Dundee after Mulgrew

Dundee Declare Interest in Mulgrew

Ambitious First Division leaders Dundee have declared an interest in signing Aberdeen's Charlie Mulgrew.

The 23-year-old full-back is out of contract at the end of the season but the Dons are eager to keep him on.

A Dens Park source told BBC Scotland: "We have a definite policy at Dundee of only signing players who want to play for the club.

"But if Charlie wanted to be here we would definitely be interested in signing him."

Backed by the investment of Calum Melville, Dundee have been flexing financial muscle in a bid to return to the Scottish Premier League for the first time since they were relegated in 2005.

A summer signing spree saw Leigh Griffiths, Gary Harkins, Brian Kerr and Maros Klimpl arrive, along with several others, and the Dark Blues have opened up an eight-point lead at the top of the table.

Mulgrew's agent Kevin Drinkell told BBC Scotland: "If Dundee stepped forward with an interest in Charlie, then we would have to listen to them.

"We would listen to anyone who had options for him. Nothing has changed, talks are ongoing with Aberdeen and Charlie is committed to them."

Mulgrew started his career at Celtic and had a loan spell at Dundee United before a transfer to Wolves as part of the deal that saw Lee Naylor move to Celtic Park.

However, his first team opportunities were limited at Molineux and he was loaned out to Southend before his switch to Aberdeen in July 2008.

sorry if this has been posted already but just read it on the BBC website

I think the total obsession Dundee seem to have developed for anything and everything AFC is close to warranting 'the official let's all laugh at scumdee thread'.

They're like the ugly rich girl in school who constantly tries to bribe the pretty girls' boyfriends with promises of cash if they go around telling folk they rode her.

Kevin Drinkell = Super Agent

Good luck with Dundee next season, Charlie.

An indication of the wide regard that Mr Mulgrew is held in within the World game. Three years ago we were punting a fullback (with 6 months on his contract) to the Championship for £100k now we have a fullback whose only other option, other than us, is waiting for a Bosman to Dundee in the summer.

I assume the conversations went something like this;

Drinkell: "Aberdeen are only offering you half a bag of magic buttons and a fun-size Snickers for next season Chaz"

Chaz: "I'd forgive the Aberdeen for their derogatory offer if you can get me a half a bag of magic beans and a half of those Mars two little ones, elsewhere"

Drinkell "Well that's the thing Chaz everyone knows your a big fanny that hits about 1 in 100 set pieces well, but give me ten minutes I'll get something that will really noise up them sheep shaggers."

ring ring

Melville: "Hello"

Drinkell: "Wanna sign Mulgrew"

Melville: "Aye, but I da think he'll wanna sign for us..."

Drinkell: "but if he did???"

Melville: "Well obviously we'd be interested" (whispered: if he wisnae so pish)

click

Drinkell: "Right Chaz I've a story, for the daily hun, that can't fail..."

Dead-ball specialist Mulgrew, 23, is reportedly a target for big-spending Irn-Bru First Division leaders Dundee as he enters the final six months of his Pittodrie deal.

Aberdeen have offered the player a new contract but director of football Miller said: "Dundee are perfectly within their rights to make approaches for players who are out of contract in the summer.

"We have offered Mulgrew a very good deal in an attempt to get him to remain at the club.

"We have offered him a new, improved deal because he is a player we want.

"If he wants to stay then, hopefully, he will sign that deal. If he was to accept, we would be delighted.

"But if he decides not to it's up to him to negotiate an offer with another club.

"If that becomes the case we will find a replacement as we have done for other players in the past. That is the nature of football."

But if he decides not to it's up to him to negotiate an offer with another club. If that becomes the case we will find a replacement as we have done for other players in the past. That is the nature of football.

Basically "Charlie, we value your deadball skills, but yer more than replaceable!"