Embeded You Tube videos - PLEASE READ

As you may have noticed, DonsTalk now has the facility to embed YouTube videos into your posts (simply post the url of the video into your post ... no need for any coding either side of it!). Whilst this is proving to be a wonderful success in many areas of the forum, all users need to be aware of the following:

Please refrain from posting any YouTube video containing any coverage of Aberdeen FC, either past or present. All AFC video material is copyright property of Aberdeen Football Club, regardless of where the video is located now. With their own RedTV system in place, displaying AFC video content on here is illegal and, most significantly, is direct competition to Aberdeen FC's own premium subscription content. In order that DonsTalk don't get hit with heavy copyright infringement fines, please refrain from posting AFC videos on the public forums of DonsTalk (various Pittodrie staff are known to frequent this site, so please don't try it!). If you really need to let someone know about a video you've seen, post it to them in a Private Message ... just not on the public forums, please!

Basically, ANY clips filmed either inside Pittodrie or of the actual Dons themselves is illegal. Filming the Red Army at Pittodrie for example is illegal, because Pittodrie is part of Aberdeen's "product". However, filming the Red Army singing at Tannadice, for example, is okay as neither the fans NOR Tannadice are governed by the AFC copyright rules.

But wont it be covered by the DUFC copyright rules  ;D

What i would like to know is why its ok on utube and some other sites are AFC being a bit picky here.

The worst i heard was not being allowed to post a league table dont the sfa/afc realise its the fans that are putting money in there pockets..

ps not getting at you reekie as you have to protect the site but this annoys me..

pps I am an admin of a dvd burning site and the copyright rules are getting worse every year especally in the uk now

But wont it be covered by the DUFC copyright rules

Aye, but Tannalice officials check this board maybe once in a blue moon. Pittodrie officials are on DonsTalk at least once per day. YouTube is difficult to police, because so many people are doing it, and Aberdeen FC have so little muscle to do anything constructive about complaining to YouTube.

However, clubs like Arsenal and ManUtd do have a hell of a lot of muscle. Try searching for an Arsenal or Man Utd clip on YouTube ... chances are it's been taken offline or replaced with a still-image.

Aberdeen FC would love to have that sort of power. But they'll just be done with monitoring this board for illegal activity.

As for the league table thingy, you only need permission from the participating club that you represent to display the league table. Aberdeen are pretty good to deal with on this front ... I just can't be bothered updating a league table every week.

The fixture lists, however, are a completely different kettle of fish (where the fuck does that expression come from?). We have had to apply for permission every year to some firm down in Basingstoke to be able to get a licence to display fixtures. It costs us, but nowhere near as much as it would cost us if AFC hadn't agreed to nominate DonsTalk as their nominated fanzine. All the others who want to display the AFC fixture lists have to pay a very healthy sum indeed.

... yes!

Believe it or not, a firm known as the Football DataCo have the copyright to all SFL and EFL league fixtures. There's a big civil court wrangling going on at the moment between them and a couple of English footy fanzines. The fanzines are claiming that the fixture lists should not be copyrightable, since they are simply significant dates plotted against a calendar ... NOBODY can copyright a calendar. They can copyright a picture on a calendar, but not the calendar itself since this was originally the works of the ancient Egyptians.

A second argument that has come about is that football and horseracing require paying fans to exist as a professional sport. Without a fixture list, fans have no record of where and when the matches or races are going to be held and thus cannot attend. Until this legal wrangling is resolved, we still need to pay a company their levy.

are they actually videos of the Dons? If it's just videos of the red ultras fans, then this is okay as Aberdeen FC tend to let this slip.

But videos of the games? either they have an arrangement with AFC, or AFC can't be bothered logging on to the Red Ultras site to check it out

are they actually videos of the Dons? If it's just videos of the red ultras fans, then this is okay as Aberdeen FC tend to let this slip.

But videos of the games? either they have an arrangement with AFC, or AFC can't be bothered logging on to the Red Ultras site to check it out

They're not videos of the Dons, just clips of their displays etc.

This is a very gray area. AFC cannot copyright the fans that the fans do not belong to AFC in any way whatsoever. But AFC can claim that each photo taken inside Pittodrie of the fans contains little bits of Pittodrie (ie the seats, etc). This, they DO have copyright on.

oh well, to get the ball rolling....

Celtic 3 -2 Aberdeen

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=hsIzal9h4lU

When the camera is panning around for the first three-quarters of that clip at Porkheid, there's a lad on the right just behind said camera with a yellow t-shirt. Anybody ken who this is? It looks right like my auld workmate fae Edinburgh. Originally fae Port Gordon, but now living in Edinburgh about a stone's throw fae Swynecastle.

Can anyone confirm who he is?

TBH the abuse gingers get in a lifetime borders on racism. It's un-PC to wind anyone up about their skin colour or their religion. So why is it seemingly okay to wind people up about their hair colour? Being honest again, I think Jager's probably heard all the ginger jokes you can fire at him. All it does, however, is make you look like a buffoon.

If only you took this stance when certain posters were digging up the muslim/arab sh*te.  :wave:

Some would say that makes you look like a buffoon also.

... and where are those muslim/arab posts? That's right, they've been deleted by the moderators.

Not all of them have.  :wave:

Fecking hell min, settle doon :o

Me and Jager have a special relationship  :-*

I think there'll be plenty slagging of Arabs this week!!!

Dirty Smelly Dundonian Arabs!!!

:lolabove:  :thumbsup: