in Mal’s Red TV interview that Kerr’s his assistant. I found the interview quite inspiring as he sounds like he’ll accept nae shite, and seems to have a good insight to the game as she is played on this fucking rainy, windy rock. I’m unlikely now to see many/any games before the end of the season, unfortunately, but I’ll be keeping tabs on him. Quote
Panda Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago 1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said: Is there any substance to the chatter about lutz leaving, fired etc? Lutz was quoted in the club's statement so he's not left, and Robinson's title is head coach rather than manager, which again suggests there'll be a sporting director above him. Leven/Doc away I believe. Just watched the RedTV piece on his first day. Appears Robinson got all the staff together - the non football side - to introduce himself and give a speech. Comes across a quite impressive and very likeable. Fuck it, I've never loved an Aberdeen manager as much as Robbo. We're gonna win everything, then win it all again. Quote
STFU_Donny Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago Fuck it. Welcome aboard the good ship AFC, Stephen. I have my reservations about this appointment but I’ll be there on Saturday to back the team and new manager. He’s got his work cut out for him though, to get a tune out of some of these work-shy bastards. Good luck with that! Quote
wee toon red Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago Fair play to Robinson for his comments about managers not deciding a system, the players available dictate that. Far, far better way of thinking than attempting to shoehorn a squad into a way of playing that they aren’t suited to. Of course our bunch might be so hopeless that they aren’t suited to much but that won’t be the head coach’s fault… Quote