Time to just give up?

After supporting the Dons through thick and (mostly) thin for more than 3 decades, I've had enough.

Truth be told, I had given up by the end of last season and have refused to part with a single penny to watch the joke that is Scottish fitba' - especially Aberdeen - this season, having only dragged my disallusioned ass to a mere handful of games last season.

Despite the horrors of the 1990s, I reckon we have actually hit a new low and I can't see any reason for genuine optimism that anything is going to change. At least back then it was possible to convince ourselves that we were still worth watching and might do 'something' 'someday'.

Today yet another season is over (provided Hamilton don't go on a hell of a run) and another damp squib has failed to ignite. Again Dons fans are left with only blind faith to cling to. I don't do blind faith, unfortunately.

'There's always next season' we keep telling ourselves, and then season after season unrolls with a dread sense of deja vu.

Can anyone out there honestly give me one sign that I wouldn't be as well supporting St Johnstone, St Mirren, ICT or the like?!

I'm a bit disappointed in today's performance and result, in case you hadn't cottoned on!

Is there any point any more!  ???

EDIT: Just to be clear: I'll always support the Dons, I just can't be bothered caring so much any more

The way I look at it is we are the lucky ones. We got to see our team win trophies almost every season.

Some posters on here were not even born last time we won a cup.

In a way it does make it hard because we grew up expecting Aberdeen to win but in reality apart from the 80's  (before and after) Aberdeen are just like Motherwell, St Johnstone etc , getting to a final now and again and winning the odd trophy . Although I think we should be performing better than we are at the moment.

The way I look at it is we are the lucky ones. We got to see our team win trophies almost every season.

Some posters on here were not even born last time we won a cup.

In a way it does make it hard because we grew up expecting Aberdeen to win but in reality apart from the 80's  (before and after) Aberdeen are just like Motherwell, St Johnstone etc , getting to a final now and again and winning the odd trophy . Although I think we should be performing better than we are at the moment.

You are lucky, i've never seen us lift anything. :(

Not giving up, I enjoy going to games and I am hoping that one day in my life time I'll see Aberdeen win some silverware.

I was having a discussion with my dad about the League Cup semi earlier in the season. He didn't go (he didn't go to this one either) despite being a Season Ticket holder and a big Aberdeen fan. His reasons where that he didn't want to travel all the way down to Glasgow to see Aberdeen play in a game that they would almost definitely lose which wasn't a final. My attitude was that I really wanted to go to both games when they came round because I'm not used to seeing Aberdeen get semi-finals and even in games with very little hope as I'm not used to seeing Aberdeen achieve much in my life-time just being in a semi-final makes me excited and although the results where pretty dire as far as I'm concerned both games where the most important of the season, and outwith Europe or the occasional game for a Euro spot in the league some of the most important I've witnessed as a Dons fan.

Perhaps that's a sad attitude, particularly as not too long before I was born Aberdeen where a fantastic side etc etc, but the Aberdeen I've grown up with have always been pretty bad.

Late 20s/early 30s is the worst age for being a Dons fan, I reckon - just old enough to remember some great wins (the 9-8 penalty win in the Scottish Cup is one that sticks in my mind particularly) but not to the extent that you were actually able to properly understand or appreciate it. So near, yet so far!

Give up...my arse, you're either with us or against us apparently ;)

Having said that, as someone that has seen us win two european titles, three league titles, six scottish cups, not to mention the mickey mouse cups, it is easy for me to say never ever give up on us. I am tonight feeling sorry for my 17 yr old son who has now seen us concede four golas in four consecutive semi finals :( and is now thinking he is some kind of jinx on us

Late 20s/early 30s is the worst age for being a Dons fan, I reckon - just old enough to remember some great wins (the 9-8 penalty win in the Scottish Cup is one that sticks in my mind particularly) but not to the extent that you were actually able to properly understand or appreciate it. So near, yet so far!

I can relate to that. I just turned 33 and my whole experience of the Dons is one of utter frustration. 12 in 1990 when we last won the cup, and with only vague memories of the cup wins in 84 and 86, the whole of my adult life has been spent watching us get steadily shittier.

I'm not about to just give up, but I couldn't honestly provide any real reasons why not.

Give up...my arse, you're either with us or against us apparently ;)

Having said that, as someone that has seen us win two european titles, three league titles, six scottish cups, not to mention the mickey mouse cups, it is easy for me to say never ever give up on us. I am tonight feeling sorry for my 17 yr old son who has now seen us concede four golas in four consecutive semi finals :( and is now thinking he is some kind of jinx on us

My Nephew is the same he is only 14 been to the last 4 Semi Finals and seen us concede 16 goals feeling exactly the same as your son. They won't be wanting to attend the next one just in case the same happens again.

Im 19 and never seen the Dandies lift a trophy.... Want at the Coke cup final, cant remember anything about it.  Was the the league cup final in 2000 and my only memory from that was some fans Conga out the ground which at that time seemed like we celebrated defeat. So times have been worse and one thing I wont do is turn my back on the side. I dont know why anyone would? Even if you've seen the good times

I'm part of the younger generation where four goals conceded is the norm at Hampden and whilst it is frustrating in a way it is difficult to be overly disillusioned because I think we are born with an inbuilt feeling that success is very unlikely. If it comes then great, if it doesn't then we will wait until it does. I'm just glad Aberdeen have managed to get to two semi finals this season and rather than get knocked out by lower league opposition (another thing I've become all too used to) we've been knocked out by a team which are considerably better than us.

The only problem I had was people my age became interested in football at just around the mid-late nineties and living in the North East but seeing my class largely made up of Celtic, Rangers or EPL fans saddened me. On the train today I was sat next to two blokes about my age wearing Celtic scarfs and shirts. They where talking in a North East accent and it turned out they where both from Kintore. The worry about lack of success to me is that people of my generation are going to reject supporting the local club and instead favour the more successful teams like Celtic and Rangers.

All in all I support Aberdeen and whilst I would love success to come I doubt it will in the near future, but I'll keep supporting them anyway, as bad as it can be at times I still love going to games.

My god its hell o a sad on here. Cheer up. I've seen success and utter failure from the Dons. Ok, this season is pathetic due to whatever reasons you want to blame it on, but it will get better. That's Fitba! We seem to have forgotten the Pele and Skovdahl eras. New season, new players and a good run in the league without injuries and its all change. Always proud to be a dandy. This talk of giving up and or jumping ship is hopefully a knee jerk reaction. If not, its bloody pathetic!

I can relate to that. I just turned 33 and my whole experience of the Dons is one of utter frustration. 12 in 1990 when we last won the cup, and with only vague memories of the cup wins in 84 and 86, the whole of my adult life has been spent watching us get steadily shittier.

I'm not about to just give up, but I couldn't honestly provide any real reasons why not.

Can relate too. 32 last December. I remember some great years at primary school wearing my fav ever dons top (JVC with squares) with pride after cup wins. then secondary at catholic school in Glasgow being progressively shitter.

Id never give up, but defeats are hurting less and less which in itself is sad.  If the cunts getting paid to ruin our club dont care, why do I pay to watch it and still care?

I want my son to be able to go into school after a cup win, and have that glorious smugness in the face of all his Tim classmates for a day. When all the usual snide jokes stop, because the day before, 'little' Aberdeen beat them in their own back yard when it mattered.

Harsh reality is that its never gonna happen.

hope is a real fucker. Despite knowing we had no chance to day, hope is the reason that 2nd goal still felt like a hammer blow to the stones.

Fuck it. Stand Free.

I refuse to give up.

Yes I'm one of the lucky ones, I can remember us winning the cup in 70 and I've been at every final bar Gothenburg (fuck  :hammer:) since, win or lose (mostly win  ;D)

I remember shitting it in 1976 when we only avoided relegation on goal diff, 95 when we had a play-off, 2000 (nuff said) so I've seen the rought and the smooth.

I still believe things WILL get better, maybe not to the heights of the 80s, but no reason we can't get back to competing with the of on a match basis and maybe even a few wee runs in Europe and a cup or two.

One of these days you young-eens will get a final and some silver to celebrate!

COYR! FOREVER

I am 32, and so I wasn't around for 1970 or 1976.  I can remember avoiding relegation due to Falkirk's ground not being up to scratch and thinking we were fucking lucky.

I have vowed season after season that I am behind the dons and that I will support them to the hilt.  Now I will never deny that I am a dons fan, but actually renewing my season ticket for 2011-12 - there lies a question!!!!!!!!!!!!!

::)

I am 32, and so I wasn't around for 1970 or 1976.  I can remember avoiding relegation due to Falkirk's ground not being up to scratch and thinking we were fucking lucky.

I have vowed season after season that I am behind the dons and that I will support them to the hilt.  Now I will never deny that I am a dons fan, but actually renewing my season ticket for 2011-12 - there lies a question!!!!!!!!!!!!!

::)

Of course we didnt only escape relegation because of Falkirks stadium, that is the media take. It would have been a play off and we had come into a bit of form.

Correct

it was in fact Motherwell who actually escaped relegation in 2003 due to falkirks proposed groundshare with Airdrie being thrown out.

I'll always support them... but time to give up?

I think I gave up years ago.

The teams I've seen at Aberdeen have literally gone from sublime to ridiculous.  There are teams from our past who won little in terms of trophies but I was immensely proud of them and absolutely loved watching them play football.  This lot can't even master the basics. I feel so disconnected from the club.  The other night we played the huns, a game I used to never miss at Pittodrie... I was uninterested in it the other night. Only knew the result because a mate text me about it. Going today was nothing about the game and everything to do with socialising with old friends I hadn't seen for a while.  The club is dead. The support is the only breathing thing left but that is rapidly running out of puff itself.

Message is clear to Milne... get a team worthy of the name and the jersey on the pitch and the club will be fine. Buck the trend of your stewardship and make sure it happens. If you don't, you'll be the man who over sees the death of AFC, and it is quite a remarkable job you have done of that.

I'll always support them... but time to give up?

I think I gave up years ago.

The teams I've seen at Aberdeen have literally gone from sublime to ridiculous.  There are teams from our past who won little in terms of trophies but I was immensely proud of them and absolutely loved watching them play football.  This lot can't even master the basics. I feel so disconnected from the club.  The other night we played the huns, a game I used to never miss at Pittodrie... I was uninterested in it the other night. Only knew the result because a mate text me about it. Going today was nothing about the game and everything to do with socialising with old friends I hadn't seen for a while.  The club is dead. The support is the only breathing thing left but that is rapidly running out of puff itself.

Message is clear to Milne... get a team worthy of the name and the jersey on the pitch and the club will be fine. Buck the trend of your stewardship and make sure it happens. If you don't, you'll be the man who over sees the death of AFC, and it is quite a remarkable job you have done of that.

I hear you, my wife doesn't understand why I have to have a drink when I go but in truth it wasn't for the social aspect I wouldn't be going at all.

I agree with your sentiment, but in terms of the message being clear to Milne...

it's clear to us on here, and amongst other fans I speak to, but  other than the dwindling home gates, do the board really know just how f**ked off we are?

We rightly get credit for the backing given to the team on days like Sunday, but does milne see that and think he's doing an alright job? part of me fears that he does.

speaking of attendances, what do we think the gates will be for the remaining pointless games against the other diddies of a piss poor league?

I agree with your sentiment, but in terms of the message being clear to Milne...

it's clear to us on here, and amongst other fans I speak to, but  other than the dwindling home gates, do the board really know just how f**ked off we are?

We rightly get credit for the backing given to the team on days like Sunday, but does milne see that and think he's doing an alright job? part of me fears that he does.

speaking of attendances, what do we think the gates will be for the remaining pointless games against the other diddies of a piss poor league?

Would not be surprised if the three home games have sub 6,000 crowds unless the club do some major discounting on the gate prices.