It's Time

phoenix

Apart from the fact that it is already past my time tae get up , I like to idle away the time considering the nature of the beast. We've always done this , at least since ancient Greece and  , it may even be a beneficial exercise in keeping us fit and well.

Porridge !

So...ah'm throwin'  it oot here tae get as mony opinions as possible to benefit my comprehension of what it is , where it all began and where the fuck it's going.

I'll start by c&peeing the official definition of time  , which seems to be the measurement of a standard time interval , the basic unit of which is  currently - the second(which can be a very long time indeed , depending on the frame of reference ).

'Currently, the standard time interval (called "conventional second", or simply "second") is defined as 9,192,631,770 oscillations of a hyperfine transition in the 133 caesium atom(ISO 31-1)'.

This in itself , I need tae get ma heid 'roon , far's rs fan ye need him ?   

For a loon with a sair erse, you've nae problem spikkin oot o' it!  ;D

Time, it's no friend of mine.  We're either too early or too late.  We're either short on it or have too much of it.  Folk that are punctual get upset by others that are lacksadaisical.  If you're running late you're stressed, you're panicking, you're scrambling around cursing yourself wishing you had more time then you arrive where you're supposed to be 10 minutes ago, and you're sweating heavily and out of breath.

Pffffffffffffft.  Whatever it was can probably wait.  Was it really worth the hassle?

Turn up to the same thing half an hour early and you'll be sitting about like a plum, with a finger up your arse, killing time.  Wasting it if you ask me.

Personally I use time as a rough guide, like a pointer, of where to be and when.  If I miss the bus, there'll be another one.  If my supper is cold, I'll reheat it.  If the game has already started, there'll be another 88 minutes of it.

Much to the chagrin of my punctual bretheren.

But I'll live longer as a result.

I'll be late for my own funeral.

Which is fine by me.  ;)

I can hardly imagine that 99%+ of people would give a second thought to considerations of the definitions let alone the nature of time. The possible reasons why they wouldn't is twofold. Or a duality of twofolds. Since that made zero sense whatsoever to anyone other than me, let me share.

Imagine four large letters standing together, like in a poster or a PowerPoint slide in my case last month. I and A on the top row, A and I on the second row so you have an arrangement of a square of four letters, two A's and two I's.

The reason why most people aren't even looking at a subject is simple. They're either naturally interested or apathetic. INTEREST or APATHY. Secondly, aspects of themselves which determine their curiosity is their ATTITUDE and their INTELLECT. This Binary Thinking is great, isn't it? Attitude is the will to learn. Intellect is the capacity to learn.

The following slide I put up had F oblique G & H. Fixed or Growth mindsets (ref: Carol Dweck, Stanford) will determine interest whereas the intelligent student always has Humility in his or her approach to learning.

On the subject of time-definition, when we start to fragment the unit known as a second into nine point something billion particles, I don't give a fuck.

Big reply just disappeared as I was about to post and ah'm nae rewriting it !  :hammer:

Unlike rs...I marvel at the time intervals used to describe events at the quantum level , even although unimaginable , like this( bearing in mind that the speed of light =299,792,458 m / s ):

1 attosecond: the time it takes for light to travel the length of three hydrogen atoms

:laughing:

Makes me laugh for reasons unknown ! 

Don't listen to that garlogie girner, pheen! I wisna slagging ye... as you kent fine.

It goes to show the individuality of individuals and the individuality of our minds, the way we think, what we think.

Whilst I personally care nothing for the composition of a nanosecond even, nor does the speed of light and the inter-relationships between certain "fixed variables" amaze me (it taks an imagination to get that een), the concept of time itself is a fundamental staple of our existence and not just for the obvious reasons.

I actually care less than nothing for posters who contribute nothing, spouting only negativity and offering nothing of interest and therefore my neutral interest i.e. not giving a fuck about the fitever is significantly less offensive to me than fixed mindset fuckheads, of which the human population is majority populous, unfortunately.

Time is different for different scenarios. The eternity of being contrasts with the finite existence of the body but the fool considers the whole by limiting himself to only what he can reference. The circularity of "life", of consciousness is immortally celebrated in Billy Shakespeare's "All the World's a Stage" whereas Buddhism recognises this truth within its core. This is different entirely to T S Eliot's lines in Little Gidding, Four Quartets:

We shall not cease from exploration

And the end of all our exploring

Will be to arrive where we started

And know the place for the first time

Time is a wonderful staple but it's what within it that interests us that is interesting... to us.

I'm not a believer that string theory will ever come to be accepted, wonderful a concept as it undoubtedly is. Nor do I think that man will ever time-travel, forward or back but having the humility to know - or to think we know as it's not an absolute but continuously organic - our own limitations as a species is nae a bad starting point, particularly when one does not sacrifice the ultimate no-limits growth mindset thinking in recognising all possibilities.

Opinions. Facts. One changes more frequently than the other but neither are fixed. Time certainly isn't fixed either but our knowledge of it is very much in its infancy and possibly forever unknowable, the "possibly" being key.

I didnae , rs...and String Theory is still only a theory , I think.

I just finished reading a view expressed by Paul Davis in which he reckons there was not an exact moment when Time began.....more that it evolved out of Space , close to the era of the Big Bang. We may never know.....but it's good fun trying.

Good fun for sure but within reason. I can't see that CERN is worth the money because the fundamental philosophy on which they seek to experiment is such a mindwank and so ridiculously tenuous by any truly robust and free imagination that the money would have been better spent feeding the poor. Or educating and feeding them.

I am fully aware of the contradictory possibilities within my opinion on this but to me it is fully reconciled. Hawking has a lot to answer for!

I ken , the cost is formidable but more justified than Trident , imho....I read the cost recently but forget already - £18B.

And just completed an expensive upgrade too. Keeps abuddy busy...like the new Don crossing - construction companies need to keep on constructing. What else are we to do?

Whoa. Trident is a whole different ballpark, not even the same planet.

In fact, the goals of war-mongering and scientific understanding are complete opposites.

Forget the public funds being fraudulently diverted by government(s) policy.

This is about justified spending. The end justifying the means.

You can't justify fraud by sharing out the crumbs amongst a handful of employees.

What about the millions who starve and live with no hope?

Your blindness is as culpable and neglectful to their plight as is the wilful fraud and deceit.

Wake the fuck up.

Whoa. Trident is a whole different ballpark, not even the same planet.

In fact, the goals of war-mongering and scientific understanding are complete opposites.

Forget the public funds being fraudulently diverted by government(s) policy.

This is about justified spending. The end justifying the means.

You can't justify fraud by sharing out the crumbs amongst a handful of employees.

What about the millions who starve and live with no hope?

Your blindness is as culpable and neglectful to their plight as is the wilful fraud and deceit.

Wake the fuck up.

That wisnae a nice response.

Anyway, the goals of war-mongering and scientific understanding are complete opposites, but the funding of Trident is far more likely to be diverted from food provision than those allocated to CERN.

Additionally, scientific understanding is exactly the way we should be spending our money. These human goals are precisely what we need to actually progress as a race. Food provision is merely a supply chain issue. We have the technology already to feed the entire planet (and more) we simply choose not to. Indeed, capitalism cannot solve the problem of food shortages as it's built in requirement of profit (and perpetual growth) ensures that someone will always not be able to afford to feed themselves.

By suggesting we divert funds to feed the poor, you're effectively providing the QE of food provision. You're capitalism's bailout, socialising the risks of profit at all costs.

Probably.

That wisnae a nice response.

Anyway, the goals of war-mongering and scientific understanding are complete opposites, but the funding of Trident is far more likely to be diverted from food provision than those allocated to CERN.

Additionally, scientific understanding is exactly the way we should be spending our money. These human goals are precisely what we need to actually progress as a race. Food provision is merely a supply chain issue. We have the technology already to feed the entire planet (and more) we simply choose not to. Indeed, capitalism cannot solve the problem of food shortages as it's built in requirement of profit (and perpetual growth) ensures that someone will always not be able to afford to feed themselves.

By suggesting we divert funds to feed the poor, you're effectively providing the QE of food provision. You're capitalism's bailout, socialising the risks of profit at all costs.

Probably.

No it wasn't but it was an honest response to what I considered to be a throughly stupid sentiment.

We agree that Trident and CERN are thoroughly different expenditures. You are right that the commitment to war (2% GDP NATO directive) is less likely to be diverted towards the basics and I agree that we should most definitely be investing in scientific understanding. I also understand that we already have the capacity to feed the world and that we choose not to, indeed the regimes in third world countries are notorious for spending western aid money on new Mercedes for themselves.

People have been anaesthetised by the billions the politicians talk about. A billion = 1,000 million = one million x 1,000 pounds of course. How many millions of people could be kept from poverty and from dying unnecessarily from just a fraction of the waste and the mis-spending of public funds? Forget other countries for a minute. Look at the UK alone. Consider the social deprivation and council neglect leading to hundreds of thousands of kids growing up into useless adults, unable to contribute to society, a drain to the welfare state and costing us heaps in crime, in healthcare etc.

It's the waste, the corruption and the total absence of prioritising the "human goals" (as you call them) I'm talking about.

Just because a few employees get a job at average wage doesn't justify a spend if that spend is unjustifiable. On war-mongering alone, how many BILLIONS of public funds have been diverted over the decades into the hands of private individuals, whether security companies, arms and equipment providers etc. And at what cost? Why are the munitions and security personnel companies providers allowed to charge the government much more than they normally would. Why is the amount of money being given to these associated companies way more than is reasonably necessary?

That's not even considering the oil and natural resources thefts going down that breeds hatred towards the hypocritical west, the US in particular and it's drive for world hegemony being understood by almost everyone else in the world.

Let's not even go there in relation to banks and the institutions that steal openly from the sheeple, ably supported by the political classes and the associated press, our whole "way of life", the famous "our values" that Obama and Cameron spout.

Even in the NHS, the waste means that we employ way too many no-productives and agency personnel (someone's getting rich from over-charging) and they are being charged two and three times for simple services, whether data, stationary, IT, even a lock on a door. The tendering process is a joke. It was ever thus.

Transparency we are supposed to have. Obfuscation is what we get. Milne builds in places that the people don't want him to build in. He invested in people and relationships to get his way, allegedly.

Politicians get bought. Councillors get bought and the whole time, public money gets stolen, nobody gives a fuck about his fellow man and we feel powerless to do anything about it.

Wis that me he wis tellin' tae wake up?  :laughing:

Couldnae mak heid nor tail o' it onywye but ah'm near sure it maks sense tae r_s.

If a person fails to understand another person then there are only two possible reasons.

The receiver or the deliverer. An inability to comprehend or an inability to express.

Binary thinking again.

The person not understanding has an attitude problem or an intellect issue.

The person failing to express properly has communication problems or is delivering messages that are not understandable. He is mad possibly.

Interesting how you fail to understand and immediately think it's not you. It must be not you, eh?

Then again, I have form for the lastly-expressed possibility :)

Misunderstandings are rife and there are more than merely two possibilities in my Universe.

But we progress , occasionally , from misunderstanding to understanding , from dark to light.

Cannot make up my mind whether 21st century man/woman is less capable at interpretation and comprehension due to the fixation with materialism and retail therapy.

But it widnae surprise mi !

Surely if two people fail to understand each other then the possibilities are only two, or a combination of both?

Then you go into the reasons why to find many other possibilities but there are only two possibilities when one communicates to another and the other failed to comprehend.

This is basic. As Steve Jobs said;

That's been one of my mantras - focus and simplicity. Simple can be harder than complex: You have to work hard to get your thinking clean to make it simple. But it's worth it in the end because once you get there, you can move mountains.

Well...I guess it's down to how you interpret and people interpret differently , according to age , background , attitude and a significant amount of other reasons. And more than one misunderstanding can take place in any given conversation. As one current day philosopher suggests - 'there ain't no truth'...except for mathematics , which is true regardless of whether human beings exist or not.

I hope you don't take this the wrong way but I guarantee that you will.

This is because I know your mind better than you know yourself.

The words u wroted on various AFC webchatspeaksites over the years gave yourself away.

Words in particular, not the utterly shite music which also proved time-warp fixed mindset properties.

You are incapable of learning anything new.

This is because you don't WANT to learn anything new, you knowing it all already.

You're not a massive intellect but you do have some redeeming qualities.

Your legacy, even if arse cancer doesn’t take you, will be pretty minimal. You didn’t actually achieve very much in your sad life would be my guess. But as well as getting all huffy and offended like a bitch, you turn on anyone who has the temerity to engage with your patent weaknesses, the shite you write, the shite you think, the shite you post.

I’m learning all the time. You are incapable of learning anything.

Had you done what I suggested, explored Dweck, explored areas that were directly pertinent to you, we might have had progress. You didn’t even have the attention-to-detail to answer my question re Aaron.

Only in Eberdeen do we have the luxury of spikkin the truth. I just spake it.

http://www.healthguidance.org/entry/15851/1/Short-Man-Syndrome-Explained.html

Name that tune:

Woke up this morning, I got out of bed,

Too late to go to work — walked my dog instead.

I don't try too hard, but I get by.

You don't have to tell me I've got a lot to learn,

Think I gotta laugh at your overconcern.

Name that tune:

Woke up this morning, I got out of bed,

Too late to go to work — walked my dog instead.

You don't have to tell me I've got a lot to learn,

Think I gotta laugh at your overconcern.

There's the key.

You think you get by but if you're honest with yourself, you are distorted by frustration.

This was all due to your fixed mindset.

Carol's work will revolutionise the world. In recruitment, in team-building, in management, in sport, in everything.

You don't even have the imagination to look at it.

There's the key.

You think you get by but if you're honest with yourself, you are distorted by frustration.

This was all due to your fixed mindset.

Carol's work will revolutionise the world. In recruitment, in team-building, in management, in sport, in everything.

You don't even have the imagination to look at it.

You know me so well...I am in awe of your perspicacity.

So much so I am going to copy and paste your observations and pass them on to family and friends , to see if they agree.

If I can be buthered.....

You know me so well...I am in awe of your perspicacity.

So much so I am going to copy and paste your observations and pass them on to family and friends , to see if they agree.

If I can be buthered.....

Good strategy. Pass the buck to others. Don't introspect.

They are more likely to consider you in a favourable light.

Or at least feed back to you in such terms.

Ignore the reality.