Bukta Bertie Posted Wednesday at 13:18 Report Posted Wednesday at 13:18 2 minutes ago, Ajja said: Would normally agree but I have a little more trust on Michael Grant Fair enough. If Horneland does fall through do you have an alternative preference? Quote
DantheDon Posted Wednesday at 14:01 Report Posted Wednesday at 14:01 The club are going to have egg on their face if it’s back to the drawing board. They were speaking of an imminent appointment last week, maybe they should have been a bit more cautious if this is true. Obviously (if true) disappointing to miss out on the number one candidate aswell, I know there are mixed opinions on Horneland but if you trust the process that has been followed he has come out of that as the standout candidate. Quote
Ajja Posted Wednesday at 14:20 Report Posted Wednesday at 14:20 54 minutes ago, Bukta Bertie said: Fair enough. If Horneland does fall through do you have an alternative preference? Tbh I’m pretty scunnered with it all. It’s starting to feel like them chasing shadows with Gerard/Rhol/Muscat/Rhol. Optics are honking. I’ve said previously that we are playing the risk game of trying to target managers who have done something interesting but lost their mojo somewhere (as we are with players). If we can get a tune out of one of them then it’s brilliant but so often there are valid reasons why they are available to us that don’t turn out well. It’s like we are repeatedly panning for gold. On balance, I’d probably hope we keep panning and dream of a lump of gold appearing rather than mining the talent of ‘they know the Scottish game’ and knowing that it’s likely to unearth the square root of fuck all. Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted Wednesday at 15:37 Report Posted Wednesday at 15:37 1 hour ago, Ajja said: Tbh I’m pretty scunnered with it all. It’s starting to feel like them chasing shadows with Gerard/Rhol/Muscat/Rhol. Optics are honking. I’ve said previously that we are playing the risk game of trying to target managers who have done something interesting but lost their mojo somewhere (as we are with players). If we can get a tune out of one of them then it’s brilliant but so often there are valid reasons why they are available to us that don’t turn out well. It’s like we are repeatedly panning for gold. On balance, I’d probably hope we keep panning and dream of a lump of gold appearing rather than mining the talent of ‘they know the Scottish game’ and knowing that it’s likely to unearth the square root of fuck all. I'm wanting Horneland now. It's a classic "Dandies always get their man" scenario or is that the Mounties not sure. It'll be an affront if we don't get him. However if it does fall through I'd be consoled by the fact we would probably then go and take that Danish lad away from Motherwell. It's all good. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago Horneland was asked last night, whilst TV commentating for a game in Norway, if he will be the next Aberdeen manager. His answer was apparently no. Quote
irnbru1903 Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago It does seem unlikely that he will be coming here. Either way it seems as a club we never learn. Waiting for MM to see if anything better came along and unsurprisingly nothing did and he became one of our worst managers ever. Horneland might be the new messiah but I will be shocked if he is ours. Quote
Mason89 Posted 12 hours ago Report Posted 12 hours ago Anyone heard from the Beach End Boy Dave Cormack? Normally you can’t shut him up Quote
Panda Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago From P&J, Horneland was asked: “There are a lot of rumours about you and Aberdeen. “Are you going to become their new manager?” Horneland replied: “To you? Today? Really (appearing reluctant to discuss the subject).” On whether he is going to become Aberdeen’s new manager, he then added: “No. “First I’ll have a little, short break. Then we’ll see what happens in the summer.” Think there's a few ways to interpret that. Like I said before, is this guy really worth the effort? He did well at Brann, but plenty of other choices out there. 1 Quote
Ajja Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago If there is a contractual agreement wrapped around him in terms of next job and it carries significant financial return then I’d be surprised if he answered yes to that question. Suspect that Lutz has been pushing the idea that we should wait until summer as the market is poor this time of year, he has said as much. If they are looking at a strategic appointment to shape the squad long term (date I say a 3 year project ) then he will know summer is a better time. The Horneland discussion possibly presents a convenient get out. Whether it’s him or not, we are clearly waiting so we may as well get our heads down and accept it’s Leven and Doc who’ll be lifting the cup. 1 1 Quote
wee toon red Posted 11 hours ago Report Posted 11 hours ago 51 minutes ago, Panda said: From P&J, Horneland was asked: “There are a lot of rumours about you and Aberdeen. “Are you going to become their new manager?” Horneland replied: “To you? Today? Really (appearing reluctant to discuss the subject).” On whether he is going to become Aberdeen’s new manager, he then added: “No. “First I’ll have a little, short break. Then we’ll see what happens in the summer.” Think there's a few ways to interpret that. Like I said before, is this guy really worth the effort? He did well at Brann, but plenty of other choices out there. The P&J guy has since clarified - or been forced to clarify - on X that "no" is an out of context quote and "no, not yet" is more accurate. 3 Quote
Dougal Posted 9 hours ago Report Posted 9 hours ago I would take most journalism with a pinch of salt. If he's got some personal stuff going on as reported then it's probably the furthest thing from his mind. We've got Doc and Leven in place anyway so just need to wait until something else is sorted. 1 Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 8 hours ago Report Posted 8 hours ago After that I'd suggest it's looking even more likely he's coming not less. I'm going 95% he's arriving in time for the LC group stage matches. Quote
irnbru1903 Posted 8 hours ago Report Posted 8 hours ago 32 minutes ago, Bukta Bertie said: After that I'd suggest it's looking even more likely he's coming not less. I'm going 95% he's arriving in time for the LC group stage matches. Took you for an optimistic sort. Thought it would have been the Euro qualifiers you would be aiming for after our cup win. Quote
Bukta Bertie Posted 6 hours ago Report Posted 6 hours ago 1 hour ago, irnbru1903 said: Took you for an optimistic sort. Thought it would have been the Euro qualifiers you would be aiming for after our cup win. I am optimistic but I'm also a pragmatic realist. We will lose once we face the winners of Celtic / Rangers. Hopefully that won't be until the final. Quote
Ajja Posted 5 hours ago Report Posted 5 hours ago (edited) I’m more confident of our ability to beat either of them this season than I was last. On balance I’d prefer to face Celtic as we would have Cameron driving from midfield. ….and if it needs saying, get them out the cup/every competition going as soon as possible, always, every time, without fail. Edited 5 hours ago by Ajja 1 Quote
tlg1903 Posted 4 hours ago Report Posted 4 hours ago 50 minutes ago, Ajja said: I’m more confident of our ability to beat either of them this season than I was last. On balance I’d prefer to face Celtic as we would have Cameron driving from midfield. ….and if it needs saying, get them out the cup/every competition going as soon as possible, always, every time, without fail. Aye defo rooting for the tims in that QF for that very reason. Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago 1 hour ago, tlg1903 said: Aye defo rooting for the tims in that QF for that very reason. Won't be rooting for them, but my preference is they win it. We just shouldn't entertain these loans, we should be above begging them for rejects on loan or young players to improve. Quote
tlg1903 Posted 3 hours ago Report Posted 3 hours ago 9 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said: Won't be rooting for them, but my preference is they win it. We just shouldn't entertain these loans, we should be above begging them for rejects on loan or young players to improve. I am hopeful of keeping Cameron if he does well enough 2bf, he seems really happy to be here and I don't think Rohl has much interest in him. 2 Quote
TheDonbytheDee Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 20 minutes ago, tlg1903 said: I am hopeful of keeping Cameron if he does well enough 2bf, he seems really happy to be here and I don't think Rohl has much interest in him. We'll see come summer, but I'm not ready to join his fanclub yet. Quote
tlg1903 Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 8 minutes ago, TheDonbytheDee said: We'll see come summer, but I'm not ready to join his fanclub yet. Nor I, he hasn't been shit but yet to light up a game. Quote