Kowalski Posted Sunday at 12:49 Report Posted Sunday at 12:49 23 hours ago, tlg1903 said: Scott booth Badly mis-managed by our physios at the time. Went to Europe and got a “special sock” or something which seemed to resolve things. Quote
tlg1903 Posted Sunday at 13:07 Report Posted Sunday at 13:07 17 minutes ago, Kowalski said: Badly mis-managed by our physios at the time. Went to Europe and got a “special sock” or something which seemed to resolve things. Fair Quote
Ajja Posted Sunday at 15:37 Report Posted Sunday at 15:37 Feels like the major shift in strategy has been to move away from buying development projects that someone else has given up on. We’re now firmly in the territory of hardened lower level professionals which feels like Robinson’s MO. Let’s hope we haven’t completely abandoned the part that brings actual footballers. 2 Quote
OrlandoDon Posted Sunday at 16:42 Report Posted Sunday at 16:42 (edited) 1 hour ago, Ajja said: Feels like the major shift in strategy has been to move away from buying development projects that someone else has given up on. We’re now firmly in the territory of hardened lower level professionals which feels like Robinson’s MO. Let’s hope we haven’t completely abandoned the part that brings actual footballers. I don’t think it’s a shift. The squad is all about balance, cant be all Scot’s, all foreigners, all domestic, all project players, all youth etc. It’s also balance between needs, wants, availability, and affordability, and who we can ultimately get to come. I’d suggest mitov tobers knoester devlin shinnie nisbet nilsen and Armstrong, plus karlsson, were all meant to be the experienced spine and leadership of the team last year. That’s decent balance between them and youth, on paper looked good and made sense, plus palaversa and aouchiche who were young talent who had lost their way. It just didn’t work out that way for various reasons. weve replaced shinnie tobers and nilsen with leaders and grafters in mayo happe lyons and maybe breidl, none are young but all have a reputation of being competitive and leaders, what we ultimately lacked. I think there’s a lot of judgement on the recruitment to date, but the essentials are being put in place. By no means glamor, but needed for balance. i still think lobban frame gyamfi bilalovic and Kjarten have a place in the squad, maybe even topi and Jensen, all players who need the experience and leadership alongside that they didn’t really get this year. Olusanya has been our third best forward in recent years, behind bojan and nisbet, he has value and can be effective in our league. I’d place duk in the karlsson bucket of a player we don’t want. I wonder if Olusanya and nisbet could work as a front two like shankland and Adam’s yesterday (poor example I know), provided we have two good right and left mids. Saying that, i still feel we need a legit starting 9, I don’t think nisbet is that good. If we sign a Hayes and mcginn (big if), even a Morris and hedges, we’re a completely different team. These are the two positions this summer we have to get right and positions I’ll judge the club on. I’d take bojan back in a heartbeat, modern football is purely about money and winning. But getting a legit forward means nothing if we dont sign players to provide service. Again, poor example, but doak and Christie were very good yesterday, and all of a sudden our forwards get chances. And goals. just as important, milanovic yengi lazetic and palaversa need moved on asap. Cant punt everyone, but then its topi gyamfi molloy and Jensen if there’s better replacements available. Edited Sunday at 16:47 by OrlandoDon Quote
swaddon Posted Sunday at 17:07 Report Posted Sunday at 17:07 I think we should adopt an Athletic Bilbao-style policy by only signing players from the North East of Scotland. 4 Quote
Panda Posted Sunday at 17:13 Report Posted Sunday at 17:13 22 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: Olusanya has been our third best forward in recent years, behind bojan and nisbet, 2 Quote
OrlandoDon Posted Sunday at 18:00 Report Posted Sunday at 18:00 39 minutes ago, Panda said: Very low bar I know, but maybe sokler was better?? I suppose going back 5 years i’d certainly take Christian Ramirez ahead of him. But Watkins lazetic Ambrose dabbagh Samuels JET markanday, wouldn’t consider pape gueye a legit forward, more a 10. Painful bunch. Quote
Mason89 Posted Sunday at 18:28 Report Posted Sunday at 18:28 1 hour ago, swaddon said: I think we should adopt an Athletic Bilbao-style policy by only signing players from the North East of Scotland. That would be quite interesting if you could only use players born within the postcode. Aberdeen would do quite well, St. Mirren would have a huge pool of players & both Hibs & Hearts would remain shite Worth a go 1 Quote
Radiored Posted Sunday at 22:00 Report Posted Sunday at 22:00 (edited) Looking at what we've brought in, and what we hope to add, where does Armstrong fit in? .... Is he the 'new Shinnie'? ... as in, he get's a couple of seasons where he only plays 45 mins per game? I personally believe he has not lived up to the hype and would wish him well on his way elsewhere .... hopefully for a decent fee (while his reputation is still largely intact) ..... £400k prob best Ah'd expect. Edited Sunday at 22:02 by Radiored Quote
tlg1903 Posted Sunday at 22:25 Report Posted Sunday at 22:25 19 minutes ago, Radiored said: Looking at what we've brought in, and what we hope to add, where does Armstrong fit in? .... Is he the 'new Shinnie'? ... as in, he get's a couple of seasons where he only plays 45 mins per game? I personally believe he has not lived up to the hype and would wish him well on his way elsewhere .... hopefully for a decent fee (while his reputation is still largely intact) ..... £400k prob best Ah'd expect. I think that's a bit harsh. Armstrong was defo one of the stronger contributors for us this season and I think if you put him in a team that can dominate physically he's going to have a lot more freedom on the ball. This is not a player you want to be doing loads of leg work like he's had to this season. But he has done it, he's a good team mate and I have high hopes for Armstrong next season as he has guile which is rare in Scottish football. 4 Quote
Radiored Posted Sunday at 22:30 Report Posted Sunday at 22:30 Aye weel, Ah hope yer right ... Ah do like the guy, and agree, in a mair 'assertive' team he can dae a job .... but dinna be surprised if he ends up bein' awarded Shinnie's 'legs are gone' badge by a few on this forum an' beyond 1 Quote
Radiored Posted Sunday at 22:36 Report Posted Sunday at 22:36 ... tae follow up tho .... as a 'fun' trivia question. If he's performing well, and a defo on the team sheet, where does Robinson play him? And who loses out but appears on the bench tae sub him out? (..like should his legs 'go' ). Ah'm askin' cos Ah dinna hae a clue 1 Quote
wee toon red Posted 19 hours ago Report Posted 19 hours ago Armstrong will back up/rotate with Ronan (assuming that goes through) as the more attack minded centre mid. Briedl, Aremu, Lyons will be the more solid, defensively-minded options. Findlay Marshall gives us the sixth player for a three man midfield, assuming Kjartansson goes on loan and Palaversa departs. Quote
tlg1903 Posted 15 hours ago Report Posted 15 hours ago 13 hours ago, Radiored said: Aye weel, Ah hope yer right ... Ah do like the guy, and agree, in a mair 'assertive' team he can dae a job .... but dinna be surprised if he ends up bein' awarded Shinnie's 'legs are gone' badge by a few on this forum an' beyond I hope I'm right too 13 hours ago, Radiored said: ... tae follow up tho .... as a 'fun' trivia question. If he's performing well, and a defo on the team sheet, where does Robinson play him? And who loses out but appears on the bench tae sub him out? (..like should his legs 'go' ). Ah'm askin' cos Ah dinna hae a clue This is the real question, we don't even know what formation we predominately be be going with next season so it's hard to amswer. Quote
Panda Posted 7 hours ago Report Posted 7 hours ago On 07/06/2026 at 19:00, OrlandoDon said: Very low bar I know, but maybe sokler was better?? I suppose going back 5 years i’d certainly take Christian Ramirez ahead of him. But Watkins lazetic Ambrose dabbagh Samuels JET markanday, wouldn’t consider pape gueye a legit forward, more a 10. Painful bunch. Well you mentioned Duk and Karlsson in your initial post so I'll discount them since you did. While none of them were amazing, I'd say Sokler, Dabbagh and Gueye were all better than Olusanya. Gueye probably wasn't a legit forward, but neither is Olusanya. In terms of a goal scorer, he hasn't been that good. Dabbagh and Gueye - granted I haven't checked - likely had better goals per minute ratios. In terms of impact on the team, he's shown a bit of potential there, but Gueye did more for a longer period of time. You'd be better off comparing him to Shayden Morris, as he'll likely be at his best (if signed) as an impact player off the bench. I don't think he has enough about him to have a consistent run of form. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago 3 hours ago, Panda said: Well you mentioned Duk and Karlsson in your initial post so I'll discount them since you did. While none of them were amazing, I'd say Sokler, Dabbagh and Gueye were all better than Olusanya. Gueye probably wasn't a legit forward, but neither is Olusanya. In terms of a goal scorer, he hasn't been that good. Dabbagh and Gueye - granted I haven't checked - likely had better goals per minute ratios. In terms of impact on the team, he's shown a bit of potential there, but Gueye did more for a longer period of time. You'd be better off comparing him to Shayden Morris, as he'll likely be at his best (if signed) as an impact player off the bench. I don't think he has enough about him to have a consistent run of form. It’s out of boredom I’m debating, where are the rumors and links to new signings?? I’m quite happy if olusanya doesn’t come back if we find someone better. But, like others I’ll discuss, he is a good option to have off the bench. id say olusanya is a forward, prob best in a two man front line. Morris is a winger, id say karlsson is a left midfielder/winger, so no comparisons there. At the same time, Morris was awful first season here, so olusanya maybe did more. dabbagh was very limited, scored some, but what else did he do? Id argue olusanya offers more and with a full preseason and a more settled team we may see more goals. i liked sokler, just didn’t work out for him. Perhaps he’s better than olusanya, but I do think the latter has had the bigger impact in games. Sokler was non existent far too often. gueye isn’t a forward either, more a 10 or wide. He was awful initially hence the loan out. So olusanya certainly did more first season. If he returns then time will tell to see how the second season plays out, but Olusanya had an impact in multiple games, the odd goal, assist, penalty won, sending off etc, arguable did more than gueye did. Morris and gueye weren’t great players, but because we’ve been so shit they’ve been missed. Morris wasn’t very good at all first season, but finally figured out how to use his pace and get assists. We cashed both in at the right time, we saw them at their worst and their best. olusanya has potential, with a preseason and some better players we may see more. But maybe not, and I don’t care if he’s not back. I’m certainly not a big fan but he’s taken some stick when he did play a part in as getting points and keeping us up this season. so back to my initial point, I’d put him behind bojan, nisbet, and Ramirez as proper forwards we’ve had over the last 5 years. That’s sad to say obviously, especially given we currently have lazetic yengi and Ambrose who all cost money (wages and or fees). Quote
OrlandoDon Posted 2 hours ago Report Posted 2 hours ago Missed out duk, couldn’t stand him as a player, even in the season he scored goals. Selfish individual who didn’t give two shits about the team, his teammates, or the club. A player who would be very hard to play with. As bad if not worse than karlsson, no thanks. Quote
Panda Posted 20 minutes ago Report Posted 20 minutes ago 1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said: It’s out of boredom I’m debating, where are the rumors and links to new signings?? I’m quite happy if olusanya doesn’t come back if we find someone better. But, like others I’ll discuss, he is a good option to have off the bench. That's not the debate though. The debate was you saying he's been Aberdeen's best forward in recent years bar Nisbet and Miovski. 1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said: id say olusanya is a forward, prob best in a two man front line. Morris is a winger, id say karlsson is a left midfielder/winger, so no comparisons there. Well there is a comparison to be made, because Olusanya played on both the right and left under Robinson at St Mirren and may very well play there for Aberdeen. He's played in a front two because that's how Robinson set up in the handful of games he's been in charge. 1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said: At the same time, Morris was awful first season here, so olusanya maybe did more. Short memory. There were many fans - a lot of here - debating if Olusanya was actually a footballer. In the last 12 months he has played for three clubs, made 35 appearances, and scored twice. He causes a bit of chaos and has his uses, but let's not pretend he's been terrific for Aberdeen, because for the most part he's been average at best. He's been made to look better by how abject Lazetic has been. 1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said: Olusanya had an impact in multiple games, the odd goal, assist, penalty won, sending off etc, arguable did more than gueye did. Gueye scored eight goals, had assists, made an insightful impact in our run of form at the beginning of the season, suffered injury, and yet when he returned helped coax the best out of Nisbet. He could play as a forward, number 10, won headers, held the ball up, and his passing wasn't too bad either. Not amazing stats, but that's more than Olusanya has contributed. I'm not making out Gueye was fantastic - very much like Olusanya, he wasn't always that clinical in the box - but he was a better player than Olusanya, and if we had a choice of bringing one of them back I'd take Gueye. 1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said: so back to my initial point, I’d put him behind bojan, nisbet, and Ramirez as proper forwards we’ve had over the last 5 years. Again, we're talking about a guy who has scored two goals in 18 games. Bilalovic has played the same number of games and scored more. Quote