Jeremy Cor Blimey

The whiff of decency in a politician and he gets slaughtered in the press.

He speaks sense. He's not an Eton fagboy. He's not a Jew like Miliband. He's free to think, unsupported by the establishment.

So the fact that the establishment goes to extraordinary lengths to discredit him proves that independent free commentary is unwelcome.

I would have thought that the Labour Party would have had enough sense not to wheel out the war criminal Blair.

But if the Scottish people are so thick, so stupid and so cretinous to have allowed blind Broon to influence them during the referendum - aye, particularly the over 50 feel cunts - then the people get what they deserve.

It's the press and the corporatocracy that has bought power. Only because cunts like Cameron and Miliband and Boris and the rest of them are only interested in self, not community.

Yet the job description demands community. Cunts.

• Replies 96

He seems a decent sort. With a bit of conviction. Even a glance at the Guardian shows a huge number of opinion pieces written against him. It's the disturbing tone that they're written in that worries me. It's like they're looking down at him, suggesting he's some sort of naive old man that doesn't understand big boys modrin politics.

To be honest, I don't believe that Labour (Corbyn or not) have any relevance as a political party any more. But at least Corbyn stands for something.

Us over 50's may be 'feel' as you put it but at least we're no gullible enough to be taken in by the SNPs Pish! Scotland voted NO because it didn't want independence and the SNP couldn't convince people to vote YES. The Nat's just can't accept that FACT!

And as an aside what the fcuk has someone's faith, or lackof, have anything to do with anything

Us over 50's may be 'feel' as you put it but at least we're no gullible enough to be taken in by the SNPs Pish! Scotland voted NO because it didn't want independence and the SNP couldn't convince people to vote YES. The Nat's just can't accept that FACT!

And as an aside what the fcuk has someone's faith, or lackof, have anything to do with anything

Did you get the dreaded phone call about losing your pension if you voted Yes too?

Great decision, guys. Looking forward to 40% local authority cuts.  :hammer:

Nope, never got such a call. I had decided based on SNPs inability to answer how they were going to pay for it all.

SNP freeze on council tax hasn't helped councils much

No but it helps the poor cunts who're unable to afford higher bills.

I'm not going to argue about a referendum that was almost a year ago but if that's why you voted no then you either didn't bother doing any reading/research or you'd already decided that you couldn't vote yes because of your dislike for SNP.

Long live the neverendum.

What I find worrying is the way they are trying to demonise Corbyn who is only standing up for the poor and those of us who will become poorer over the next 5 year of Tory rule.  Imagine a Labour politican speaking up for the needs of the poor and disadvantaged, just not right is it.

I can see another split in the labour camp in the coming years with another SDP style party being formed at some point and the tories ruling the roost in England for the next decade and more.

Hope I'm wrong though.

I can see another split in the labour camp in the coming years with another SDP style party being formed at some point and the tories ruling the roost in England for the next decade and more.

Unfortunately, I think you're right on this point. It's astonishing the way he's being treated in the press and presumably by some of the Labour Hierarchy. That said, Labour long since moved away from solely being a "workers" party, that all changed with the New Labour heralded under that prick. Whether lefty politics will be enough to get him to power, I don't know, but it's sure as hell refreshing to hear someone who is now going against the grain.

It really is astonishing how gullible those with least to lose - the auld bastards - were so taken in by nithin but propaganda and votd no.

I fear for this country, I hope we have a quick snap second ref.

Really? The answer would be exactly the same. Then we'd never get serious debate on it again. I'd like to think that next time that a party in Scotland (preferably not SNP) would have a credible 30-40 year plan and a series of goals which they're not afraid to discuss - preferably one that includes a different currency so that we're not held back by banks and debt. Although, if I'm honest, I'd rather see the UK as a whole get its act in gear, and perhaps Corbyn might be the beginning of that.

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: Would you like a few supermodel girlfriends as well?  :wave: :wave:

Have you seen the folk running the place? The main reason that I wanted independence is because of the sorry state of the UK. I wanted us disconnected from the massive war machine that the West seems to be.  The arms dealers, the colonialism, the peadophilia, the cover-ups, the move to the right and all the misery associated with the UK. What a massive missed opportunity.

Agree with you on one thing, though. If we got a second referendum any time soon it'd be the same answer. Although I'm afraid, for all you Rule Britannia folk, that it is just a matter of time before the Aye's have it.

Here's to the neverendum.

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: Would you like a few supermodel girlfriends as well?  :wave: :wave:

Have you seen the folk running the place? The main reason that I wanted independence is because of the sorry state of the UK. I wanted us disconnected from the massive war machine that the West seems to be.  The arms dealers, the colonialism, the peadophilia, the cover-ups, the move to the right and all the misery associated with the UK. What a massive missed opportunity.

Agree with you on one thing, though. If we got a second referendum any time soon it'd be the same answer. Although I'm afraid, for all you Rule Britannia folk, that it is just a matter of time before the Aye's have it.

Here's to the neverendum.

Aye, I agree entirely, I voted for independence for the those exact reasons. I should really have said: "it's a shame the whole UK couldn't get its act in gear". I suppose what I think is that independence is nae eese unless we eventually set an example that the rest of the UK can see as an improvement on their own capitalist whooring.

Just been to see Corbyn in action at the Arts Centre.  As much as I'm currently disenfranchised by Labour, they remain the only alternative in Westminster and need them to be strong.  Corbyn is being portrayed as this old school dinosaur, not fit for the wider electorate, by his labour peers. He is literally everything the Labour Party should stand for. He's disarmingly earnest but I believe he believes and that is close to unique in the current political realm. I could vote for him. I do trust him. But the task ahead is monumental. Wrestling the power from the faceless, empty New Labour shapeshifters is huge. Building a party that is also electable is entirely separate. The audience today, and his core support, are the waifs and strays. While I think he is electable in his own right, shaping a party that is articulate and charismatic is going to be challenging. I feel Labour have just had a standing eight count. They've been down but are not quite out. Anyone but Corbyn sees them in the political abyss in Scotland and sees the UK in a US duopoly of two right wing parties ever pushing for more for less. I'm genuinely terrified by what will become of the UK if we continue down this desolate, uncaring, selfish path. I'm scared what it means for my son and his future.  I at least believe that Corbyn shares those fears and will do his best to wrestle the discourse away from tired cliches around benefit scroungers and filthy immigrants and instead focus on how our politics can build for the future. Good luck Jeremy. You will need it.

I'm scared what it means for my son and his future.

Bring him up right, and you'll get a good price for him in a few years time. You need to start maximising the potential of your asset there. Nice haircut, and a second language and he'll make you a whack in the market. I'll give you £5K against him @ 2% just now if you want to buy a car or something.

Just been to see Corbyn in action at the Arts Centre.  As much as I'm currently disenfranchised by Labour, they remain the only alternative in Westminster and need them to be strong.  Corbyn is being portrayed as this old school dinosaur, not fit for the wider electorate, by his labour peers. He is literally everything the Labour Party should stand for. He's disarmingly earnest but I believe he believes and that is close to unique in the current political realm. I could vote for him. I do trust him. But the task ahead is monumental. Wrestling the power from the faceless, empty New Labour shapeshifters is huge. Building a party that is also electable is entirely separate. The audience today, and his core support, are the waifs and strays. While I think he is electable in his own right, shaping a party that is articulate and charismatic is going to be challenging. I feel Labour have just had a standing eight count. They've been down but are not quite out. Anyone but Corbyn sees them in the political abyss in Scotland and sees the UK in a US duopoly of two right wing parties ever pushing for more for less. I'm genuinely terrified by what will become of the UK if we continue down this desolate, uncaring, selfish path. I'm scared what it means for my son and his future.  I at least believe that Corbyn shares those fears and will do his best to wrestle the discourse away from tired cliches around benefit scroungers and filthy immigrants and instead focus on how our politics can build for the future. Good luck Jeremy. You will need it.

I would have loved to have gone and seen him as I have a lot of time for the guy and that was before his nomination for the leadership. I don't think I could vote Labour because of him as I want an independant Scotland and Labour don't, but we do need a strong Labour Party.  It must be horrible for Corbyn to face criticism from a mass murderer with god on his side.

If he does get elected, Labour will split, I have no doubt about that, it's been coming for years.  The Blairites and there are many, will form some sort of Social Democratic Party, but it will be a tory lite party just like Blairs detestable New Labour are/were.

Well well, this article, literally published in the last few minutes shows how perceptive the best commentator on the planet remains: -

Western Democracy Is An Endangered Species On Its Way To Extinction

Paul Craig Roberts

The British Labour Party no longer represents the working class. Under UK prime minister Tony Blair, the Labour Party became a vassal of the One Percent. The result has been a rebellion in the ranks and the rise of Jeremy Corbyn, a principled Labourite intent on representing the people, a no-no in Western “democracies.”

Corbyn is too real for the Labour Party Blairites, who hope to be rewarded with similar nest eggs as Blair for representing the capitalist One Percent. So what is the corrupted Labour Party doing to prevent Corbyn’s election?

The answer is that it is denying the vote to Corbyn supporters. You can read the story here:

http://www.globalresearch.ca/britains-labour-party-purge-is-underway-preventing-supporters-from-voting-for-jeremy-corbyn/5471194

The illegal Egyptian military dictatorship that overthrew on Washington’s orders the first democratically elected government in Egyptian history has issued an edict prohibiting journalists from contradicting the military dictatorship. In brief, the dictatorship installed by Washington has outlawed facts.

Washington rejected the government that the Egyptian people elected, because it appeared that the democratically elected government would have a foreign policy that was at least partially independent of Washington’s. Remember, according to the neocons who, together with Israel, control US foreign policy, countries with independent foreign policies, such as Iran, Russia, and China, are America’s “greatest threats.”

The Egyptian military thugs, following Washington’s orders, have more or less eliminated all of the leadership of the political party that was democratically elected. The party was called the Muslim Brotherhood. In the presstitute Western media, the political party was described more or less as al Qaeda, and how are the ignorant, brainwashed, and propagandized Americans to know any difference? Certainly neither “their” government nor the presstitute media will ever tell them.

With the military dictatorship’s edict, independent news reporting no longer exists in Egypt. Washington is pleased and rewards the dictatorship with bags full of money paid by the hapless and helpless American taxpayers.

Americans should keep in mind that most of the dollars that they pay in income tax are spent either spying upon themselves and the world or killing people in many countries. Without resources taken from American taxpayers millions of women, children, and village elders would still be alive in Afghanistan, Iraq, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Yemen, Pakistan, Ukraine, South Ossetia, and other countries. America is the greatest exporter of violence the world has ever known. So wear your patriotism on your sleeve and be proud. You are a depraved citizen of the world’s worst killer nation. Compared to the USA, Rome was a piker.

France herself seems to be collapsing as a democracy and no longer respects her own laws. According to this report from Kumaran Ira on World Socialist Website https://www.wsws.org/en/articles/2015/08/19/fkil-a19.html ,

“In the name of the “war on terror,” the French state is dramatically accelerating its use of clandestine operations to extra-judicially murder targeted individuals. French President François Hollande reportedly possesses a “kill list” of potential targets and constantly reviews the assassination program with high-ranking military and intelligence officers.

“This program of state murder, violating basic constitutional rights in a country where the death penalty is illegal, underscores the profound decay of French bourgeois democracy. Amid escalating imperialist wars in France’s former colonial empire and deepening political crisis at home, the state is moving towards levels of criminality associated with the war against Algerian independence and the Vichy regime of Occupied France.”

Where do you suppose the socialist president of France got his idea of an illegal and unconstitutional “kill list”? If you answer from “America’s First Black President,” you are correct.

The French people should be outraged that “their” president is nothing more than a murderer and an agent of Washington. But they aren’t. False flag operations have made them fearful. The French like other Western peoples, have ceased to think.

Every western democracy is gone with the wind. Washed up, Finished. Every value that defined Western civilization and made it great has been flushed by power and greed and arrogance.

Proconsuls have replaced democracy.

I certainly do not believe that Western civilization was ever pure as snow and devoid of sins and crimes against humanity. But it is a fact that in Western civilization, despite the numerous injustices, reforms were possible that improved life for the lower classes. Reforms were possible that restricted the rapaciousness of the rich and powerful. In the US reforms made the impossible come true: ladders of upward mobility made it possible for members of the lowest economic class to become multimillionaires. And this actually happened.

The governments in Washington committed many crimes, but on occasion Washington prevented crimes. Remember President Eisenhower’s ultimatum to Washington’s British, French, and Israeli allies to remove themselves from the Suez Canal in Egypt or else.

Today Washington pushes its allies to commit crimes against humanity. That is what NATO and the National Endowment for Democracy are for.

In my lifetime Americans have always had a good opinion of themselves. But in the 21st century this good opinion has hyper-jumped into hubris and arrogance. If you haven’t been around very long in terms of a human life, you don’t see this. But older people do.

Just as the Roman Empire ended in the destruction of the Roman people, the American Empire will end in the destruction of the American people. Judging from histories, Roman citizens were superior to American citizens; yet, Rome failed.

Americans shouldn’t expect any other outcome. The price to be paid for insouciance, self-satisfaction, and complicity is high.

http://www.paulcraigroberts.org/2015/08/25/western-democracy-endangered-species-way-extinction-paul-craig-roberts/

Brilliantly hilarious piece by Frankie Boyle on the Labour party:

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/aug/27/how-will-labour-top-losing-the-election-by-losing-its-own-leadership-contest?CMP=fb_gu

Many people thought the Labour party would struggle to top the disaster of losing the general election, but it has silenced the doubters by somehow contriving to lose its own internal leadership election. Voters have signed up to support it, and Labour has reacted with a purge of such generalised unfairness that I’m almost starting to doubt that its leading lights really wanted to bring democracy to Iraq. It must be easy weeding out applications from those who don’t share Labour values – surely the very fact that they’ve made a decision and put their name to it is a huge beacon saying “Outsider!” A party that sees enthusiasm as a negative – at least that’s a quality that may win back Scotland.

Perhaps Harriet Harman’s handling of the whole debacle is a brilliant piece of marketing designed to make whoever takes over seem like a genius. There’s an easy way to find genuine Labour supporters – they boasted about voting Green in this election and kept quiet about voting Lib Dem in the last. Naturally, what Labour fears is not Tory entryism, but the horror of infiltration by the sort of people Labour is supposed to represent. Most columnists seem to feel that the party should plump for one of three fairly unpalatable options as at least they can win an election, just not this election, as there are too many people voting.

Every photo of the candidates looks like the staff room of a failing comprehensive feigning amusement at being photobombed by the janitor. Liz Kendall, with her permanent air of an office manager who has just come back from a course, couldn’t lure a voter out of a burning building – and her whole campaign is based on changing Labour to be whatever people who hate it want it to be. Meanwhile, Burnham, who looks as if he has carved Fireman Sam’s face off and laid it carelessly across his own skull – and would soon have Labour polling lower than Mrs Brown’s balls – wants to change the party into something bold and exciting. You’ve got to ask the question: well, why hasn’t he? It’s not as if he’s spent the last 15 years working at Asda.

Yvette Cooper, whose name sounds like something Jeremy Corbyn drove in the 1960s, says Corbyn doesn’t have answers for the future. She doesn’t have a particularly firm grasp of the future either, as she spent the first three months of this year telling us that Ed Miliband would be prime minister. Of course, as Cooper and Kendall have pointed out, there is sexism in the coverage of the contest, as there is everywhere. Cooper must wonder just how entrenched it is when her call to end detention for asylum seekers was overshadowed by Jeremy Corbyn taking the night bus.

Leaders around the world are nervous about Corbyn winning and becoming PM, as they know every time they visit the UK he’ll present them with another bottle of his homegrown elderflower champagne. I’m enjoying senior Tory peers calling Corbyn a “throwback”. A guy in a horsehair wig wearing a cape, who got a job for life because his great-great-great-grandfather had a knack for picking out the healthiest slaves? We can safely assume that Corbyn is no longer on the establishment’s Christmas card list. But he has been added to their other list, right below the crossed out name of Dr David Kelly.

Corbyn has met with extremists. Meeting someone doesn’t mean you agree with them – I’ve met Olly Murs, but that doesn’t mean I think you gotta hold on, hold on to what you’re feeling, that feeling is the best thing, the best thing all right. In the age of Facebook, we know that calling someone “friend” isn’t necessarily an endorsement, and generally signals an attitude somewhere between antipathy and disgust. Of course, it’s very difficult to have a career in politics without meeting a variety of people who support mass murder. Indeed, some of them will have been leading the Labour party. Britain is always in an awkward position talking about fighting extremism while we support and arm extremists such as Saudi Arabia. Our exact moral position is unclear. We’re opposed to beheadings unless they’re for sorcery? Something like that.

I wouldn’t be tempted to vote for someone bland, thinking that they might play better in the media. The media will thoughtlessly monster whoever is elected, just as I will. Those who hope for favours from the press would do well to remember how Ed Miliband was savaged simply for looking and sounding like some cruel alien satire on humanity. I feel pessimistic about Corbyn’s chances of doing anything if elected, but maybe I can afford to be. Maybe if I was being sanctioned or discriminated against or evicted, I would have to hope. Perhaps the politics of optimism always feels self-indulgent to those who don’t really need it. In any case, I’m pretty confident that the election itself will result in a landslide for Robert Mugabe.

Unfortunately Corbyn is proving to be unelectable. He's a piss weak man.

A leader has to have leadership qualities. He has none. Hilary Benn's speech yesterday was paradoxical in that the (correct) decision to allow a free vote on this serious matter blew up in Corbyn's face. Knifed by the man sitting next to him at the death.

I can't believe that Tony Benn would have approved of his son's behaviour. They would have surely disagreed on the substance of the debate and the Brutus-like disloyalty, waiting until the end to deliver the hammer blow was disloyalty to the party and support for the Tories that would have been disgusting for him to witness. It appears clapping and applause is allowed in the House of Commons despite Bercow's reprimands to the new SNP members. Hammond struck the final nail in Corbyn. He won't be strong enough to come back from that yesterday.

Shame. Man of principle, uncorrupted and outwith the modern class of self-serving political wankers but not even a man of the people neither. Just a wanker who has wasted his life at our expense, paying for him as we have for decades.

Surprised that establishment-Burnham voted against. Then again, he's an arselicker of zero integrity and he would just go like a sheep with whatever the majority in his party were doing.

Unfortunately Corbyn is proving to be unelectable. He's a piss weak man.

A leader has to have leadership qualities. He has none. Hilary Benn's speech yesterday was paradoxical in that the (correct) decision to allow a free vote on this serious matter blew up in Corbyn's face. Knifed by the man sitting next to him at the death.

I can't believe that Tony Benn would have approved of his son's behaviour. They would have surely disagreed on the substance of the debate and the Brutus-like disloyalty, waiting until the end to deliver the hammer blow was disloyalty to the party and support for the Tories that would have been disgusting for him to witness. It appears clapping and applause is allowed in the House of Commons despite Bercow's reprimands to the new SNP members. Hammond struck the final nail in Corbyn. He won't be strong enough to come back from that yesterday.

Shame. Man of principle, uncorrupted and outwith the modern class of self-serving political wankers but not even a man of the people neither. Just a wanker who has wasted his life at our expense, paying for him as we have for decades.

Surprised that establishment-Burnham voted against. Then again, he's an arselicker of zero integrity and he would just go like a sheep with whatever the majority in his party were doing.

I was going to say I was surprised you're surprised, but the second sentence summed it up perfectly. Spineless slimy prick of a man.  The same thought of Corbyn's weakness crossed my mind this morning watching that clip of where the pig fucker called all normal human beings terrorist sympathizers and there were 12 attempts at him trying to get him to apologise. Corbyn didn't retort of retaliate with enough vigour. Shame really, certainly stands for more of what I believe in but doesn't have the cajones to back it up.