Things you dinna see now

Getting nostalgic for my youth......

White Dog Shit..... has got to be #1

Tv repair mannie .... Used to be round every other month with the back off the TV.

Coal Mannie...... flat bed lorry driven by black faced men, they would carry the sacks of coal on their backs to your bunker.

Mobile Bakers.....Mitchel and Muil , Strathdee, Aitkens........ Aye a Strawberry Tart for me.

Insurance Mannie.....Used to come to the house and my Mother would hand over cash, never understood this one as a kid.

Encyclopedia sales mannies. - Nae need once you've got either access to the interweb or a wife and teenage kids.

Locks on the hoose phone - was a common sight in the 70's & 80's. Neighbour would ask to use ours and leave 10p or 20p next to the phone afterwards for payment.

Ariels on top of your telly - what a job it was to get that bastard thing in the right position and stay there

Ford Capris - always wanted one, never going to have one now.

School milk....used to boak being forced to drink it apparently I stopped drinking milk aged 2, ma says i would hurl the bottle. Still can't stand the taste of milk to this day.

Rag and bone mannie. Young eens if you don't know what this is watch out for Steptoe and Son films appearing on late night ITV 2/3/4 usually on a couple of times a year, always at Xmas.

Rock stars choking on their own vomit. ( Has anyone ever choked on somebody elses vomit ffs).

Red telephone boxes

Red telephone boxes on fire at night cos someone had stuffed 6 matches into the light so they ignited when the heat from the bulb caused a chain reaction. I definately never ever saw this being done mind.

Porno mags in bushes

BT Phone cards. Always remember having them when i was a kid. Mum said i needed them in case i got kidnapped or something, but i'm like "aye mum, the kidnappers are gonna let me phone home eh".

Wee cans of drink... mind the little half can thins you used to get?

£1 notes...

Esso football coins. They were the tits!

I'm going to add 'Youth Cultures'.

When i first went to the academy ('83) there were still punks on the go, there was bikers and casuals, then came ravers and indie rockers, all easily identifiable by their clothing style.

Obviously there were different youth cultures through the previous decades as well but these days what have you got?! They all seem to be stuck in their houses on their phones sending shit pics of themselves, leaving only to go to the gym for half an hour so they can take pics of themselves somewhere different.

They all seem to be a bunch of fannies these days.

Decent adverts that you have fond memories of.

Good quality and funny TV shows... Only Fools and Horses, Steptoe and Son etc

On the subject of TV shows, ones that contained taboo subjects and no one gave a shit or got easily offended.

Decent music... well that might be an age and taste thing, but modern day mainstream music to me is gash!

Epic movies... everything churned out these days are either remakes or are full of smut in the hope to draw cheap laughs. You dont see movies like Godfella's, Usual Suspects, Schindlers list etc these days.

You still have a coal mannie?  :o You will be telling me your dog diz white shites next  :laughing:

Aye they come up from Gourdon or somewhere. The advantages of living in the sticks and yet less than 5 minutes drive to the city.

Fit wiz white shite a aboot? You're totally correct, there used to be white dog shit but you never see it now? Is that cos everyone picks it up these days and it needed a few days exposure to the elements to turn white? It surely never came oot their arse that colour? Or maybe the elements changed and the atmosphere and air pollution and acid rain or fitever the fuck these days doesn't turn shite white? It's a strange een richt enuf.

Aye they come up from Gourdon or somewhere. The advantages of living in the sticks and yet less than 5 minutes drive to the city.

Fit wiz white shite a aboot? You're totally correct, there used to be white dog shit but you never see it now? Is that cos everyone picks it up these days and it needed a few days exposure to the elements to turn white? It surely never came oot their arse that colour? Or maybe the elements changed and the atmosphere and air pollution and acid rain or fitever the fuck these days doesn't turn shite white? It's a strange een richt enuf.

I'm no shiteologist but i was led to believe it was to do with the amounts of calcium in their diets, dogs back in the day ate bones a the time, now they get chew on pretend bones that look like they are made of plastic.

Ahh makes sense. Never thought of that.

Don't put yourself down. You're the best shiteologist I've ever come across. Thanks for the education.

Thats exactly what it was. There was a lot more bone in general in a dogs diet back then.

Different make cars that actually look different to one and other. Everything looks the same these days. Fords and Jags, every single hatchback, Audi and VW and Skoda, Fiats and Chrysers.

All identical bar a wee trim here or a slight modification there.

Gone are the days Jaguars look like Jags with Del boy like oldies getting out of them, Golfs had sexy ladies in fur coats coming out of them and Capris had slightly rougher ladies all coat and nae knickers cuming in them.

Tic Mannie's coming to your door then you start playing hide n seek in yer  own hoos in case he sees ye mas in .

TV rental Mannie's coming to your door to collect the viewing money from the coin boxat the back of your telly to pay for the rental of the one and only coloured TV in Northfield we had feek all but we had the TV.

The rag and bone Mannie I used to tak my days clothes oot the cupboard so I could do a trade for a few balloons..

Sorry da.

Tattie pickers .

Stunning lassies on the tennents lager time.

Trawlers crammed in side by side doon at the docks.

Frost on the single glazed windas..

Jumping on the back of the busses .

Starting up cars with a cranking handle .

Radio grammes .

Ceefax machines..

Typewriters.

Honest tradesmen

Icecream vans

Outside toilets .

Ha'penny bits. Shillings ..threepenny bits. Half a croon .. TWA shillings ..TWA Bob..tanners and a ten Bob note.

Green shield stumps .

Texaco football coins.

Gas lights.

We used to get the frozen foods guy come around, think my mum would order certain stuff from a catalog and he'd deliver to your door.  I remember thinking it was full of hidden treasure as a kid. But no, just birds eye peas :(

Cheap black football boots - they are all horrifically coloured or you have to pay through the nose for the Adidas ones  :hammer:

Proper sized Magnums (ice creams)

Milk bottles on door steps.

Why has the milk mannies disappeared? Folk still use milk so what's happened there?

I used to deliver milk, loved it, jumping off the back of the truck believing it was doing about 30mph but in actual fact if it went any slower it would probably stall.... Great days and what seemed like good money as well. Enough to pay your train fare (if you got caught) and pay your way in to various fitba grounds around the country anyway.  :thumbsup:

Nevicas  1opouh.jpg

Paperboys doing their rounds themselves without mum or dad helping them with the heavy bag.

Good practical jokes in the local shops (the fake 50p that you stuck to the ground and watch old biddies try to pick it up  :laughing:)

18 a-side fitba in the local playpark till it got dark or 30+ kids fae alround town playing a mass game of hide'n'seek

Meter Mannies - Gas, Electric and TV. I ey got a 50p pence when the meter was emptied, must have been the easiest job in the world for topping up your income.

Mobile Grocers - MacKenzies van used to do the rounds in Torry, miserable auld bastard that he was.

The copie baker van, cream buns never tasted so good. The Strathdees van for its Coconut buns.

Oor auld milk mannie was Ryan Essons da.

Green Finals

Chimney Sweeps - I ken folk on here stil get coal, so must still exist, but my ma liked her lum cleared out once a year.

Meter Mannies - Gas, Electric and TV. I ey got a 50p pence when the meter was emptied, must have been the easiest job in the world for topping up your income.

Mobile Grocers - MacKenzies van used to do the rounds in Torry, miserable auld bastard that he was.

The copie baker van, cream buns never tasted so good. The Strathdees van for its Coconut buns.

Oor auld milk mannie was Ryan Essons da.

Green Finals

Chimney Sweeps - I ken folk on here stil get coal, so must still exist, but my ma liked her lum cleared out once a year.

Stick yer ma's photie on here and Buc might be cleaning oot her lum by the weekend  :rofl: