Wednesday 11th February,  kick-off 7.45pm

Scottish Premiership - Dundee Utd v Aberdeen

Leaderboard

Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 06/02/25 in Posts

1. Lost my Dad a couple of months ago and today is his birthday. Been saying since the semi that it was meant to be. Mon the fucking Dons!
    12 points
  2. Just thought I'd join to give a bit of an opinion on Aouchiche. Technically he's a really good footballer. Due to injuries he spent a lot of his time with us out on the left wing, which probably explains the lack of goals. Even when it was obvious that he wasn't going to be part of the plans, he always gave 100% whenever he was called upon and had a brilliant attitude. Probably lacks that bit of pace that can make all the difference in terms of making it at the very top, but he's a good passer of the ball, creative if given any time on the ball, and can play in a few positions. Suspect he'd see himself as a 10 but he's one of those players who you can probably use anywhere in midfield. When we sent him out on loan last season a lot of our fans thought we should have kept him in and around the squad due to being a good option who never let us down. I expect you'll find almost every Sunderland fan has nothing but good things to say about the lad and, if he feels at home in Aberdeen, I think he could be very effective. Will be looking out for him and hope he does well, even if he ends up moving away permanently. Find him a settled position, have runners around him, and you'll have yourself a very good player, best of luck
    9 points
  3. I dont think Dave is doing a bad job, I don’t understand your strong dislike. I certainly understand your frustration with the current situation. Of course the club and Dave have made mistakes, that’s not abnormal in football, and has been acknowledged I think. football is an impossible business. Most clubs and managers fail. Most replace managers regularly, most don’t win anything. That’s the game. cormack has brought investment. A training ground. A director of football. Increasing playing funds. We’re signing players who played for ac Milan, man city, PSG, Liverpool, loaner from spurs, highly regarded youngsters, internationalists. I get many of these haven’t worked out but it’s much greater ambition than league 1 and 2, wycombe Stockport and the likes. I certainly think we can get better balance, and I think that has been acknowledged too. rangers and Celtic have been a mess this season, hearts have recently been a mess. We’ve signed managers, with the exception of glass, that while not always my choice, made sense. its always darkest before dawn, perhaps we’re close to the beginning of something special. We won a trophy last season, maybe luckily, maybe we repeat? Unlikely but I think we’ve got a man in charge who is fully invested, will spend, is ambitious, and wants success. That’s not easy.
    8 points
  4. It would be good for him to go back to Sweden and his family. Normally I'm glad when we punt a manager that isn't performing, but I feel strangely bereft at Jimmy leaving. I really wanted it to work out for him, especially after the way he started. It's partly his fault it didn't happen, and partly the players.
    8 points
  5. Our attacks are remarkably similar to my wife aimlessly circling a half-empty car park trying to find a parking space she’s happy with.
    8 points
  6. Back when Fergie was manager, if a player asked for a day off he'd chain them to the side of the pier. After high tide, he'd untie them, and if they weren't dead he'd fine them a week's wages.
    8 points
  7. I read on here regularly but it's years since I posted. Anyway, one of the best Dons' days I've had, greetin' at the actual game along with a few other oldies and still buzzing. What a support and great to see that mainly comprising teens and kids. I hope they get to see a few more days like that, I'm so grateful that I have.
    8 points
  8. They should have a town crier delivering the latest manager news outside Pittodrie every day at 10 am. Or have a papal style enclave where they meet to choose a new manager. As soon as we see red smoke pouring out of the Main Stand, we will know if we have a new boss.
    7 points
  9. Hopefully if he is walking, by the time he gets here, we have appointed someone else
    7 points
  10. This cheered me up. The comments on the Killie post on Twitter announcing this are also well worth a read - especially from Notts County fans. This was my favourite: “There was literally a highly contagious virus raging through the #notts squad in December and he didn’t even catch that ”
    7 points
  11. Disagree, think he's actually played very well in spells, but has been woefully mismanaged. He's been over played (compare his minutes to Graeme Shinnie), he's been constantly shuttled into different positions, and has had little to no chance to development any sort of partnership with anyone.
    7 points
  12. Lycka till Jimmy, hejdå
    7 points
  13. You wouldn't have expected anything else but class from him. When he first was appointed I was renewing my dna membership and the people in the office were so impressed by him, saying he's just a lovely guy, a real gentleman...maybe not what you need as manager? Really sad it didn't work out for him.
    7 points
  14. Aye, it's frustrating. Thankfully we've got next week off, and we can relax watching Steve Clarke manage Scotland.
    7 points
  15. Hello Aberdonians - as a fellow Scot, living in Bucharest. I’d like to share what information I can - which I hope may be of use, and indeed make for a smooth and enjoyable trip! If anyone has any questions, about anything related to the City, FCSB, transport, nightlife, do’s and dont’s etc - please feel free to ask. Airport Arrival/Transport in City: There are 2 main options. Cheapest -Train directly outside arrival terminal to Gara De Nord (main train station in the city - and metro is linked from their too) Train is not as frequent (every 40 mins) but only 20 mins to Gara De Nord station and around 6 Ron (like £1.50) Taxi - as soon as you exit the arrivals doors from getting luggage - on the left are ticket machines to get a Taxi number (all machines in English) and then you wait outside the terminal doors (a matter of yards away) and wait for your taxi number to arrive (registration of car is printed on your ticket) These are the AUTHORISED taxi companies and all on a meter (roughly 50/60 Ron (£10/15 to city centre) - DO NOT pay anything more than roughly that - if they ask for a lot more - make a fuss! But less likely if you take a registered taxi! UBER/BOLT - possible, but not allowed to pick up outside terminal - so need to walk to pick up area outside of airport. METRO SYSTEM: It’s a good one! Cheap, reliable and frequent. Best way for getting around the city as traffic is busy in the daytime. Tickets can be bought in all stations and as it’s so cheap - good option is to buy a ‘multi trip’ ticket for around (20 Ron) £5 and gets you 10 trips. NEAREST METRO Stations to Ground (walking distance) Piata Iancului Piata Muncii Accommodation Booking.com/Air BnB etc all available. In my eyes - two options (City Centre) nearest to Old Town - most expensive. Change metro line from Blue to Yellow Or slightly out of main centre but on best link to Ground via metro or taxi, plus near main Train Station (sector 1) - Options directly out of station are Ibis Gara De Nord and Hello Hotel (both main chains and you know what you’re going to get) - simple stuff! Metro to the ground from this area is around 10 mins) (on yellow line) Old Town or (Lipscani) Romanian name for area - is the busiest and most lively - but comes with highest prices and scammers etc! Good honest bar which is British owned is called Mojo - sport on TV, karaoke etc. https://mojomusic.ro/ Option nearest the Train Station is arguably one of the best traditional Pubs in Bucharest - Dubliner Irish Pub. It’s the closest you’ll get to back home, quite a large ex-pat community of Scots too! A few Aberdonian’s working in the oil industry here. Multiple TV screens for sport - bespoke darts room (9 boards) great Irish Breakfast and pub food (cottage pie) Guinness, Kilkenny, Peroni, Ursus and Kozel on draught and then all the other usual spirits, shots etc. https://dubliner.ro/menu/ Piata Victoriei and Gara De Nord nearest metro stations to Dubliner Irish Pub and 10 mins to ground. There’s a lot more could add - but this is for starters - please feel free to ask anything you want! Enjoy your trip and hopefully you’ll be going into it with a nice first leg lead!
    7 points
  16. Four years Second Aberdeen player called Emmanuel in as many days to get that
    7 points
  17. I’m pretty confident of putting Motherwell out. Fuck knows why. I didn’t get into the business of supporting Aberdeen to be afraid of a Motherwell fixture though
    6 points
  18. Online clowns lashing out at everything and anything out of frustration at how poor we've been. Chairman, captain, (ex) manager, goalie and now CEO all getting it in the neck because social media allows morons an outlet to spout the pish that in the past would only have had an audience of three men and a dog in the pub. It's one thing to criticise players and managers for their performance but when it turns to off the field figures' personal lives then it's a grim state of affairs.
    6 points
  19. In order to get the ball to Nisbet, it’s vital that it starts with Mitov making a 3 yard sideways pass to a centre half on the 6 yard line. That way, he can give the ball to an under pressure full back who has to pass it back the way to the centre half. From here, the important part is to thread a pass straight up the middle to a midfielder who is either facing his own goal, or isn’t looking at all This is the way football MUST be played. Otherwise, what’s the point? The paying public need to be entertained
    6 points
  20. The holidays are over. Sober up.
    6 points
  21. By all accounts, the players liked him, but thought he was too soft on those who stepped out of line, and ultimately that loses you a bit of respect in the dressing room. Yesterday raised alarm bells. It's been poor for a while, but I kinda still felt he was slowly getting his head around things, but it was such a calamity at Falkirk that it was hard to make a case for him beyond the weekend. But I'm glad he left before I started to get so rattled by performances I began to dislike him. A throughly decent man who led us to the Scottish Cup, but hopefully we've made the right decision.
    6 points
  22. Lots of clubs will be watching him, not just on these shores. A person would have to be a real dumb, bitter person not to be commending the job he has done at Motherwell. He has won nothing, before some smart c*nt points it out, but the way he has consistently got players to respond and perform to his system has been very impressive up until now. Getting Paul McGinn to perform for them the way he has done this season, is impressive enough, but he has done this with the whole squad, exactly what a manager should be doing. We keep deluding ourselves we are going to buy our way to a good team. As much as the boy at Motherwell has been impressive, it is still a no from me, as I just have a feeling we would take what looks like a silk purse of a manager (at the moment), and turn it into a pigs ear.
    6 points
  23. Thelin is out and about in Prague tonight meeting the fans Seriously a top guy
    6 points
  24. Hun. My kids don't even make the top ten.
    6 points
  25. Maybe if you would write bigger, then Thelin might hear you.
    6 points
  26. Walking home down King St. and on the opposite side of the road there was a wee girl with her parents singing "Hearts, Hearts are falling apart again" over and over - somebody has been brought up proper!
    6 points
  27. Erzma. Fraternal greetings. Fk the huns, tims, jutes etc etc and COYR.
    6 points
  28. I'm very glad that I can watch the Dons most weeks and then switch off to all other football (Scotland aside). I do watch the occasional game on the telly (rarely a whole game), mainly the BBC Friday night championship, but there's not a single game in any competition that I feel I must watch. I often think that people (colleagues etc, rather than folk on here) think that I'm pretending when I say I couldn't care less about English football or champions league pish. Because I'm a football fan, I must automatically be attracted to the biggest league or tournaments (I do watch international tournaments, it still holds some enjoyment for now). They'll reel off some name of some famous English based player, and I genuinely won't have a clue who they're talking about. With this world club pish, I have no idea what it is and who it involves (I have some idea, but it's guesswork based on the name and your post). Football mirrors the rest of the world in that it views quantity as progress. More games, more money, bigger transfer fees, fitter players, stronger players etc etc. It's safe to say that football hasn't progressed at all in the last 35 years (bookended by two famous cup wins). It's just that the measures of progress are abstract and hollow, and have absolutely nothing to do with what sport means and its enjoyment. Hopefully this shite will be the tipping point* that starts the much needed collapse of the game (again, mirroring society). The saturation point reached. *alongside VAR of course
    6 points
  29. Just had it translated. "Callum McGregors tears are sweet sweet justice"
    6 points
  30. Most of the United fans on the pitch were just kids. Had the chair hit its intended target, could have been a lot worse. Singing about hating the Huns then proceeding to act like Huns. Gads.
    6 points
  31. This was a beauty, arguably one of the best we've ever had:
    6 points
  32. £50 a ticket is absolutely fucking horrendous though.
    6 points
  33. They should be putting out a daily statement informing us that they have no further update on the manager situation.
    5 points
  34. What are you actually expecting though? Recruitment processes for high-level roles always tend to be fairly private out of respect for the people involved and their current employers. There's absolutely no need for the fanbase to be privy to names on shortlist and the like. When you look at how people jumped on and obsessed over the throwaway comment about it being advantageous for the next manager to have exposure to the Scottish game as being an absolute dealbreaker and that he'd be doing a massive U-Turn if he brought in someone that didn't fit that profile, it's no wonder he's saying the bare minimum.
    5 points
  35. This is true. I’m unsackable in my job and I do the bare minimum every single day. I’m currently trying to teach myself card tricks during office hours
    5 points
  36. Aye, but the change isn't really for the better. We are quite possibly just legacy fans with no place in the modern game. I mean, I don't even do AberDNA and yet here I am, on here complaining about our latest signing. The cheek of it.
    5 points
  37. 5 points
  38. So now we've said bye to Thelin Who next for our dear Aberdeen? A foreign unknown? Or one of our own? A puzzle for Lutz Pfannenstein
    5 points
  39. Seemed like a genuinely nice guy and in no way have the same feelings towards him as Robson or Goodwin but Jimmy's time was well and truly up. Lets make no mistakes about his time with us, he got off to an incredible start, albeit very fortunate in several of those games, but when Celtic pumped us 6-0 in the Semi then the wheels well and truly came off and we never recovered, instead we fumbled through the next 14 months with minimal highs and serious lows with the one notable exception being the cup final win in May which will never be forgotten. It's not unreasonable to state that you'd be hard pressed to name 5 games that we actually played entertaining, attacking football for more than brief spells and for a manager that we had for 80 games then that is a damning indictment of his time with us. I can only hope that Lutz has his man already lined up to take advantage of this Jan window as a vast majority of the current squad have proved time and time again that they have been a waste of a wage. We need serious recruitment just to ensure we get European football next year through our league placings and that should be the sole aim this season for whoever comes into the hotseat although another Scottish Cup victory would be very welcome also.
    5 points
  40. Class from Thelin there - “Today my time as manager at Aberdeen comes to an end. It is with great respect for this historic Club that I accept this decision. “Results ultimately decide the tenure of this profession, and as such I take my share of responsibility. “I believe wholly in the work that was done; however, football doesn’t always allow time for belief to become results. I would like to thank the players for their commitment and effort during my time as their coach, and the staff who worked every day with loyalty and pride. “I would also like to thank the supporters. Your passion for your team never waivers, even in disappointment. “Aberdeen will forever be a part of my journey, and it has been an honour to lead this great Club and share that memorable day together at Hampden. “I leave wishing success to everyone involved both on and off the pitch.”
    5 points
  41. A countdown clock would be a very easy way to make VAR significantly better. If you can't tell if it's an error within ten seconds of seeing replays then it's not clear and obvious, play on.
    5 points
  42. ️ Warning: Really boring answer coming up. ️ There's been a few articles on this. Typically, a player is entitled to five weeks paid holiday a year. They can't always get those five weeks in pre-season. And I think they get public holidays added to that too as they work Christmas etc. If Aberdeen had lost the cup final, the early European fixtures would have meant we'd probably have started back 19 June like most clubs did. Can't be arsed working out how many paid holidays days that is, but it would fall well short of their entitlement. And then you had Keskinen playing at the U21 Euros and, I can't remember, but Mitov probably playing for Bulgaria etc. The holiday allowance actually starts 1 July, so the longer summer break we had this season doesn't actually count towards this season. So basically, in short, without a winter break, we need to use the international breaks to give them their days off. Woke nonsense etc.
    5 points
  43. Just when you think you can’t hate Darvel any more, they appoint Nacho Novo as manager
    5 points
  44. Biggest island of the small isles,but only about 40 inhabitants who mostly live in Kinloch the harbour village.The rest of the island probably too rough or exposed id say.Fantastic mountains.Not huge,but challenging and great views.A few cyclable tracks go to various sides of the island.Definitely going back next year to hill climb,too soggy this year.And aye theres about 1000 deer on the island.Nae good when youre trying to kip during rutting season,lol Mother and baby dolphin on the way over.Minke whale juming out the water near the mainland
    5 points
  45. Cinderella is going to the ball. We have acquired tickets for the home support in a part of the ground close to the away support, so will be giving it large to the sheep shagging bastards (Ovci Sujajici Bastardi) in there
    5 points
  46. Couldn't sleep very well last night and ended up getting up at 5 am this morning. Treated myself to watching the game, penalty shout out, presentation and aftermath in its entirety. It just keeps on getting better and better and something I will never tire of watching
    5 points
  47. Way off topic lads but before thread hopefully goes back to it purpose of laughing at the Gorgie Huns I would say only reason we need Scottish players is the rules to play in Europe. Outside that as long as a player is good enough then it doesn’t matter where they come from and to claim you need a core of Scottish players to succeed is plainly wrong.
    5 points