RicoS321 Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago Aye, another fairly dogshite game and performance. We really struggle with these post Euro games, we look absolutely knackered. Fuck knows what JT thought he was watching that he held off on the subs. Polvara was fucked, as were several others. Clarkson would be best leaving. There's nothing worse than watching a good player on the bench when the manager doesn't fancy him. Interestingly, we seemed to start in a 3-5-2, with Karlsson central. Bizarre really, given Nisbet isn't afforded that setup. That changed soon after when it became clear that the midfield weren't working well as a three, with Armstrong (who was totally screwed from the tenth minute) moving forward to make the 3-4-3. Neither shape works particularly well with the personnel we deploy, from midfield to front. 1 Quote
RicoS321 Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 4 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said: Even Falkirk looked more organised and discipled than us You reckon we should play with 12? 2 Quote
Elgindon Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 4 minutes ago, RicoS321 said: You reckon we should play with 12? If one of thems a Judas,then aye why not 1 Quote
dons8321 Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 29 minutes ago, Radiored said: Yeah, for such an experienced, and obviously talented professional wi' a huge reputation, he was pretty shite. Fae what Ah've seen so far, Ah'm wonderin' if two games a week is beyond him these days. Ah nearly wished for him tae be replaced by Palaversa!! Which makes you wonder why Clarkson didn't start today...I guess he'll be off in January. Quote
Jute2 Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago Not much to add to everyone’s comments. Hugely frustrating watch and really struggling to justify spending all day travelling to watch this pish. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago I travelled much of today and watched this delayed, just finished. Beyond awful. We were terribly flat, not much better second half. Expected a bit of a bounce in our step after a decent euro result, what the fuck was that. Good god gyamfi. With three central defenders we need attacking play from the wing backs and in midfield. Lobban was ok, but gyamfi had lead boots and I think wanted sent off ffs. I thought he had a reputation for pace, but he looks slow. i like polvara but as many of us have said, he doesn’t have the graft, battling qualities, or physicality for Scottish football. He’s better in Europe but another game today he’s a wasted jersey. Armstrong’s worst game. Has been a good signing but wasn’t his day. Shinnie is 34 yr old shinnie, doesn’t offer a lot. I haven’t written him off like some but he wasn’t very good today. Problem is, I dont think Clarkson is that great, nor is palaversa, or aouchiche. We are a squad full of very mediocre midfielders. I don’t see what we have to lose giving Kjarten minutes. I think with 3 center backs we have one holding and two more attack minded center mids, or vice versa, none looked attack minded today, hence the lumps up the park to lose the ball, no attacking play through center mid. Three center backs and three deep mids makes for a tough game, especially with one inexperienced wing back and gyamfi/molloy. Despite the goal, this was the game to rest karlsson, he was gash too. Thought topi and milanovic should have started for speed and attacking play, even though both have been pretty piss season to date. Like center mid with kjarten, I dont see why we don’t give bilalovic a run. felt for lazetic, very little support or combo play. Plus when topi or karlsson get the ball they usually are not looking to pass. We have high expectations and we’ve got a bunch of players who came in with good reputations, backgrounds etc. Problem is, we just don’t have many good players. Quote
Elgindon Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago One of these lads sitting on the bench might be of more use in midfield,Topi,Kjartasson,Milanovic or the mysterious Bilalovic to give us a bit more drive/attacking intent,and getting out of defence quicker. Another thing to look at is how we manage to have 10 men behind the ball at times,but 'Well were still able to work thru us with ease 1 Quote
dons8321 Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago 13 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: Despite the goal, this was the game to rest karlsson, he was gash too. I bet the Motherwell manager slated the FB...Karlsson is so one-footed that as soon as he runs at you you show him the outside 'cos he never crosses with his left foot (he got an excellent ball running to the byeline and no-one thought he was going to cross). Terrific strike and he actually put in a decent shift after that. 1 Quote
manc_don Posted 3 hours ago Author Report Posted 3 hours ago Need to catch the highlights at lunch, but doesn't sound like I've missed much by what's been said here and elsewhere. Lobban and to some extent Karlsson being the only highlights. So disappointing that Thelin can't seem to get a tune out of these players. Quote
Don Julio Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago As hard as Lazetic works up front, we are completely toothless. As said above, it’s moments of individual brilliance that are delivering our terrible goals tally. What a difference a year makes. All those cut backs into the box and goals from all parts of the team at the start of last season. Now, we can barely buy a goal. We could surely have gone 4-4-2 today after half an hour and made life harder for them and easier for us. Still, we’re picking up points. That’s the only positive I can find. Other than a site where you can actually use punctuation. 1 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 3 minutes ago, Don Julio said: We could surely have gone 4-4-2 today after half an hour and made life harder for them and easier for us. It's a thankless task being an Aberdeen striker at the moment. We'll never know, but just felt like one of those games under Thelin, that whatever was tried, it wasn't going to change the final outcome. Our goal aside, it was a very uneventful day. As sad as it was, the applause for the wee girl, that died the other week, was the only other highlight of the 90 minutes. Quote
tlg1903 Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago For the benefit of the abmad refugees (welcome to you all BTW, it's great to see the board a bit busier) I've been pretty vocal in my defence of Thelin this season just so you know. I must admit today he really did annoy me with his lack of subs. It was obvious we were second best in the midfield and they really were passing around us for fun at times. It clearly needed changing up and Clarkson should have been on early in the second half at the very latest. In the past, and particularly when playing 4231, (which we shouldn't be scared to go back to mid game if the 3 isn't working BTW, if anything else it can completely bugger the oppositions game plan) I could usually see what Jimmy was trying to do but today and the second half against Killie I'm really scratching my head at what the game plan was other than hold the line. Sure, the Cyprus trip has tiring effect even if you don't play but that's even more reason to be quick with the changes. It's not like we don't have 5 subs to use these days either or a plethora of attacking options. At least we didn't lose but if we had won it would have been an injustice. Our new DOF should be walking through the door very soon. He's a big character according to Derek Rae and hopefully that can help lift the malaise that seems to be hanging over the club this season. Quote
2stars Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago Thanks TLG and all long term Donstalk posters for the welcome i think most of us want Jimmy to succeed and the Scottish Cup win has certainly bought him some time, but the goodwill will only last so long if we don’t start winning games and actually playing like we want to win a football match rather than not losing it. Many are questioning how long we stick with Thelin, but I am not there yet either although I question some of his decisions and don’t think he helps himself. defensively this season - and last- we have been awful- but we have become so afraid to lose that we have stifled all creativity that we had previously. We have tried to shore up the back so much but the players either aren’t good enough to play in a 4 or are just not getting on board with Jimmys “vision” we lack physicality in midfield and our wingers have stopped trying to get past full backs and getting to the bye line- no surprise Lazetic and Nisbet are both struggling whatever formation we play, we seem disorganised in the middle and more concerned about maintaining shape than pressing, harrying and getting in the faces of our opposition- we seemed to do this better at the start of last season, but could never do it for a full game- not sure if stamina is an issue. Another break beckons but hopefully the players are not off for a weeks holiday and are actually trying to sort this on the training pitch 2 Quote
2stars Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago (edited) On the flip side to that, went to Athens where we really needed to shut up shop and we went gung ho into a hiding need to know when to be aggressive going forward and when to pack the defence Edited 1 hour ago by 2stars 1 Quote
Panda Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago 34 minutes ago, tlg1903 said: For the benefit of the abmad refugees (welcome to you all BTW, it's great to see the board a bit busier) I've been pretty vocal in my defence of Thelin this season just so you know. I must admit today he really did annoy me with his lack of subs. Thelin is actually beginning to remind me of McInnes in his final three seasons at Aberdeen. The football is boring, there's no real zip to our play, and very much like McInnes he loves a pointless late sub (or three). One thing I'll say though. He often gets accused of not being animated enough on the touchline. However, every time the camera panned to him he was deep in conversation with his coaches, clearly annoyed at something. Would love to know what he was actually saying as his discussions didn't really turn into any action. Quote
KGB Posted 27 minutes ago Report Posted 27 minutes ago I only watched the first 20 minutes today as i was going out. and we were awful. They were killing us, particularly down the left hand side with Gyamfi posted missing and he couldn't seem to work out that that he had to fall back and track his man. The most worrying thing for me was that Jimmy did nothing about it which has been a pattern. The least I expect from a manager is that he can set a team up properly and if the tactics aren't working, for him to be decisive and change things to address the problems. Sadly it is becoming ever more clear that Jimmy can do neither of these things and i increasingly think that his time may be up. Thankfully I had to go out so missed the rest of the match and saved myself the misery of watching the rest of the game so i maybe missed a huge improvement. I do however doubt it. 1 Quote
RicoS321 Posted 21 minutes ago Report Posted 21 minutes ago 4 minutes ago, KGB said: The least I expect from a manager is that he can set a team up properly and if the tactics aren't working, for him to be decisive and change things to address the problems. Aye, it's frustrating. Thankfully we've got next week off, and we can relax watching Steve Clarke manage Scotland. 3 Quote
tlg1903 Posted 12 minutes ago Report Posted 12 minutes ago 50 minutes ago, Panda said: Thelin is actually beginning to remind me of McInnes in his final three seasons at Aberdeen. The football is boring, there's no real zip to our play, and very much like McInnes he loves a pointless late sub (or three). I honestly wondered if he was trolling us taking them on when he did. The most bizzare thing about it all though is he has a very decent record at changing a game with subs. Quote