THFN1983 Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago Just out of curiosity, what are supporters recollections of the aftermath of our playoff win over Dunfermline in season 94/95? Being a Weegie Dons fan of 14 at the time I don't really recall much about what happened next such as if there were wholesale changes? If there were grand proclamations made by the Chairman? If there was an exodus of players? If there was an overhaul of the prawcess ? etc. Anyone offer up any personal memories of this period of AFC's history and what the summer before the 95/96 season was like and how that season began? Quote
tlg1903 Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 14 minutes ago, THFN1983 said: Just out of curiosity, what are supporters recollections of the aftermath of our playoff win over Dunfermline in season 94/95? Being a Weegie Dons fan of 14 at the time I don't really recall much about what happened next such as if there were wholesale changes? If there were grand proclamations made by the Chairman? If there was an exodus of players? If there was an overhaul of the prawcess ? etc. Anyone offer up any personal memories of this period of AFC's history and what the summer before the 95/96 season was like and how that season began? We spent a million on Bernard in Sept 95 which was quite the grand proclamation at the time Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago A different time back then, internet was still in its infancy, so forums and Social Media were not available and most gripes were dealt with through the papers. The Green Final, being a particular place to read reviews about our hopes. Ed Webster of Errol Place, Aberdeen, being a particular regular letter writer over the years and often wonder if he ever discovered forums. I don't think we believed it would be as bad as what happened the previous season, but what did we know... Quote
The.Moog Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 46 minutes ago, THFN1983 said: Just out of curiosity, what are supporters recollections of the aftermath of our playoff win over Dunfermline in season 94/95? Being a Weegie Dons fan of 14 at the time I don't really recall much about what happened next such as if there were wholesale changes? If there were grand proclamations made by the Chairman? If there was an exodus of players? If there was an overhaul of the prawcess ? etc. Anyone offer up any personal memories of this period of AFC's history and what the summer before the 95/96 season was like and how that season began? I was at both games. Though I don’t really remember too much about what ensued after that season, what I do remember is watching the pitch invasion at EEP at full time and thinking “have we really come to this”? I get the relief, elation etc we as a support felt for getting out of jail that year - I felt it too - I just also felt rather embarrassed for us as a club watching it. Still, at least it’ll never happen again I thought at the time, yet here we are - again… Quote
Panda Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago We actually had an exceptional team. Someone said on another thread they'd win the league these days, and they probably could. Snelders in goal. McKimmie and Irvine were very good defenders. Jess, Bernard (who wasn't worth £1m but wasn't terrible either), Grant, Glass, Miller. Shearer, Dodds, Booth and Windass to pick from up front. But, was wasted by a shite manager. Aitken gave us a boost to keep us up, and did win a league cup, but maybe he couldn't fail with that group of players, which he then dismantled in order to hasten the failure. I think you look at Hearts, who slowly progressed after that and two years later were challenging for the title and winning the cup, while we were back struggling again with a pretty terrible team. Ridiculous how bad the drop off was from the players in that team to 97-98. Leighton (a legend, but was 39 by then). Grant replaced by Kiriakov, Sheare & Booth by Newell, Irvine by O'Neil, etc. 1 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago 16 minutes ago, The.Moog said: I was at both games. Though I don’t really remember too much about what ensued after that season, what I do remember is watching the pitch invasion at EEP at full time and thinking “have we really come to this”? I get the relief, elation etc we as a support felt for getting out of jail that year - I felt it too - I just also felt rather embarrassed for us as a club watching it. Still, at least it’ll never happen again I thought at the time, yet here we are - again… Sheer relief min. It felt like we were down, but picked up points that put us in the play off and survive to fight another day. One of the best times following us, were those last few weeks of the season. When you see the players we had at that time, it was ludicrous that we were in so much trouble. 1 Quote
The.Moog Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago (edited) 1 hour ago, TheDonbytheDee said: Sheer relief min. It felt like we were down, but picked up points that put us in the play off and survive to fight another day. One of the best times following us, were those last few weeks of the season. When you see the players we had at that time, it was ludicrous that we were in so much trouble. I know it was, and I genuinely got it. It was a great bounce at EEP that day, but I just couldn’t go on the pitch. A club like Aberdeen should never be in a position like that - worrying about potential relegation in this league - and the fact we have been several times since, is just such a damning indictment of how chronically mismanaged this club has been for decades now... Edited 2 hours ago by The.Moog 1 Quote
Jormungandr Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago Was just talking about the Red Final book 'Never Again' wi my dad. Agree Moog min. And along those lines - I dinna want to tempt fate so I'm not gonna say it outright - but should a certain unthinkable thing happen in future then I dinna even want to see a smile on a face, let alone celebrations, when it's ultimately rectified. Quote
Kowalski Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago 2 hours ago, Panda said: We actually had an exceptional team. Someone said on another thread they'd win the league these days, and they probably could. Snelders in goal. McKimmie and Irvine were very good defenders. Jess, Bernard (who wasn't worth £1m but wasn't terrible either), Grant, Glass, Miller. Shearer, Dodds, Booth and Windass to pick from up front. But, was wasted by a shite manager. Aitken gave us a boost to keep us up, and did win a league cup, but maybe he couldn't fail with that group of players, which he then dismantled in order to hasten the failure. I think you look at Hearts, who slowly progressed after that and two years later were challenging for the title and winning the cup, while we were back struggling again with a pretty terrible team. Ridiculous how bad the drop off was from the players in that team to 97-98. Leighton (a legend, but was 39 by then). Grant replaced by Kiriakov, Sheare & Booth by Newell, Irvine by O'Neil, etc. Didn’t Aitken get rid of Booth and Irvine at a poor time, given they were two who were playing for the shirt when we were pish? I can’t remember the exact timing though. Quote
Kowalski Posted 1 hour ago Report Posted 1 hour ago Bernard wasn’t worth £1M and seemed to be injury prone but he was a fucking good player. Quote
BigAl Posted 55 minutes ago Report Posted 55 minutes ago The one and only time I have gone on to the pitch at full time was at EEP. Let's remember in the previous fifteen years or so I had enjoyed watching my team win league titles and cups left right and centre. This was alien territory to me to witness potential relegation and was all about sheer unadulterated relief. The one overwhelming factor for me as I remember it was that the fans never turned their back on the team and I genuinely believe the players fed off that energy. It wasn't long until.we were winners again, both in terms of the League Cup win as a team and individually with a certain Stephen Glass winning his Coca Cola branded mountain bike for his MOTM performance Unfortunately I'm not sure our team or support of 2025/26 possess what is required to pull us through this time around. On the subject of Paul Bernard, he was a lot better player than his stats might suggest and after signing him for £1m i genuinely believe we could have sold him for many times that figure if we could only have kept him fit. Even a 50% fit Bernard would walk straight into our current line up. Quote
BigAl Posted 39 minutes ago Report Posted 39 minutes ago 1 hour ago, Kowalski said: Didn’t Aitken get rid of Booth and Irvine at a poor time, given they were two who were playing for the shirt when we were pish? I can’t remember the exact timing though. Aitken not responsible for Booth leaving as he signed for Dortmund under freedom of contract. Not sure if he was but he might have been the first player we lost under the Bosman ruling Quote