Tuesday 6th January 2026, kick-off 8pm

Scottish Premiership - Rangers v Aberdeen

Arnchair/Keyboard Managers' enlighten with their 'highly informed' pish

Posted (edited)

Correct me if Ah'm wrang, delete if ye like, but this forum needs this thread.... but let's hae a fun even if results are nae funny ... ye nivver know, we might be on the Boss' 'clutchin' straas' resource radar,  ...  an' maybe one or two o' us will be a straa worth clutchin' :D 

Contributing constructively to this thread will involve adherence to a format ... for the benefit of readers and follow up posters ... so ... rules/guidelines coming up (even though I'd bet my mortgage and' both kidneys on the odds of dissolution/dismemberment :D ) 

Rules/Guidelines! 

As per my fave ever quote fae the 'thumb- twiddlin' old Abmad site ... "Ye can only pish wi' the cock ye hiv!' (apologies tae oor female members, but ye get the jist ;) ) .. So only current Aberdeen FC first team players can be included ... even in yer 'awa wi' the fairies' 'advice'.

Let's face it, we know from what we see - as the product of what is known and seen by those with a closer look and better information. So ... could ony o' us radges dae ony better?? (That might be classed as a rhetorical question :D )

So ... Formation ... ( whether idealised in terms of tactics or available personnel ... we do that later) 

.. Usin the numbers might add clarity, so when ye post ... err .. well, please yer fkn sels :D 

1. Default formation.  ... in numbers format ignoring the keeper eg: 4:4:3, 5:3:2, 4:1:4:1 etc

2. Under pressure .... as above

3. On the hunt. ... as above.

.... Describe/explain your '1-2-3' and tactical approach. Adaptations ... v St.Mirren? v Hun? v Unknown? 

4. Flesh it out .... Give your 'default'/best 11 .... annotate if you can be arsed, with 'GK' (yeah, Ah know), LCB, MCB, RCB, LWB, RWB, CDM, ALM, ARM, LF, CF, RF .... or shock horror! LW, RW!! ... or any other less obvious abb. ( or, set yer team out in some visual format.) 

Expand re. how this mob will match your above tactical approach if necessary :D 

5. HT subs, 1-0 up (generic)

6. HT subs 1-0 down (generic)

7.  Losing - but chasing/winning - but sweating ... changes? 

8.(remember, this is fun! ;) ) .... your default one paragraph/sentence victory speech.

9. (remember, this is fun! ;) ) .... your default one paragraph/sentence defeat speech.

10. Further default comments .. crowd, ref, opposition, fellow posters, weather, price of fish compared tae a barrel o' oil, etc ... 

(Ah'll dae one ... would hae done by noo but Ah'm affa sleepy noo haein spellchecked the above :D )

Note/Warning .... long winded posts may be discouraging to readers :D :D :D :D :D .... but wtf? :D 

Edited by Radiored

OK ... sleepy or nae, Ah'll press on ... never ask, or set up somethin' for ithers ye canna dae yersel .. aye? ;) 

1. 4-1-3-1 .... 

2. 5-2-1-1.

3. 2-2-4-2

The 4 man defence with wing backs ... one mobile holding defence mid. the forward mid consists of two wide forwards and a central 'No.10'
Under pressure, the Def Mid drops to central mid allowing each side's CM and WB to close down opposition wingers. wide forwards and '10' track back to challenge play from 18 yard to centre. CF stays forward 'in space' to gamble on out ball. 

On the hunt ... DM moves forward supporting play between CBs and WBs .. combining with AMs as a 4 ... supporting the now advanced '10' and striker. On losing posession .. DM tracks back as Mids and WBs chase/challenge/break up until WBs can reposition, and a back 5 is re-established. 

4. Flesh it out ...... (fuck ... here we go ) .... 
Mitov
Devlin, Milne, Knoester, Gyamfi/Jensen
Shinnie
Aouchiche, Armstrong, Keskinen
Lazetic.

Boring? too safe? .... OK ... I have Shinnie as def mid because he is 'switched on' every second ... even when playing wide, he appears in the mid defence when necessary, and manages to be part of the defence under pressure - whatever his positional role ... so yeah ... DM cum MCB.... and a good guy to be carrying ball on the offence (who can also pass!).

Milne/Knoester is a stick on .... I really like Dorrington, but he's not 'ours' ..good cover meanwhile. Wing backs ... Whilst excited by Lobban, RWB has to e Devlin ... until Lobban becomes a better defensive player in addition to his still developing, yet promising abilty to keep ball down the wing.
Gyamfi/Jesen ... hmmm ... I think Gyamfi is gonna be something special ... prob soon! ... Jensen on the other hand has shown his hand - but! Jensen on the left is a different prospect from J on the right ... combining with the LAM or the forward driving Knoester, there's potential there ... he maybe just needs to get his bearings ;) 

The mid is a bit of a fkn lottery as things stand, but let's concentrate on the strike force. ... And lets keep it simple. Lazetic is a better footballer than Nisbet. Playing an 'out and out striker' (Nisbet/Lazetic) as a No.10 is like dressing up Kylie Minogue up as a fkn men's team International Rugger player an' havin her name first on the team sheet! 

So ... my No.10 is Armstrong ... linked in the centre with Shinnie behind, Lazetic ahead ... 

Wide .. Aouchiche. It's a gamble, but he can retain possession, win balls occasionally, stroke a decent pass, shoot on target as well as any other red, and knows to track back when the 'transition' 'transpires' ;) 

Keskinen ... pfff ... why? .... well ... errr ... he plays better on the left. Is he left footed? I dunno, but he appears to be. He gets confused on the right as soon as the 18 yard box looms ... cuts inside ... and ... ... ... 
... whilst, on the left, he is well cabaple - and keen - to take on the wide defender, hit the bye line and toss a (shit) ball across the box ... luck needs a wee helping hand sometimes .. y'ken? 

So there ye go .... next ... 

HT subs are more about tactical changes than performances, so ... up 1-0? ... Give Lobban 45 mins ... if only to rest Devlin. Give Polvara a shot at No. 10 in place of Armstrong ... can be changed later if not working.

6. HT subs 1-0 down (generic) ... pff! so many variables ... but, 'generic' is the default! ... OK ...

I change 'default shape' ... My default now has to be even more flexible.

I move Shinnie to the LWB in place of Jensen/Gyamfi.
Polvara and Armstrong become a 2 man def mid .... with Armstrong more forward of the two. Aouchiche goes to 'No.10' position, Bilalovic plays wide right forward.

pff ... if half time subs have not affected the choice bucket?? ... Errm .. and also, with reference to my choice XI ... 

If Jensen started, Gyamfi needs to go on..... otherwise, Shinnie goes LWB. So ... two more. if we're losing, and it's more than defensive shitshow ... so ... keski off, Karlsson on., Armstrong centre def mid  ... alongside Polvara.

Seems defensive, but with good passers in def mid ... well ... ken? 

Later subs ...  for sake of 'legs' ... anybody younger than 26 for Shinnie and Devlin. 

8.(remember, this is fun! ;) ) .... your default one paragraph/sentence victory speech.

It was a real end to end battle early on, with both sides hitting hard on the break, but we were resolute in defence, and our middle men were masters in feeding balls wide where we created the opportunities to punish them, whilst taking only a fraction of the opportunities available. 5-0 flatters the opposition .... as for our own issues? wastefulness six yards from goal needs to be urgently addressed. 

9. (remember, this is fun! ;) ) .... your default one paragraph/sentence defeat speech.

It's all about results at the end of the day. Performance wise, I cannot fault a single player who took the field in our shirt today, but, if it's results which either feed you or fuck you, the most influential man on the field wore neither the home strip or the away. Take from that as you may.

10. Further default comments .. crowd, ref, opposition, fellow posters, weather, price of fish compared tae a barrel o' oil, etc ... 
Fuck it ... Win/Lose/Draw .... Red til Dead ... on telly or terrace ... love, hate, ignore me .... my hert soul an' very being was sold tae King Joey Harper afore Ah left primary school an' have taken their chances ever since :D 

If it helps, here are the 10 questions in bold .... don't forget to consult the OP for guidance ;)

1. Default formation

2. Under pressure 

3. On the hunt. 

4. Flesh it out .

6. HT subs 1-0 down (generic)

8.(remember, this is fun! ;) ) .... your default one paragraph/sentence victory speech.

9. (remember, this is fun! ;) ) .... your default one paragraph/sentence defeat speech.

Fuck! .... Ah'm generally good wi numbers ... but ... haha :D ... Ah see Ah've set up a ten man team :D ... maybe subliminal contingencies are afoot :D .... or it might jist be the home brew :D  ... nevertheless ... it's all yours, carry on ;) 

⚽

Best Overall Formation: 3-4-1-2 / 3-5-2 Hybrid

Why this suits Aberdeen right now

• Thelin has been shifting away from a flat 4-2-3-1 (which he defended but struggled with consistency) toward a back three system to better use available centre-backs and wingbacks.
  • A 3-4-1-2 gives defensive solidity against strong Premiership sides and allows creative players support in attack.
  • The variation toward 3-5-2 in phases (especially in possession) helps overload the midfield and gives two natural strikers to combine.

Player Roles & Tactical Instructions

🔐

Defense

• Three centre-backs (CBs): Use physical defenders like Mats Knoester and Jack Milne centrally, with a ball-playing third if available to step into midfield.
  • Wingbacks (RWB/LWB): These become key attacking outlets. They must bomb forward to provide width and crosses into the box. Devlin (if used here) and a natural left wingback must be disciplined to recover defensively.

Key Focus: Maintain a tight 3-line defending block when out of possession; compact vertically to limit spaces between defense and midfield.

Midfield Core

• Dual central midfielders (CM): One deeper (ball-winner/holder) and one more advanced (inkeeper/distributor). This gives stability and progression through central areas.
  • The slightly advanced Attacking Midfielder (AM): Acts as the link between midfield and forwards, pressing high and creating chances in the final third. This role is crucial to breaking down parked defenses.

Instructions:

• CM1: Protect back three and recycle possession.
  • CM2: Support AM with forward passes and movement into channels.
  • AM: Interchange with strikers, find pockets in half-spaces.

Attack

• Front two (ST/ST): Combine a strong target man with a mobile second striker:
    • A hold-up runner to bring others in.
    • A mobile partner to exploit space or press defenders high.
  •  

This gives more direct threat than a lone striker in 4-2-3-1 and creates better link-up play in the final third.

🔄

Game-State Adjustments

📈

When Leading / In Control

• Push wingbacks high, turning into 3-4-3 in possession.
  • Have AM drift wide to overload flanks.
  • Let deeper CM sit for recycling possession and prevent counterattacks.

📉

When Under Pressure

• Drop back wingbacks toward a back-five shape defensively.
  • CM1 becomes purely defensive-minded.
  • Reduce space between lines to defend compactly.

This mirrors approaches seen in pivotal matches like the Cup Final where defensive compactness was key.

Key Tactical Principles

✅ Compact Defensive Unit

3 at the back + two midfield CMs form narrow, layered defensive blocks to minimize gaps.

✅ Fluid Attacking Transitions

The AM and dual strikers rotate to create opportunities, relying on wingbacks to stretch defense.

✅ Wide Threat from Wingbacks

Since wide midfielders/wingers may be inconsistent in output, using genuine wingbacks adds reliable width.

📊

Why Not 4-2-3-1 Anymore?

• 4-2-3-1 leaves the full-backs isolated and overexposed vs. top Scottish Premiership teams with strong wide attackers.
  • Aberdeen’s squad currently has more centre defenders and multifunctional midfielders than natural wide attackers, making 3-centre-backs + wingbacks a stronger structural base.