2015/16 Scottish Cup

Jute

Road to Hampden starts again with first Round draw made today.

Banks O'Dee vs Cove Rangers

BSC Glasgow vs Auchinleck Talbot

Strathspey Thistle vs Edinburgh University

Lothian Thistle / Girvan vs Kelty Hearts

Preston Athletic vs Fort William

Lossiemouth vs Forres Mechanics

Keith vs Inverurie Loco Works

Spartans vs Coldstream

Hawick Royal Albert vs Huntly

Deveronvale vs Clachnacuddin

Threave Rovers vs University of Stirling

Gala Fairydean Rovers vs Linlithgow Rose

Cumbernauld Colts vs Glasgow University

Nairn County vs Selkirk

Buckie Thistle vs Rothes

Fraserburgh vs Dalbeattie Star

Wick Academy vs Whitehill Welfare

Formartine United vs Gretna 2008

Ties to be played on Saturday 26th September 2015

• Replies 58

Full Times:

Wick 2-2 Whitehill

Threave 1-3 Stirling Uni

Nairn 5-1 Selkirk

Lossiemouth 1-4 Forres

Spartans 5-1 Coldstream

Preston 2-3 Fort William

Lothian HTV 3-0 Kelty Hearts

Strathspey 1-2 Edinburgh Uni

Gala FR 0-2 Linlithgow Rose

Fraserburgh 3-2 Dalbeattie Star

Keith 1-5 Inverurie

Hawick Ra 0-3 Huntly

BSC Glasgow 2-2 Auchinleck

Banks O Dee 2-3 Cove Rangers

Formartine 3-1 Gretna 2008

Deveronvale 0-5 Clach

Buckie 7-0 Rothes

Only real shock is BSC holding Talbot to a draw.

Draw for next round is Monday.

2nd round drawn today which included 3rd division sides.

Inverurie Loco Works v Edinburgh University

Nairn County v Whitehill Welfare / Wick Academy

Cumbernauld Colts v Auchinleck Talbot / BSC Glasgow

University of Stirling v Queen's Park

Turriff Utd v Fraserburgh

Edinburgh City v Buckie Thistle

Formartine Utd v Clyde

Elgin City v Spartans

East Kilbride v Forres Mechanics

Brora Rangers v Arbroath

Annan Athletic v Berwick Rangers

East Fife v Stirling Albion

Huntly v East Stirlingshire

Lothian Thistle HV v Montrose

Clachnacuddin v Linlithgow Rose

Fort WIlliam v Cove Rangers

Ties to be played 24th October.

• 5 weeks later...

Draw for third round was made during the week.

William Hill Scottish Cup 3rd Round Draw

Stranraer v Buckie Thistle

Queen's Park v Forfar Athletic

Formatine United v Fort William/Cove Rangers

Dumbarton v Alloa Athletic

East Fife/Stirling Albion v Cumbernauld Colts

Albion Rovers v Greenock Morton

Falkirk v Turriff United/Fraserburgh

Nairn County/Wick Academy v Linlithgow Rose

Peterhead v Livingston

Huntly v Lothian Thistle /Montrose

Elgin City v Raith Rovers

Airdrieonians v Brechin City

Ayr United v Dunfermline Athletic

Inverurie Loco Works v Annan Athletic

Stenhousemuir v East Kilbride/Forres Mechanics

Cowdenbeath v Arbroath

Ties to be played weekend of Saturday 28th November

Dons come in in the next round.

Forgot to stick this in for 4th round

St Johnstone v Kilmarnock

Dunfermline v Ross County

Stirling v Inverness CT

Linlithgow Rose v Forfar

Dundee v Falkirk

Livingston v Morton

Dumbarton v Queen Of The South

East Kilbride v Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale

Motherwell v Cove Rangers

Hearts v Aberdeen

Airdrie v Dundee United

Stranraer v Celtic

Rangers v Cowdenbeath

St Mirren v Partick

Annan v Hamilton Accies

Raith Rovers v Hibernian

Could see potential shocks at Airdrie, Linlithgow and Dundee games. East Kilbride and Lothian Thistle game means we are guaranteed at least one non league side  in the 5th round.

5th round draw

Motherwell vs Stirling Albion or Inverness Caledonian Thistle

East Kilbride or Lothian Thistle Hutchison Vale vs Celtic

Dundee United vs Partick Thistle

Ross County vs Linlithgow Rose or Forfar Athletic

Rangers vs Kilmarnock

Annan Athletic vs Greenock Morton

Dumbarton vs Dundee or Falkirk

Heart of Midlothian vs Hibernian

Great draw for East Kilbride or Lothian although no chance the tie will be played at their home parks. Money from this tie if televised will keep them going for years.

That would depend on whether the competition was one of football ability or one of stadia comparisons.

It's a senior level cup competition. If you're drawn at home I think you should be expected to fulfil that fixture as it's drawn.  Why is it ok, for example, for St Johnstone to play at EK, but not Celtic or Aberdeen?

That would depend on whether the competition was one of football ability or one of stadia comparisons.

I'd agree, i'd say public safety take precedent over footballing ability. They'd expect a bigger (and possibly aggressive) crowd than say St Johnstone so I'd expect the Police would want to be able to police it easier.

It's a senior level cup competition. If you're drawn at home I think you should be expected to fulfil that fixture as it's drawn.  Why is it ok, for example, for St Johnstone to play at EK, but not Celtic or Aberdeen?

No idea. Probably something to do with anticipated spectator levels and crowd safety.

Fairy story potential - wee clubs beating big clubs - is a more attractive proposition than adherence to Health and Safety regulations, particularly when in the rare event that the wee team gets far enough that it does become an issue, it's a very simple fix, just switching the venue.

I'd agree, i'd say public safety take precedent over footballing ability. They'd expect a bigger (and possibly aggressive) crowd than say St Johnstone so I'd expect the Police would want to be able to police it easier.

I know you won't take this the wrong way where the majority on fitba webchatspeaksites would but let me help you here.

Public safety doesn't take precedence over football ability. That's confused critical thinking. The nature of the competition is one thing. The logistics for making it happen is another.

I would normally over-elaborate and make the point to incontrovertible death but I'm hoping that that nails it. The notion that a wee team couldn't play in the national cup competition if it didn't satisfy minimum stadia criteria is a terrible one. Totally different when you're talking leagues where the ability to accommodate 2,000 or 10,000 is an anticipated regular occurrence.

Or, radically, they could just limit the number of spectators in the ground to the ground's actual capacity.

I understand why they do it, just think it's a bit of a shame.

People banging on about the "magic of the cup"... East Kilbride are at home to Celtic, which will be played at Hamilton's ground so we can milk it for all the cash we can.

Aye, magic indeed.

People go to watch football at these wee club grounds every week and so there's nothing preventing them hosting Celtic. It's just tough shit that demand for tickets will exceed the ability to supply by more than 10 to 1. Remember how many "home fans" would come out of the woodwork for it too.

So rather than your devil advocating minimum stadia requirements, is your deil now proposing must play at home? That's a bit mean spirited isn't it, when the balls coming out in reverse would have meant an even bigger payday?

People go to watch football at these wee club grounds every week and so there's nothing preventing them hosting Celtic. It's just tough shit that demand for tickets will exceed the ability to supply by more than 10 to 1. Remember how many "home fans" would come out of the woodwork for it too.

So rather than your devil advocating minimum stadia requirements, is your deil now proposing must play at home? That's a bit mean spirited isn't it, when the balls coming out in reverse would have meant an even bigger payday?

But that's the draw, otherwise why don't we just fix it so that the 'big' teams are always at home?

You're working this out as you go along, aren't you?

First you advocated minimum stadia requirements. Now you're demanding must play at home.

I don't see what harm there is in switching venues when quite obviously nobody on the planet has any objection?

Apart from you.