3 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

The Bungles min. Wa'k like an Egyptian 

Never really watched Rainbow, Geoffrey freaked me out

1 hour ago, OxfordDon said:

Never really watched Rainbow, Geoffrey freaked me out

Nae wonder, he was a big Dundee United fan.

Been on the golf course 

Are we officially out yet or are we still kidding ourselves on 🤔

Croatia up 1-0 .... Jist need Ghana tae score 4 ... A caker Ah'd reckon, eh? 

tom_widdows
Posted (edited)

Croatia winning so still a 0.0000000000000000000000000000000001% chance.

Fun part is now the english commentator is sounding nervous as Croatia currently topping the group meaning Kane and co would get portugal or columbia in the knockouts instead of a 3rd place team

Edited by tom_widdows
STFU_Donny
10 minutes ago, tom_widdows said:

Croatia winning so still a 0.0000000000000000000000000000000001% chance.

Fun part is now the english commentator is sounding nervous as Croatia currently topping the group meaning Kane and co would get portugal or columbia in the knockouts instead of a 3rd place team

Yeah but if they top the group they’ll be at the Azteca in round of 16 to play Mexico (assuming both make it through). Pretty sure I heard commentators say Mexico has only lost twice in that stadium ever.

STFU_Donny

It’s increasingly looking like 4 points will be required to get through in third place, maybe with the exception of 8th spot. Just adds to the frustration of our shitebag performances playing with fear trying not to lose by too much, defeated before a ball is even kicked vs Morocco and Brazil. 
There are ways to lose matches, the very least you can do is battle and go down fighting. 

2 hours ago, BigAl said:

Been on the golf course 

Are we officially out yet or are we still kidding ourselves on 🤔

IMG_0104.gif.0f03af3534bf95a744e39e9a674dea0e.gif

Posted (edited)

Yet another glorious failure. Interesting looking at teams and players who represent countries based on parents and grandparents being born in the country they represent, but not the player. I truly feel a small country like us is cutting our noses off to spite our faces not doing a better job here, especially with our current standing and modern football when African nations, middle eastern teams, even North American teams are now a factor. Id compare it to a club manager convincing a player to sign for his team over others.
I know I’m in the clear minority, but I think we should have done more with Harvey Barnes and even Elliot Anderson. Maybe we tried, who knows, but did we really try? Interesting listening to Stu Holden on US tv, quite like his commentary, ex US internationalist, very similar type of player to Ryan Christie, and born in Aberdeen. Wonder if we ever tried to get him.

the US have done whatever it takes to find players with US roots over the last 20 years, has really helped the development of US soccer, def think we should consider this to an extent.

Edited by OrlandoDon
1 hour ago, STFU_Donny said:

It’s increasingly looking like 4 points will be required to get through in third place, maybe with the exception of 8th spot.

Aye, I quite like that. Not much different to any other world cup basically (and all the stats things were likely pish - 90% chance with -1 goal difference). If DRC win and Austria draw with Algeria, then that basically eliminates any team that finished on three but didn't score more than they lost. That seems fair. Mildly amusing if the fairytale of Cape Verde is removed to. That'll ruin the day of plenty commentators. Three draws, despite being very impressive for them, shouldn't get a team through either. 

4 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

Yet another glorious failure. Interesting looking at teams and players who represent countries based on parents and grandparents being born in the country they represent, but not the player. I truly feel a small country like us is cutting our noses off to spite our faces not doing a better job here, especially with our current standing and modern football when African nations, middle eastern teams, even North American teams are now a factor. Id compare it to a club manager convincing a player to sign for his team over others.
I know I’m in the clear minority, but I think we should have done more with Harvey Barnes and even Elliot Anderson. Maybe we tried, who knows, but did we really try? Interesting listening to Stu Holden on US tv, quite like his commentary, ex US internationalist, very similar type of player to Ryan Christie, and born in Aberdeen. Wonder if we ever tried to get him.

the US have done whatever it takes to find players with US roots over the last 20 years, has really helped the development of US soccer, def think we should consider this to an extent.

Anyone who is willing to play for Scotland and is good at fitba has been tried. We've got Dode Hirst in the squad, we'll literally give any cunt a game if they say their Scottish. We're not missing a trick in that regard, we're just a small country that doesn't have particularly high immigration. 

OrlandoDon
Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Anyone who is willing to play for Scotland and is good at fitba has been tried. We've got Dode Hirst in the squad, we'll literally give any cunt a game if they say their Scottish. We're not missing a trick in that regard, we're just a small country that doesn't have particularly high immigration. 

You think? There’s a ton of Scot’s out there not living in Britain? Especially over here, I’ve coached here for close to 30 years and the amount of Scot’s I meet through footie is huge.

Edited by OrlandoDon