Joseph Lapira

Jimmy has come out today and said he is willing to sign him.  What an absolute non-story.

P&J: "Jimmy, you're a football manager, would you be interested in signing a player?"

Jiimmy "If he's good enough, aye"

Slow news day for the P&J?

So what do people think of this guy anyway?  Great tash, I say.  Can see the amount of tash's grown or stuck on if he turns out to be a hit and takes us to a cup final or something.

it's another punt and hope, i reckon. our track record of finding quality from the floods of trialists that wash up at todders isn't a great one, unfortunately. i mean, isn't this the US equivalent of junior fitba we're taking him from? nae exactly an auspicious sign, i'd suggest.

agree about the tache, like.

I'm hardly lued up on the in and outs of American sports - but are college sports not pretty big in the US and a prefered route for many into pro sport as it allows them a free college education incase they don't make it.  Hence, the college draft system in most US Sports?

Again, I'm not that clued up, but I doubt the level is that bad.  Can't see him being a Freddy Adu or a Landon Donovan - but beggars can't be choosers, eh?

Shamelessly pinching words from the mouth/fingertips of an erstwhile most loved/feared poster, currently frequenting another board:

This American trialist, whether he's fantastic or not, will bring some things to the club that are probably somewhat lacking.

American sportsmen, even amateurs, tend to be supremely fit and generally maintain their bodies as though they were meant to be athletic.

American athletes are generally very upbeat and have positive mental attitudes. They have a fighting spirit nd a will to win.

It's just the culture in the US.

Now I've no doubts that this dude, Joseph Lapira, takes his fitba, his training, his diet and his mental outlook very seriously indeed.

Whether folks think, ach he's pish, or not shouldn't be an issue.

American teams draft their players, primarily, from the college system. Virtually every sporting superstar in the US came through the college system. For this reason the College leagues are of a surprisingly high standard of quality and professionalism.

He might look like a pot-heided member of a popular 60's folk band, but I'll guarantee he's more disciplined, and has a far more professional attitude, than the majority of players currently plying their trade in the SPL.

Frankly, I'd be delighted to see American players come to Pittodrie.

And, oh look.. the sun's out and I'll be ****ed if that's no a butterfly sitting on the windae of my office.

Anyway, what a tache/mullet combo the lad's got.

Guest Millers Moustache

I wouldnt be surprised given our success of trailists that he actually plays AMERICAN football.  in which case hopefully he tries to tackle Ricky Foster and breaks him.

:)

Read in the Daily Express (I think), that Celtic are considering hijacking our bid for Lapira if they think he's any good.  They are asking that other US lad that they are signing to get some info on him.

Also, that we are looking at Notre Dame College goalkeeper (can't remember name - the paper is all the way through in the other room...might be Quinn or something?) whos father is from Newcastle.

I wouldnt be surprised given our success of trailists that he actually plays AMERICAN football.  in which case hopefully he tries to tackle Ricky Foster and breaks him.

:)

Why?

One of our better and probably most improved players this season.

Wouldn't there be a bigger danger of Ritchie "The Bomber" Bryne snapping the American lad in two with one of his wrestling moves?

On a side-note of US lads.  I see Dunfermline had a US youngster called Max Cream - porn star name if ever I herd one.  Add him to Lapira's Tash and Mullet and we could make millions in the adult entertainment industry.  That would eradicate our debt no hassle.

Just a thought here.....

....how many trophies have we won with a completely tache-less team compared to when we have at least one moustachioed first team regular?

I think you're onto something there MBT. Bobby Connor himself said in an interview with the sun (boo hiss) earlier this season that he thought Scottish football started going down the tubes because of the dearth of moustaches in the modern game. How many teams in the SPL have moustachioed players these days? It's a disgrace.

Just a thought here.....

....how many trophies have we won with a completely tache-less team compared to when we have at least one moustachioed first team regular?

I think you're onto something there MBT. Bobby Connor himself said in an interview with the sun (boo hiss) earlier this season that he thought Scottish football started going down the tubes because of the dearth of moustaches in the modern game. How many teams in the SPL have moustachioed players these days? It's a disgrace.

At our best we had Willie, Bobby Connor, Doug Bell............any others at that time?

Just a thought here.....

At our best we had Willie, Bobby Connor, Doug Bell............any others at that time?

Stewart Kennedy, Andy Watson and not forgetting Ian Scanlon's mighty beard... Even Peter Van De Ven sported an impressive lip-warming arrangement.