Tuesday 12th May 2026,  kick-off 7.45pm

Scottish Premiership - Aberdeen v St Mirren

Aberdeen v Dundee United

And there we are. Mathematically safe with 2 games to go. Some achievement. Go us.

That game had distinct end of season vibes. A familiar recent pattern too, decent first half then a rather ropey second. Fitness is clearly an issue, Aremu being a glaring example. Second half he ran like he was towing a caravan and was breathing out his arse - again.

Fair play, Olusanya had a good game today and deserved a goal (even he couldn’t miss that). He does cause problems and offers a physicality we’ve been badly missing, but surely we can sign a striker who offers that and can also play football. 

While I give no credit to that bin fire of a squad after the shit show of this season, full credit to Robinson for getting enough out of them to get us safe.

Fucked over the buds by coming here when he did which helped us out & got some structure in place at last to at least make that lot difficult to beat.

Now, bin at least 80% of that squad, do recruitment this summer like the diets & well did last summer & lets never talk of this season again…

• Like 3

Please tell me that nobody invaded the pitch to celebrate our safety being confirmed today.

1 minute ago, swaddon said:

Please tell me that nobody invaded the pitch to celebrate our safety being confirmed today.

Only Cormack…

• Haha 2
21 minutes ago, tlg1903 said:

Delighted for him, he's had a great game 

He sure did. 

Wasn’t a great game and I’m surprised Nisbet lasted so long, he wasn’t at it for most of the match. 

Aremu and Geiger did well today i thought. 

6 minutes ago, The.Moog said:

Only Cormack…

I meant proper fans of the club.

Just back. Good win, and once again just a hard fought, direct, pragmatic victory. Well done Robinson. We deserved the win, although they had a good 20 minute spell at the start of the second and we took too long to make changes again. I can understand why, when you look at the options, but not subbing Geiger could have cost us, and Aremu too, and Milne was poor. I think he would have happily subbed Nisbet or Olusanya had he not been forced into the other changes, which is fair enough. Shinnie good when he came on, Geiger half decent, the back three played well and Olusanya just caused them problems all day despite being terrible at football. Gyamfi and Milne not great, Devlin and Frame much better when they came on. The ref was new, and was actually quite good. However, there is zero point in VAR if neither of those pens is given. I'm happy to see it ignore handballs and trips where the player has gone down quite easily, but then you leave virtually zero decisions where it is actually clear and obvious rather than subjective. We don't have goal line technology because it only covers one goal a season, VAR is the same if we apply the subjectivity shown today. A complete waste.

Anyway, chance we could be bringing home silverware for the second season running if we can get another couple of wins. The bottom six trophy coming to Pittodrie would be massive.

wester_ross_don
1 hour ago, The.Moog said:

Only Cormack…

He'll have thanked the football gods too

Posted (edited)

I love beating those deluded arseholes in a fixture that is really their cup final. 

Their manager is a fraud, and their Funso Ojo-assaulting numbskull Fair Play award-winning losers-at-life supporters are fucking morons.

I despise them almost as much as I hate those cocksuckers from Glasgow. 
They’re Grade A fannies.

Apart from the foregoing, I have no particularly strong feelings on the matter.
Yours in sport etc

Edited by blinlemon
Not enough hate in the initial draft.
  • Like 3
STFU_Donny
3 hours ago, swaddon said:

No but one of the PJMs had their shoe thrown on the pitch and when the steward was refusing to return it, it looked like it was going to kick-off in the away end. 

• Haha 2

First win over United since Ambrose's late winner early in the Thelin era?

Thought Gyamfi, Aremu, Geiger, Armstrong and Nisbet all had good games in the first half. Nisbet actually was playing off the left at times which was interesting, United didn't know who should be marking who and we were moving their defence about. Think all of them were a shadow of themselves in the second half though, and it took Shinnie and Frame coming on in particular to turn the tide back our way. 

If Olusanya can learn to finish he could be our next Shayden Morris. Can't fault his desire and willingness to run at defences. Chuffed he got a goal. 

Gyamfi and Frame offer a nice dilemma as to who should be playing. Gyamfi can't last 90 minutes just now though, but his physicality was a big attribute today, but Frame is a menace and is good at finding space.

After the St Mirren defeat, I was genuinely worried for us, wasn't sure we had it in us to beat anyone. Since then we've taken 10 points from 12 with three clean sheets. He wasn't a popular appointment, and there's still sections of the support he has yet to win over, but you can't deny Robinson has done a fine job over the last five weeks.

• Like 7
OrlandoDon
17 minutes ago, Panda said:

First win over United since Ambrose's late winner early in the Thelin era?

Thought Gyamfi, Aremu, Geiger, Armstrong and Nisbet all had good games in the first half. Nisbet actually was playing off the left at times which was interesting, United didn't know who should be marking who and we were moving their defence about. Think all of them were a shadow of themselves in the second half though, and it took Shinnie and Frame coming on in particular to turn the tide back our way. 

If Olusanya can learn to finish he could be our next Shayden Morris. Can't fault his desire and willingness to run at defences. Chuffed he got a goal. 

Gyamfi and Frame offer a nice dilemma as to who should be playing. Gyamfi can't last 90 minutes just now though, but his physicality was a big attribute today, but Frame is a menace and is good at finding space.

After the St Mirren defeat, I was genuinely worried for us, wasn't sure we had it in us to beat anyone. Since then we've taken 10 points from 12 with three clean sheets. He wasn't a popular appointment, and there's still sections of the support he has yet to win over, but you can't deny Robinson has done a fine job over the last five weeks.

Was thinking about Robinson today too, not who I wanted but he’s passed the first test. We’re better defensively, getting clean sheets, creating chances, scoring goals, and winning games. And we’re now safe and can relax and sleep a little better. It’s by no means a great watch but it isn’t awful either. 
Keen to see players linked now that we’re safe, pre contracts, players being told they can leave etc. out of interest, can Marshall play in the last two games? Maybe 20 mins each game to get a look??

TheDonbytheDee

Not long back!

Knew we'd win, but also felt we needed a second to see it over the line.

The Joot players do like to go down like they have been shot, one in the first half was like a salmon leaping in the Dee. Ref gave a foul too.

I know the ref, Duncan Nicholson, he's 6ft 7" tall and didn't take much shyte. I thought he did fine.

Still called him a useless c*nt afterwards though, but he is actually a fine loon.

Robinson has done what he was asked and cleared us of relegation/play off worries.

We're still not great, but we look like a team for the first spell this season.

I'm happy he scored and appreciate his hard work, but Olusanya shouldn't be signed.

Geiger is one angry man on a football pitch. I don't suppose playing bottom six fitba in Scotland, was on his footballing bucket list. 

Knowing he had issues at his German club, suspects me to think we might dodge a bullet if he doesn't stick around and nothing to do with his ability.

Red Shed was a lot more vocal yesterday. The first time in a good while they have sang so much during a game and was good to see/hear. 

The Dons are back baby!

Blow.Up.Sheep
On 08/05/2026 at 12:30, Blow.Up.Sheep said:

jutes to finish the game with 10men.

Cmon Aberdeen jist fkn win it 

well well well First time for everything I suppose. I might not have predicted the correct score line but I did predict they would end the game with ten men 👍
I am nae getting over excited or caried away yet, but fair play to Robinson, it does look like he is steadying the ship and making us a bit more difficult to play against and beat, so well done on that front SR. Still a helluva long way to go tho.

We looked reasonable in the highlights, and fair play to olusanya for creating and scoring, but fuck me, some of those other chances were unforgivable. I really hope we don’t sign him. We have to do better than that and cannot for the life of me understand the revisionism happening on twitter about him. He’s pish. Always has been, and always will be.

STFU_Donny

I wouldn’t be adverse to Olusanya signing. From memory he’s gotten 3 players sent off, won a penalty, won the free kick at Livi for our second goal, set up at least one other chance at Livi for Armstrong or Geiger, assist and goal yesterday. 

His pace and physicality is something we’ve been lacking this season. He’s contributed more than Topi since he’s been here (maybe that’s a low bar over the last few months). 

blinlemon

I popped back into The Most Recent of the Auld Sites min, Jeff ye radgy fupper o Fupp min etc etc, to witness what carnage Mason visited on The Thickest Fans In All Fitba after yesterday’s welcome extirpation of the hoors’ abortions. The boy done good. 🤗

I note that even my erstwhile raging stalker, the thick-as-stovies-in-a-flask wanker Stokiearab, has trained his pathetic peashooter fire in the direction of Dunbartonshire rather than Banffshire. 

I’m convinced, more than ever, that their collective IQ is not far ahead of either Livingston’s or Rothes’s points total.  

They still talk of some non-existent concept “the New Firm”. Ferguson 10 McLean 3. 

Fucking fannies. 

• Thanks 1
  • Haha 2
Posted (edited)

There was a valid question asked after Thelin was bagged and Leven got nothing out of this shower for weeks as to whether we’d have been better just sticking with the Swede.

Fair question then, not now. Robinson’s got way more out of this lot than Thelin or Leven ever did. He’s got them setup much better, they seem to know what they are doing, and the giving away of stupid set piece goals has slowed considerably - I must say Morrison is growing on me, had a good game yesterday.

We’ll never know for sure, but I think we’d have gone down with Leven remaining in place. He got absolutely no response from them at all.

I think its very likely we’d have gone down with Thelin still in place as he was far too stubborn, his style of play was completely wrong for this league, his defence was an absolute joke, and frankly I don’t think the players knew what they were supposed to be doing most of the time.

Robinson’s come in and achieved his one clear target for this year - and lets be honest, after that game in Paisley that looked pretty unlikely too. Can’t ask any more than that.

He’s growing on me too, be interesting to see where he can take us from here…

Edited by The.Moog
  • Like 3
wee toon red
3 hours ago, manc_don said:

We looked reasonable in the highlights, and fair play to olusanya for creating and scoring, but fuck me, some of those other chances were unforgivable. I really hope we don’t sign him. We have to do better than that and cannot for the life of me understand the revisionism happening on twitter about him. He’s pish. Always has been, and always will be.

Aye, we’d have been much better off without him yesterday so let’s hope we don’t have him ever again.

blinlemon

Onybody passing by Calforth Construction Arena at Tannadice Park 😂 today might want to tug aside the vegetable sacking acting as a curtain for their desolate boardroom to check that the engraver has carved “runners-up to Aberdeen in Our Cup Final 9 May 2026” on the midden’s “honours board” alongside the 5 Dewar Shields, 7 Forfarshire Cups, the Funso Ojo Fair Play award, and “Quizball second round, 1968”. 

Thanks now.