Women's fitba

Couldn't find a thread for it. Even one for discussing how shite it is.

Anyway, pleasantly surprised by the action so far in the wifie's world cup. Some decent fitba. Good technique generally speaking. Keepers improving. Slow-paced at times and I reckon they could shorten the pitch to make it better (especially these world cup pitches which are hampden sized). Otherwise, quite enjoyed it. VAR aside, which is clearly as pish in women's fitba as it is in men's.

Good man starting a thread on this as had meant to but just never got around to it Rico.

Like you been reasonably impressed with what's been on show so far.

Agree that pitch could be smaller to add excitement to the game.

Very impressed with how far Scotland have progressed.

Fitness level looked really good as well yesterday and stuck to their task against the supposed third best team in women's football.

Play with the same attitude in the next two games and they might just achieve something the mens team have never done and get through the first phase.

Couldn't find a thread for it. Even one for discussing how shite it is.

Anyway, pleasantly surprised by the action so far in the wifie's world cup. Some decent fitba. Good technique generally speaking. Keepers improving. Slow-paced at times and I reckon they could shorten the pitch to make it better (especially these world cup pitches which are hampden sized). Otherwise, quite enjoyed it. VAR aside, which is clearly as pish in women's fitba as it is in men's.

First thing I thought when I caught a bit of the Scotland game yesterday was that it would be better with a smaller pitch.

The problem the women's game has is that the "product" (to coin a phrase) is so diluted because of the amount of fitba on telly that most folk will only watch the highest quality that is available to them.  The season is finished and we are in the second week of June yet you could probably have watched a live game every day for the last week if you really wanted to which is ridiculous.

For me the quality of the women's game is just ok but after watching the players on show in the champions league and europa league finals it is a bit like switching on to the MLS on Sky or Australian league on BT Sport, it just does not tempt me enough to sit and watch it for an hour and a half.

The BBC and Sky are getting so obsessed with being politically correct we are being bombarded with women's sport from all directions.  The last week or so I have seen adverts for netball, women's cricket, women's fitba and women's golf.  Not against equal opportunities or whatever you want to call it but is there really an appetite for all of this?  I did not sign up to pay sky £50 a month to watch fuckin netball.  :hammer:

I watched England v Scotland yesterday which was a first for me because I'd never watched a women's game before. I also felt the pitch could be smaller and also the goals. Although I can't think of any other sport where the dimensions of the playing area change when the women play and no doubt they'd be offended anyway. "WE'RE AS FIT AS THE MEN!" etc. Da ken about that. Certainly not as fast but that's ok. It can still be entertaining I suppose. But as Kiriakov said next to the CL it looks worse than it maybe is. Mens England v Switzerland and then Holland v Portugal were both shite also so maybe I'm being harsh.

I heard a quite scathing comment from an American player (whose name escapes me) about how football was still chauvinist because of the gulf in pay between men and women. This is a different debate entirely. My take on it is this. I'm all for fair pay but fair pay isn't necessarily parity. Female tennis players (at Grand Slams at least) get the same as the men despite drawing a fraction of the money into the game. That's not even taking into account that they have to play less tennis (for obvious reasons admittedly). Next we'll be demanding that male porn stars earn the same as their female counterparts despite not drawing the money!

The BBC and Sky are getting so obsessed with being politically correct we are being bombarded with women's sport from all directions.  The last week or so I have seen adverts for netball, women's cricket, women's fitba and women's golf.  Not against equal opportunities or whatever you want to call it but is there really an appetite for all of this?  I did not sign up to pay sky £50 a month to watch fuckin netball.  :hammer:

That's not political correctness. The BBC is supposed to be impartial, so giving more coverage to women these days is a nod to that impartiality. Sky will do whatever makes them money as a private company. If they can sell shit to birds at a greater rate than that lost through blokes not wanting their channels contaminated then they'll absolutely do it. Furthermore, the investment in the women's game has gone through the roof in England, and sponsors will demand - and get - their air time.

Just cannot get interested. Would rather watch an U15 loons game tbh

Reason....same as I wouldnt watch Eastenders or Corrie. Utter tripe.

As for being politically correct....yeah I think that is partally what's going on. Don't think we will see men's netball getting an airing anytime soon

Furthermore, the investment in the women's game has gone through the roof in England, and sponsors will demand - and get - their air time.

Nonsense. That's cart before horse, if there's airtime, and then appropriate footfall, sponsors will follow, and amount sponsored will increase. They won't sponsor something nobody will watch.

I watched women's football last night for the first time ever (was working on Sunday so missed the auld enemy game). I only lasted to HT of the France Norway game. It was probably the last time I'll watch the beautiful game being played by females.

It will be good if the market is there and opportunities are available to girls all over the world. I certainly won't be in the audience for a very simple reason; the standard is shite.

Nonsense. That's cart before horse, if there's airtime, and then appropriate footfall, sponsors will follow, and amount sponsored will increase. They won't sponsor something nobody will watch.

It's already happened. Barclays gave England women's fitba £10M for example. EPL teams are giving money to their female counterparts and so on. They are all looking for "first-mover" advantage as nearly always happens in sponsorship deals. Someone takes a punt and that punt is - often - turned into real following as the investment is used to improve marketing, quality etc etc.

I'm in Rennes now with 2 of my daughters for the Japan v Scotland match tomorrow.

World Cup match in a beautiful country with sunshine, champagne and cheese, what's not to love  ;)

Have a great trip missus  :thumbsup:

Are you there for the Argentina game as well ?

As much as I find the product soporific, the manager Shelley Kerr has really impressed me and I hope that she gets a well deserved try out at a league club. Obviously the top teams wouldn't take that risk but something around mid Championship level should definitely take the risk. And if she did well at that level.....then your Motherwell's etc start to take notice.

Shelly Kerr was manager at Stirling Uni in the Lowland League prior to getting the Scotland gig.

Now I've finally found a women's game that I'm actually loving....Holland v Cameroon. The quality is really just as bad as the rest but theyre having a right old go at each other and in some cases actively trying to put the opposition in hospital  :laughing:

Watched the whole game. Quite enjoyed it. How that was only a yellow card I have no idea! Reminded me of one that Ryan Jack was on the end of which was obviously never a red!  ;):cardyellow:

Interesting to see some of theScotland women's team are as thick/ petulant as their male counterparts.

3-0 up and cruising, Concede 2 and then rather than go for the throat and get the 2 goal lead that they need back they resort to timewasting and not even being clever about it.

looks like the Argies will get a penalty now

Interesting to see some of theScotland women's team are as thick/ petulant as their male counterparts.

3-0 up and cruising, Concede 2 and then rather than go for the throat and get the 2 goal lead that they need back they resort to timewasting and not even being clever about it.

looks like the Argies will get a penalty now

That was the most horrendous ending to a game of fitba ever. Scotland obviously fucked it like, but 6 minutes to VAR an obvious fucking penalty, then to bring it back when the keeper makes a save because they were half a yard over the line and finally play 4 minutes of stoppage time, ignoring the entire time taken for VAR. It was stupidly bad. I'd have chinned the ref had I been on that pitch. I'd be asking for a replay it was that bad. A terrible advert for the bird's game, caused by fucking about with the rules. Shove VAR up yer hoop, it's fucking awful (offsides excepted of course, as they can be calculated by a computer). I've never seen a keeper save a penalty when on their line, nor attempt to. If someone can find a clip of a keeper anywhere in the world, ever, saving a pen without going beyond their line I'll give them a virtual pint. It's fucking ludicrous. Thank fuck they're dicking about with this in the birds game.

Feel for the quines but only Scotland could find a way to lose a 3 goal lead with 18 to play. Horrendous defending for all 3 Argie goals and comedy goalkeeping for the second.

Ref should be fired though. Totally lost control at the end and how the 6 minutes to VAR wasn't added on just baffles me.

It's still shite though