Windass never wanted to leave

Alex wielded the axe

Published: 14/08/2008

I COULD still have been a Dons player today if it wasn’t for Alex Miller.  :wanker:

To be honest, I blame him for wrecking my Pittodrie career.

Even before Miller took over the writing was on the wall for me as Keith Burkinshaw used to make me train on my own in the afternoons.

That was after we lost 5-0 to Dundee United at Tannadice, when I was sent off in the match that ended Roy Aitken’s reign.

I had hoped to be given a fresh chance when Miller took over.

I had to wait for my chance as I was suspended for weeks after what happened at Tannadice.

I scored in my first game under Miller, at home to Motherwell, then scored the winner at Pittodrie against Dundee United before he dropped me when we played Rangers away.

Any hope I had of staying on for a few more years , or even longer, evaporated under Miller.

We never had that dreaded chat, but it was clear he wanted me out of the club.

There was a clash of personalties – something that wasn’t there when Roy was in charge.

Miller would set me hard running challenges and expect me to fail, but I would always rise to them.

He also had a go at me for having a big mouth – it was his way of getting at me.

I really loved my time with the Dons and will always be grateful to Roy, pictured left, and Tommy Craig for giving me a shot at the big time.

They helped to transform me into the English Premier League player I am today.

I’ll never forget them.

I was always going to be under pressure following my £700,000 move from Hull City in 1995.

Going from the old English Second Division up to the Scottish Premier League was a huge jump up, but Roy had real confidence in me.

And thanks to his extra faith I was really flying for a spell under him.

Everything turned sour under Miller, but there was no way I was going to let him wreck my career.

I opted to return south and joined Oxford United for just £400,000 in 1998.

My 15 goals couldn’t save Oxford from relegation.

But that run of form won me a £1 million move to Bradford and I eventually made it into the Premiership with them.

That transfer sparked a new chapter in my career and you’ll get to read plenty about it in this column.

I’m delighted to be back.

mckinnon i can understand but kano was a decent midfielder

I think a slug on valium would move quicker than him.

Would move faster than shearer as well, clearly pace isnt everything

mckinnon i can understand but kano was a decent midfielder

Who for?

Kano was murder.

"Miller is a fucking plunger" shocker?

used to be met with 'of fuck, no again' every time he appeared beside Benitez at Liverpool. Couldn't help myself but go off on a rant about how shite he was. Folk would get and move seats in the juicer at the sight of him on the tele as they knew I'd start the same outburst.

still mystified what possessed Liverpool

Kano was murder.

NO KANE NO PAIN!

Anyone else remember the goal against Skonto Riga though? I dinna as my dad dragged me out in disgust before the end.

Nope! do remember his corker at Firhill though.

Still piss right enough.

OH aye. Looked terrible in the Panini sticker book too!

a face only a mother could love. And as for Paul Kane....

ARF!

a face only a mother could love. And as for Paul Kane....

ARF!

:beers:

I don't think Aitken should have been allowed within 500yds of our club.

It was change that kept us up, not Aitken.

1 Word...... Stenhousemuir  :hammer: :hammer: :hammer:

Stenhousemuir 

That's three words.  :-\

Still piss right enough.

Oh, back in the day, got "hospitality" at Firhill that night wi ma non-Dons mates.

Remember Chic Charnley that night too, could hear him fucking and cunting at his very very shite team mates. Funny as fuck!

Oh, back in the day, got "hospitality" at Firhill that night wi ma non-Dons mates.

Remember Chic Charnley that night too, could hear him fucking and cunting at his very very shite team mates. Funny as fuck!

Did he not get sent off that night?

I think he did aye!  ;D

aye, 5-1 i think that one was.

He now runs the Thistle Bar on Maryhill Road.  He's "done it up" very cheaply, and behind the bar are pics of him and the Celtic & Huns Masters teams (with him obviously playing for the Tims Masters) together...

FACE FACTS ... YOU NEVER PLAYED FOR SELLICK!!!

And on a saturday afternoon takes advantage of free entry to firhill so all the Thistle fans can metaphorically suck his knob.

Cock.

aye, 5-1 i think that one was.

He now runs the Thistle Bar on Maryhill Road.  He's "done it up" very cheaply, and behind the bar are pics of him and the Celtic & Huns Masters teams (with him obviously playing for the Tims Masters) together...

FACE FACTS ... YOU NEVER PLAYED FOR SELLICK!!!

And on a saturday afternoon takes advantage of free entry to firhill so all the Thistle fans can metaphorically suck his knob.

Cock.

Fits the picture I was given about him.

Cock indeed.

I never forgave Aitken for binning Irvine and Booth, two players who played for the shirt at a time when we needed them the most.

He also laughed in Booth's face when he said he fancied trying continental football.  Next thing we know, he's playing for the recently crowned European Champions.

Believe he also binned McKimmie and Grant?

Aitken was an absolute fucking disaster for us. Almost as bad as Miller.

AAAAAAAAARRRRRGGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!

Discussing this whole sorry time brings back some terrible memories!!!

The worst being "that cunt" miller.  Anti football?  Miller was the godfather of anti football.  His tatics were so negative we were just about sucking in light.

still mystified what possessed Liverpool

If you've not noticed yet, Benitez is a f*cking plank, that's why

Just out of Interest, has anyone read Windass's book?

I flicked through it for about 20 minutes and if he wrote that book then he was in fact a total pleb. Sensationalist rubbish written by an amateur........or a primrary school kid, take your pick.

I never saw the man play in the flesh as I wasn't in Scotland at that time, but have seen footage. Looked to be a decent player to have about the place  ;D

AAAAAAAAARRRRRGGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!

Discussing this whole sorry time brings back some terrible memories!!!

The worst being "that cunt" miller.  Anti football?  Miller was the godfather of anti football.  His tatics were so negative we were just about sucking in light.

I knew i shouldn't read this thread. Every time liverpool are on the box, i rant about him the same as many others on this thread. Same with when you used to see aitken. To my mind they are responsible for some of the worst times i have ever witnessed at pittodrie. Admittedly i only started getting taken during fergies era, but miller has only been surpassed by patterson for utter shame and humiliation, along with some of the old firm games under ebbe.

I've tried hard to forget about his era, and purge some of the nightmares, but this thread is bringing some of the bad memories back.....  >:(