Dundee v Aberdeen

Aberdeen make the trip down the road to Dundee to take on the city's most successful club at Dens Park. It's a 3 pm kick-off on Saturday 8th August.

I think we need to improve a lot after last Saturday's win over Hearts, and I think Robinson will have the team knocked into shape during the week, so I fancy a 1-0 away win.

• Replies 90
  • Views 4.8k

Most Popular Posts

• GASC1980
    GASC1980

Only 2 games in but what i have seen is as entirely as i have predicted. None of these signings are good enough. I didn't want Robinson in the first place and if we don't progress in the league cup an

• OxfordDon
    OxfordDon

It'd been a while since we had an injury, was starting to get worried Tobers would have nobody to talk to.

• 2stars
    2stars

A 15 year old who looked more like a footballer who would create chances than the man he replaced Not having a go at Olusanya- we all know his limitations- but the manager / recruitment team have sign

Posted Images

Müller, Armstrong and Nisbet the only ones to get pass marks, and even then a 6/10 at best. Mouloua to be fair to him puts himself about and works hard, and I think there's some potential in there.

However, Guiness-Walker has some neat footwork, but as a defender I'll be surprised if he makes it at this level. Constantly out of position, can't tackle, can't pass. In the first half Yogane would face up to two defenders, we were crying out for a full-back to overlap and offer an option, and Guiness-Walker just stood back and watched him. A horrendous performance.

Give Mitchell Frame everything he wants and get him in the team ahead of him.

Played better in the second half when we went 4-4-2/4-2-4, but Briedl I'm hoping is just trying to settle in and can improve, I pray the Mighty Belgian is better than Olusanya, and I'm not sure I'm that stuck on Mayo.

What's our game plan and style of play? Improved at 4-4-2 but have we signed a team to play that? We don't have any out and out wingers. Olusanya getting 80 minutes because the alternative was only 15 years old.

Only positives really is at least we have quite a few players to come back. Lobban, Tobers, Knoester, Frame (?), Ronan, Lyons, Ntelo, and if you want to count him, Bilalovic.

Edited by Panda

49 minutes ago, Panda said:

Müller, Armstrong and Nisbet the only ones to get pass marks, and even then a 6/10 at best. Mouloua to be fair to him puts himself about and works hard, and I think there's some potential in there.

However, Guiness-Walker has some neat footwork, but as a defender I'll be surprised if he makes it at this level. Constantly out of position, can't tackle, can't pass. In the first half Yogane would face up to two defenders, we were crying out for a full-back to overlap and offer an option, and Guiness-Walker just stood back and watched him. A horrendous performance.

Give Mitchell Frame everything he wants and get him in the team ahead of him.

Played better in the second half when we went 4-4-2/4-2-4, but Briedl I'm hoping is just trying to settle in and can improve, I pray the Mighty Belgian is better than Olusanya, and I'm not sure I'm that stuck on Mayo.

What's our game plan and style of play? Improved at 4-4-2 but have we signed a team to play that? We don't have any out and out wingers. Olusanya getting 80 minutes because the alternative was only 15 years old.

Only positives really is at least we have quite a few players to come back. Lobban, Tobers, Knoester, Frame (?), Ronan, Lyons, Ntelo, and if you want to count him, Bilalovic.

A 15 year old who looked more like a footballer who would create chances than the man he replaced

Not having a go at Olusanya- we all know his limitations- but the manager / recruitment team have signed players that are a definite downgrade on even some of the project players and the 40 yard crossfield hoofs up to Nisbet Yogane and Olusanya, while being unable to defend is genuinely worrying

Didn’t think Mayo would be great for us but maybe more aggressive than Milne

Both are not good

GW is not a defender

Communication at back is lacking- no leader, and Muller looks like Bobby Clark when there is little chance of him getting close to the ball

Midfield offered little protection but one v ones we were second best all over the park

Robinson said last week that we wouldn’t have won the game last season as though he had installed a fighting and winning mentality- he just got lucky

Today showed how weak a squad we have built and he needs to take some responsibility for that

57 minutes ago, Panda said:

Mouloua to be fair to him puts himself about and works hard, and I think there's some potential in there.

Lazetic then.

I also think today showed that we’ll look for the Geiger/karlsson/aouchiche loan signings in the next two/three weeks. It’s def a transition year, and the goal is to set a standard, but we still majorly lack creativity. Plus a legit center mid. I get we were missing lyons in the middle today, but he also went missing last week. No over reaction, is what it is, reality check. Plus looks like we signed the new papa gueye today, a central players well played out of position.

1 hour ago, Jute said:

That was worse than anything under Thelin. Abysmal from start to finish. Long balls into corners seemed to be our only attacking plan. Aremu and Briedl were complety over run in midfield. Cadden and Guinness Walker were roasted by a Dundee’s wingers while ours offered nothing. Cannot say I will be rushing back to watch that again.

Right from the start our keeper was hoofing long balls towards Yogane, who, unsurprisingly, isn't any better in the air than on the ground.

2 hours ago, Kowalski said:

Lazetic then.

Unfair comparison. Mouloua was trying to win the ball and hold it up, and took every knock he got, stood up and went again. On the ball he was also driving to the byline. I don't know if he's good enough to be starting games for us yet, but in terms of a project, there's something to work with.

That's in complete contrast to Lazetic turning away from the ball to barge into a defender (something he appears to have passed on to Jack Milne) and Olusanya constantly looking for a free-kick to hide his inefficiencies as a footballer.

Only 2 games in but what i have seen is as entirely as i have predicted. None of these signings are good enough. I didn't want Robinson in the first place and if we don't progress in the league cup and results are poor in cominhg leage games the knives will be sharpening long before Christmas and he'll be under huge pressure, I'd love to be wrong and hope Robinson is a success. Sadly I can't see that happening. Clearly AFC didn't want Robinson at the outset either and 3.5 months without a manager shat the bed and panicked after Dunfermline.

19 hours ago, Panda said:

Unfair comparison. Mouloua was trying to win the ball and hold it up, and took every knock he got, stood up and went again. On the ball he was also driving to the byline. I don't know if he's good enough to be starting games for us yet, but in terms of a project, there's something to work with.

That's in complete contrast to Lazetic turning away from the ball to barge into a defender (something he appears to have passed on to Jack Milne) and Olusanya constantly looking for a free-kick to hide his inefficiencies as a footballer.

Pity Milne can't barge into players when contesting the ball in the air.

On 06/08/2026 at 00:16, Jute said:

With both Tom and I both at the game we are probably fucked anyway.

eric cartman kyle GIF by South Park

Didn’t see the game & haven’t even seen the “highlights” (I use the term loosely based on what I’ve read) as I was at a wedding down south, but it appears we’ve just reverted to type - yet again.

Its both embarrassing & thoroughly depressing that year after year we can significantly outspend most of what is a terrible league and still be just as bad, or worse, than most if not all the rest of the dross.

It was bad enough signing Jayden Richardson. To have now apparently signed Jayden Richardson 2 is unforgivable.

Why can’t we just use our financial advantage to buy players that are better than those at most clubs in the league. Jesus Christ, Motherwell can fuckin do it with a fraction of the resources we have ffs.

I’m just sick & tired of the same rinse and repeat year after year tbh…

Edited by The.Moog

Well well well, I guess my little bit of "new season" optimism that I had before the Hearts game kicked off has well and truly gone, it had actually pretty much gone after 89mins of our first game, that wee bit of fight at the end gave me a glimmer of hope, but that has been totally wiped out after that shit show on Saturday.

I find it fkn remarkable that we can change out about 90% of the startling line up from last season and the full managerial and coaching staff and yet still just continue with the same old shit different season.
This is going to be another long, long season, unless something drastic changes with our set up and approach and changes pretty fkn quickly.

Oh and Hanniball Lecter is not anywhere near to an upgrade on Mitov. Looking at them again he should have been saving probably both their goals.

Dundee fan that I sit next to at work, told me we would get beat on Saturday and also said we have a really pish manager.

He was certainly right on the score...

17 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said:

Dundee fan that I sit next to at work, told me we would get beat on Saturday and also said we have a really pish manager.

He was certainly right on the score...

Tell him that they will get beat on Saturday, and they have a really pish manager.

Oh and Hanniball Lecter is not anywhere near to an upgrade on Mitov. Looking at them again he should have been saving probably both their goals.

Nae idea fit happened wi the quote function, but responding to the radge Blow Up Sheep:

Hemmin, I need to point out that Hannibal Lecter is reserved for that brain-eating Swede we had on loan last season (the likeness is uncanny, dinna deny it)

Our new keeper is clearly WWF's Mankind - Mick Foley. Bang bang!

mankind.webp

Edited by Jormungandr

6 hours ago, Jormungandr said:

Nae idea fit happened wi the quote function, but responding to the radge Blow Up Sheep:

Hemmin, I need to point out that Hannibal Lecter is reserved for that brain-eating Swede we had on loan last season (the likeness is uncanny, dinna deny it)

Our new keeper is clearly WWF's Mankind - Mick Foley. Bang bang!

mankind.webp

quote function working well for me ya radge 😜

Anyway.
Maybe so but he is still shite and not an upgrade on Mitov at all.